Tactical Flashlights
Best tactical flashlights, ranked on candela rather than lumens
Tactical is not a specification. What separates these lights is beam intensity, sustained output and whether the maker publishes enough to check either.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Reach | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No image Streamlight ProTac HL-XTop pick1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, 374 m, 1.5 hours, IP68, on either a rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells. Every figure published per mode. | Duty use, and the best-documented light on this site | 374 m | Check price#ad |
| 2 | No image Fenix PD36R Pro2,800 lumens from a 21700 cell holding 18 watt-hours, at 169 grams. The biggest energy store in the tactical set. | The most output and energy in a tactical body | 380 m | Check price#ad |
| 3 | No image SureFire G2X Pro600 lumens, 8,700 candela, 1.5 hours, and two modes. The specification is modest; the point is that nothing on it can go wrong. | A simple two-mode light that will outlive you | 8,700 cd | Check price#ad |
| 4 | No image Streamlight Stinger 20202,000 lumens, 315 m, two hours on high, and a charger in the box. Built for a shift, not for a pocket. | A patrol light that lives in a charging cradle | 315 m | Check price#ad |
| 5 | No image Olight Warrior X 42,600 lumens and 630 m of stated throw. The longest published reach of any general-purpose light here. | Reach in a tactical body | 630 m | Check price#ad |
| 6 | No image Streamlight PolyTac600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck. | A polymer duty light you will not worry about | 214 m | Check price#ad |
| 7 | No image Nitecore P30i2,000 lumens and 1,000 m of stated throw. The furthest-reaching light on the site, and a genuinely specialized one. | Maximum distance | 1,000 m | Check price#ad |
| 8 | No image Fenix PD35 V3.01,700 lumens in the size that made the PD35 the default mid-size tactical light for a decade. | The middle of the tactical range | 1,700 lm | Check price#ad |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

Tactical has no definition. It is a marketing word attached to a tail switch, a strobe mode, a crenellated bezel and an aluminum body. None of those is a performance specification, and buying on the word is how people end up with a 2,000-lumen light that runs for four minutes.
The specifications that actually separate these lights are candela — how concentrated the beam is — and sustained output, meaning what the light holds after thermal step-down. Both are published by the good makers and omitted by the rest.
How we picked
Published candela or a convertible beam distance first, then sustained runtime, then ingress and impact ratings. Every figure links to the document it came from. We have not handled any of these lights and we do not claim to have; see our methodology.
Candela, and why it decides the ranking
Lumens measure total light output. Candela measures intensity in the brightest part of the beam. Reach depends on candela, not on lumens, and the difference between two lights can be a factor of ten at identical output.
| Light | Output | Candela | Beam distance | Candela per lumen |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acebeam L19 | 1,650 lm | 422,500 (computed) | 1,300 m | 256 |
| Nitecore P30i | 2,000 lm | 250,000 (computed) | 1,000 m | 125 |
| Olight Warrior X 4 | 2,600 lm | 99,200 (computed) | 630 m | 38 |
| Fenix PD36R Pro | 2,800 lm | 36,100 (computed) | 380 m | 13 |
| Streamlight ProTac HL-X | 1,300 lm | 35,000 (published) | 374 m | 27 |
| Streamlight Stinger 2020 | 2,000 lm | 24,800 (computed) | 315 m | 12 |
| Streamlight PolyTac | 600 lm | 11,400 (computed) | 214 m | 19 |
| SureFire G2X Pro | 600 lm | 8,700 (published) | 186 m (computed) | 15 |
The last column is the interesting one. It tells you how much of each light's output is being concentrated rather than spread. The Acebeam L19 puts twenty times more of each lumen into its hotspot than the Fenix PD36R Pro does — which is why it reaches nearly four times as far on 60 percent of the output.
Neither approach is wrong. A high candela-per-lumen light reaches; a low one lights up a room. What is wrong is comparing them on lumens and concluding the brighter one sees further. Throw versus flood covers the trade properly.
Sustained output is the specification nobody advertises
Every light on this page steps down from its peak within a couple of minutes. What separates them is where they land and how long they hold it, and only the Streamlight lights publish that per mode.
| Light | High | Medium | Low |
|---|---|---|---|
| Streamlight ProTac HL-X | 1,300 lm for 1.5 h | 420 lm for 3.75 h | 70 lm for 25 h |
| Streamlight Stinger 2020 | 2,000 lm for 2 h | 850 lm for 4 h | 100 lm for 24 h |
| Streamlight PolyTac | 600 lm for 2.75 h | 260 lm for 5.5 h | 35 lm for 34 h |
| SureFire G2X Pro | 600 lm for 1.5 h | not applicable | 15 lm, runtime not published |
| Fenix PD36R Pro | not published per mode here | not published | 42 h maximum |
Two hours at a genuine 2,000 lumens, as Streamlight publishes for the Stinger 2020, is a remarkable figure and the reason a 350-gram light with a charging cradle still makes sense for anyone working a shift.
Rechargeable or primary cells
This is the one genuine argument left in the category. A CR123A lithium primary holds its charge for about a decade on a shelf. A lithium-ion pack self-discharges and needs a routine.
- Daily use — rechargeable, every time. CR123A running costs are punishing.
- A light in a drawer against a bad night — primaries. A SureFire G2X Pro or a Streamlight PolyTac will work in five years without being touched.
- Both — the ProTac HL-X takes its rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells, which is why it leads this page.
Strobe, and whether it matters
Almost every light here has a strobe mode, and the claims made for it are considerably stronger than the evidence. What a bright light genuinely does at close range is make it hard for someone to see past it, and that is true steady as well as strobing.
What matters more is whether the strobe is easy to reach when you want it and impossible to reach when you do not. A light that lands on strobe while you are trying to find a fuse box is worse than one with no strobe at all. Streamlight's Ten-Tap programming exists precisely to let you remove it.
What we would not buy
Anything sold as tactical with no published candela and no per-mode runtime. Those two numbers are the entire specification of the category, and a maker omitting both is asking you to buy a word.
We would also avoid buying peak lumens in this category specifically. A 4,000-lumen light in a 25-millimeter tube cannot shed the heat, will step down inside ninety seconds, and will reach less far than a well-designed 1,300-lumen light with a deeper reflector.
Where to go next
- Duty and patrol use — flashlights for police and law enforcement.
- Personal defense — tactical flashlights for self defense.
- On a budget — best tactical flashlights under $100.
- Maximum reach — best flashlight throwers.
- What the word means — what actually makes a flashlight tactical.
The picks, in full
image
Top pick · Duty use, and the best-documented light on this site
Streamlight ProTac HL-X
1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, 374 m, 1.5 hours, IP68, on either a rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells. Every figure published per mode.
35,000 candela and 374 m reconcile exactly: the square root of 35,000 divided by 0.25 is 374.2 m. Streamlight's numbers are internally consistent across all three modes, which is the strongest signal of a maker publishing real measurements rather than marketing figures.
1.5 hours at 1,300 lumens implies roughly 6 to 7 watt-hours of usable energy — consistent with a single 18650-class pack and with the CR123A alternative.
IP68 with 2 m impact resistance is the toughest rating in this roundup, and the reason this light shows up on so many duty belts.
What works
- Full ANSI FL1 table published per mode, and it reconciles
- Runs on a rechargeable pack or on shelf-stable CR123A lithium cells
- IP68 and 2 m impact rating
What does not
- The programming interface takes reading the manual to understand
- 162 to 176 g is heavy for pocket carry
- CR123A cells are expensive if you use it hard
Skip this ifyou want a pocket light. It is a duty-belt tool and the weight and length are built for a holster.
Published specification
- Output
- 1,300 lmHigh. Medium 420 lm, low 70 lm.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- 35,000 cdHigh. 11,000 cd medium, 1,800 cd low.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Beam distance
- 374 mHigh. 210 m medium, 85 m low.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 1.5 h high / 3.75 h medium / 25 h lowOn the SL-B26 pack. On CR123A: 1.25 h / 3 h / 20 h.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- SL-B26 rechargeable Li-ion pack, or 2 x CR123A lithiumStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 162 g with CR123A, 176 g with the packStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IP68Dust tight, waterproof to 2 m; 2 m impact resistance testedStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 2 · The most output and energy in a tactical body
Fenix PD36R Pro
2,800 lumens from a 21700 cell holding 18 watt-hours, at 169 grams. The biggest energy store in the tactical set.
A 5,000 mAh 21700 at 3.6 V is 18.0 watt-hours — nearly three times what the ProTac HL-X carries. That is the case for the 21700 format in one number.
380 m of reach on 2,800 lumens works back to about 36,100 candela, almost identical to the ProTac's 35,000 from 1,300 lumens. The Fenix is spending its extra output on spill, not on distance.
169 g including the cell is only 7 g more than a ProTac on CR123A, for nearly triple the energy. That is what four years of cell development buys.
What works
- 18 Wh of stored energy, the most in the tactical set
- 2,800 lumens with 380 m of published reach
- Standard 21700 cell, USB-C on the light
What does not
- No published IP rating on the page we read
- No published candela, so the throw figure cannot be cross-checked
- 2,800 lumens will step down quickly in a body this size
Skip this ifyou need a shelf-stable light. A rechargeable cell self-discharges; for a drawer light, CR123A primaries are the right answer.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 380 mListed as a 416-yard beam; converted to metersFenix PD36R Pro (416-yard beam) — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 42 h maximumLowest mode; Fenix publishes the full per-mode tableFenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 5,000 mAh 21700 Li-ion (included), USB-CFenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 169 g (5.96 oz)Including batteryFenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
image
Pick 3 · A simple two-mode light that will outlive you
SureFire G2X Pro
600 lumens, 8,700 candela, 1.5 hours, and two modes. The specification is modest; the point is that nothing on it can go wrong.
8,700 candela works out to a 186 m FL1 beam distance, which SureFire does not print. That is well short of the ProTac's 374 m on similar output, because SureFire deliberately builds a wider beam with more usable spill.
Two modes, low then high, with no strobe and no programming. On a light you might need in a hurry, that is a feature.
CR123A primaries hold their charge for a decade on a shelf. For a light that lives in a drawer against the worst night of your life, that matters more than rechargeability.
What works
- Two modes, no menu, nothing to misconfigure
- CR123A lithium cells with a ten-year shelf life
- The most durable reputation in the category, earned over decades
What does not
- 600 lumens and 8,700 candela are modest for the price in 2026
- No published weight or ingress rating on the page we read
- CR123A cells cost real money to run
Skip this ifyou buy on specification. Almost everything here beats it on paper; you are paying for reliability and simplicity instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Low is 15 lm.SureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- 8,700 cdSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Beam distance
- not published(SureFire publishes candela, not distance)
- Runtime
- 1.5 h on highSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithiumSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
- Ingress
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
image
Pick 4 · A patrol light that lives in a charging cradle
Streamlight Stinger 2020
2,000 lumens, 315 m, two hours on high, and a charger in the box. Built for a shift, not for a pocket.
Two hours at 2,000 lumens is the standout number: that is a whole traffic stop at full output rather than the ninety-second burst most 2,000-lumen lights give you.
350 grams is heavy in the hand and irrelevant on a belt. This light is designed around a duty rig and a vehicle charger, and the mass buys the runtime.
315 m from 2,000 lumens implies about 24,800 candela — a broader beam than the ProTac's, which is the right call for searching a room rather than a treeline.
What works
- Two hours at full 2,000 lumens, which almost nothing else here can claim
- Full per-mode runtime and distance table published
- Ships with a charger designed for a vehicle cradle
What does not
- 350 g, so pocket carry is out
- IPX7 rather than the ProTac's IP68
- Proprietary battery pack
Skip this ifyou do not have somewhere to dock it. A cradle light without a cradle is a heavy flashlight with a proprietary cell.
Published specification
- Output
- 2,000 lmHigh. Medium 850 lm, low 100 lm.Streamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Streamlight lists candela per mode; no value on the page we read)
- Beam distance
- 315 mHigh. 200 m medium, 70 m low.Streamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 2 h high / 4 h medium / 24 h lowStreamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- SL-B26 rechargeable Li-ion packStreamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 350 g (12.3 oz)Streamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IPX7Waterproof; 2 m impact resistance testedStreamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 5 · Reach in a tactical body
Olight Warrior X 4
2,600 lumens and 630 m of stated throw. The longest published reach of any general-purpose light here.
630 m works back to about 99,200 candela. That is a genuine thrower: nearly three times the ProTac HL-X's intensity from twice the lumens, which means a much tighter hotspot.
The trade is spill. At that concentration you get a bright circle and very little else, which is superb across a field and awkward in a corridor.
No published runtime is a real gap on a light this bright. Sustained output is the question a 2,600-lumen thrower most needs to answer.
What works
- 630 m of published throw, the longest in the general-purpose set
- Magnetic charging with no port to flood
- 2,600 lumens alongside the reach, so it is not a narrow-beam-only light
What does not
- No sourced runtime, candela, weight or IP rating
- Very tight hotspot with limited spill
- Proprietary charger
Skip this ifyou work indoors. The beam is built for distance and it is the wrong tool inside a building.
Published specification
- Output
- 2,600 lmOlight Warrior X 4 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 630 mOlight Warrior X 4 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- Rechargeable, magnetic chargingOlight Warrior X 4 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
image
Pick 6 · A polymer duty light you will not worry about
Streamlight PolyTac
600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck.
2.75 hours at 600 lumens from two CR123A cells is a very efficient result — that is roughly 6 watt-hours doing real work rather than being thrown away as heat.
3 m of impact resistance is the highest figure in this roundup. Polymer absorbs a drop that would dent an aluminum body.
119 g with cells installed makes this the lightest full-size duty light here.
What works
- Full per-mode table published, all three modes
- 3 m impact resistance and IPX7
- 119 g, with a ten-year shelf life on its cells
What does not
- 600 lumens is modest against the rechargeable competition
- CR123A running costs add up
- We could not pin a current ASIN for it, so the buy link is a tagged Amazon search
Skip this ifyou use a light daily. CR123A primaries are the wrong economics for frequent use; buy a rechargeable instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Medium 260 lm, low 35 lm.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Listed per mode; no value on the page we read)
- Beam distance
- 214 mHigh. 140 m medium, 52 m low.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 2.75 h high / 5.5 h medium / 34 h lowStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithium (included)Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 119 g (4.2 oz) with batteriesStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IPX7Waterproof to 1 m for 30 minutes; 3 m impact resistance testedStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 7 · Maximum distance
Nitecore P30i
2,000 lumens and 1,000 m of stated throw. The furthest-reaching light on the site, and a genuinely specialized one.
1,000 m implies 250,000 candela. That is seven times the ProTac HL-X's intensity from 1.5 times the lumens, and it is only achievable with a large, deep reflector.
A beam this tight is close to useless for anything within ten meters. It is a search-and-identify tool for open country.
21700 is the right cell for it — a beam this intense needs current, and an 18650 would sag.
What works
- 1,000 m of published throw
- 21700 cell with USB-C
- The specialist tool the category actually needs, rather than another 3,000-lumen flood
What does not
- No sourced runtime, candela or IP rating
- The head diameter that buys the throw makes it awkward to carry
- Almost no usable spill
Skip this ifyou want one light for everything. This one does distance and does nothing else well.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 1,000 mListed as a 1,093-yard beam; converted to metersNitecore P30i — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- 21700, USB-C rechargeableNitecore P30i — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
image
Pick 8 · The middle of the tactical range
Fenix PD35 V3.0
1,700 lumens in the size that made the PD35 the default mid-size tactical light for a decade.
The PD35 is the size most people actually want in a tactical light: long enough for a cigar grip, short enough for a pocket.
18650 rather than 21700 keeps the diameter down at the cost of about a third of the energy a PD36R Pro carries.
Fenix's own site did not carry a page for this version when we looked, so the table is limited to what the brand's listing states.
What works
- The size that has been the category default for a decade
- 18650, replaceable and standard
- 1,700 lumens is competitive for the class
What does not
- No sourced runtime, candela, beam distance or IP rating
- Less energy than the 21700 alternatives
- Nothing here is new
Skip this ifyou want the full spec table before buying. The PD36R Pro is better documented and carries more energy.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- 18650 Li-ion, rechargeableFenix PD35 V3.0 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
Questions people actually ask
What makes a flashlight tactical?
Nothing with a definition. In practice the word means a tail switch, a strobe, a crenellated bezel and an aluminum body. Judge these lights on published candela, sustained runtime and ingress rating instead; those are measurable.
How many lumens should a tactical flashlight have?
1,000 to 2,000 peak is the useful range. Beyond that a light in a 25-millimeter tube cannot shed the heat and steps down within ninety seconds. What you actually want is high candela and a good sustained level, not a bigger turbo number.
What is candela and why does it matter more than lumens?
Candela is beam intensity at the hotspot; lumens is total output. Reach depends on candela. In our set the Acebeam L19 concentrates twenty times more of each lumen than the Fenix PD36R Pro, which is why it reaches nearly four times as far on less output.
Should a tactical flashlight be rechargeable or take CR123A batteries?
Rechargeable for daily use, primaries for a light that sits unused. CR123A lithium cells hold their charge for around a decade, which is exactly what you want in a drawer light and exactly wrong for one you use every day.
Is a strobe mode actually useful?
Less than the marketing suggests. A bright light at close range makes it hard for someone to see past it whether it strobes or not. What matters more is that the strobe is reachable when wanted and unreachable when not — Streamlight's programmable interface exists for exactly that reason.
What is the best tactical flashlight?
On our criteria, the Streamlight ProTac HL-X: it publishes a full per-mode table of output, candela, beam distance and runtime, the figures reconcile with each other, it is IP68 with a 2 m impact rating, and it runs on either a rechargeable pack or CR123A primaries.
How far should a tactical flashlight reach?
For indoor and close work, 150 to 250 meters of ANSI beam distance is ample. For searching open ground, 350 meters and up. Remember the rated distance is a detection threshold at 0.25 lux — divide by about three for the distance at which you can identify something.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- SureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Fenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- ANSI/PLATO FL 1 flashlight performance standard — definitions of lumens, peak beam intensity, beam distance, runtime, impact and water resistance
- IEC 60529 — the IP (ingress protection) rating system
Read next

Best flashlights for police and law enforcement
Duty lights ranked on shift-length sustained runtime, impact rating and charging strategy.

Best flashlight throwers
Throwers ranked on computed candela and published beam distance, with the optics explained.

Lumens vs candela
The distinction that decides reach, with the conversion formula and a table of real published figures.

Throw vs flood
How reflector geometry produces throw or flood, what each suits, and where the middle ground lives.

What actually makes a flashlight tactical
What the word tactical actually describes, feature by feature, and what to judge a light on instead.

Best EDC flashlights, ranked on what they actually hold
The full EDC ranking: cell format, stored energy, color rendering and beam shape, every figure sourced.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.