Tactical Flashlights
Best tactical flashlights for self defense
A flashlight is a tool for seeing and for being seen. It is worth being clear about what the specification actually buys before ranking anything.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Reach | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No image Streamlight ProTac HL-XTop pick1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, 374 m, 1.5 hours, IP68, on either a rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells. Every figure published per mode. | Duty use, and the best-documented light on this site | 374 m | Check price#ad |
| 2 | No image SureFire G2X Pro600 lumens, 8,700 candela, 1.5 hours, and two modes. The specification is modest; the point is that nothing on it can go wrong. | A simple two-mode light that will outlive you | 8,700 cd | Check price#ad |
| 3 | No image Olight Warrior X 42,600 lumens and 630 m of stated throw. The longest published reach of any general-purpose light here. | Reach in a tactical body | 630 m | Check price#ad |
| 4 | No image Streamlight PolyTac600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck. | A polymer duty light you will not worry about | 214 m | Check price#ad |
| 5 | No image Fenix PD35 V3.01,700 lumens in the size that made the PD35 the default mid-size tactical light for a decade. | The middle of the tactical range | 1,700 lm | Check price#ad |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

This category attracts more unsupported claims than any other part of the flashlight market, so it is worth being precise about what a bright light does and does not do.
How we picked
Instant access to high output first, then reliability of the switch and the power source, then candela at close range. Every figure is sourced. See our methodology.
Instant access is the specification that matters
A light that has to be cycled through low and medium to reach high is the wrong tool here. What you want is a tail switch that gives momentary high output on a half-press from off, without any mode cycling.
- SureFire G2X Pro — two modes, low then high, no programming, nothing to misconfigure. Press-and-hold gives momentary output.
- Streamlight ProTac HL-X — programmable, and the point is that you can program it to high-only, which removes every intermediate step.
- Streamlight PolyTac — same programmable interface in a lighter polymer body.
- Fenix PD35 V3.0 and Olight Warrior X 4 — dual switch designs with a dedicated tactical tail switch.
How much light is enough at close range
This is the arithmetic that argues against buying maximum candela for this use. A dedicated thrower like the Acebeam L19, at a computed 422,500 candela, would put over 46,000 lux at three meters — vastly more than needed, in a beam so tight it illuminates almost nothing around the hotspot, which is the opposite of what you want at close range.
Spill matters more than reach here
A tight hotspot with no spill shows you a bright circle and nothing around it. At close range you want to see the whole scene, which means a beam with generous spill — exactly the profile of the SureFire G2X Pro and the Streamlight PolyTac, and exactly not the profile of a thrower.
This is the clearest case on the site where the highest candela is the wrong answer. Throw versus flood covers the trade.
Reliability and power source
A light kept for infrequent use should not have a self-discharging cell in it. CR123A lithium primaries hold their charge for roughly a decade, which is why the SureFire G2X Pro and the Streamlight PolyTac appear high on this page despite modest output figures.
If you prefer rechargeable, the ProTac HL-X takes either its pack or two CR123A cells, which is the arrangement that removes the trade-off.
Strobe
Strobe modes are marketed heavily for this use and the evidence for a meaningful advantage over steady high output is weak. What is clear is the downside: a light that lands on strobe when you wanted steady light is worse than one without it.
If you want a strobe, buy a light where it is deliberately reachable rather than accidentally reachable. If you do not, buy a light where you can remove it, or one that never had it.
What we would not buy
Anything sold on a strike bezel. A crenellated bezel is a design detail; a light is not a striking implement and buying one on that basis is buying a claim nobody has substantiated.
We would also avoid a light with a complicated mode sequence, a sealed cell that self-discharges, or no published candela at all. For this use, simplicity and a known power state are worth more than any headline figure.
The picks, in full
image
Top pick · Duty use, and the best-documented light on this site
Streamlight ProTac HL-X
1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, 374 m, 1.5 hours, IP68, on either a rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells. Every figure published per mode.
35,000 candela and 374 m reconcile exactly: the square root of 35,000 divided by 0.25 is 374.2 m. Streamlight's numbers are internally consistent across all three modes, which is the strongest signal of a maker publishing real measurements rather than marketing figures.
1.5 hours at 1,300 lumens implies roughly 6 to 7 watt-hours of usable energy — consistent with a single 18650-class pack and with the CR123A alternative.
IP68 with 2 m impact resistance is the toughest rating in this roundup, and the reason this light shows up on so many duty belts.
What works
- Full ANSI FL1 table published per mode, and it reconciles
- Runs on a rechargeable pack or on shelf-stable CR123A lithium cells
- IP68 and 2 m impact rating
What does not
- The programming interface takes reading the manual to understand
- 162 to 176 g is heavy for pocket carry
- CR123A cells are expensive if you use it hard
Skip this ifyou want a pocket light. It is a duty-belt tool and the weight and length are built for a holster.
Published specification
- Output
- 1,300 lmHigh. Medium 420 lm, low 70 lm.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- 35,000 cdHigh. 11,000 cd medium, 1,800 cd low.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Beam distance
- 374 mHigh. 210 m medium, 85 m low.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 1.5 h high / 3.75 h medium / 25 h lowOn the SL-B26 pack. On CR123A: 1.25 h / 3 h / 20 h.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- SL-B26 rechargeable Li-ion pack, or 2 x CR123A lithiumStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 162 g with CR123A, 176 g with the packStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IP68Dust tight, waterproof to 2 m; 2 m impact resistance testedStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 2 · A simple two-mode light that will outlive you
SureFire G2X Pro
600 lumens, 8,700 candela, 1.5 hours, and two modes. The specification is modest; the point is that nothing on it can go wrong.
8,700 candela works out to a 186 m FL1 beam distance, which SureFire does not print. That is well short of the ProTac's 374 m on similar output, because SureFire deliberately builds a wider beam with more usable spill.
Two modes, low then high, with no strobe and no programming. On a light you might need in a hurry, that is a feature.
CR123A primaries hold their charge for a decade on a shelf. For a light that lives in a drawer against the worst night of your life, that matters more than rechargeability.
What works
- Two modes, no menu, nothing to misconfigure
- CR123A lithium cells with a ten-year shelf life
- The most durable reputation in the category, earned over decades
What does not
- 600 lumens and 8,700 candela are modest for the price in 2026
- No published weight or ingress rating on the page we read
- CR123A cells cost real money to run
Skip this ifyou buy on specification. Almost everything here beats it on paper; you are paying for reliability and simplicity instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Low is 15 lm.SureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- 8,700 cdSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Beam distance
- not published(SureFire publishes candela, not distance)
- Runtime
- 1.5 h on highSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithiumSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
- Ingress
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
image
Pick 3 · Reach in a tactical body
Olight Warrior X 4
2,600 lumens and 630 m of stated throw. The longest published reach of any general-purpose light here.
630 m works back to about 99,200 candela. That is a genuine thrower: nearly three times the ProTac HL-X's intensity from twice the lumens, which means a much tighter hotspot.
The trade is spill. At that concentration you get a bright circle and very little else, which is superb across a field and awkward in a corridor.
No published runtime is a real gap on a light this bright. Sustained output is the question a 2,600-lumen thrower most needs to answer.
What works
- 630 m of published throw, the longest in the general-purpose set
- Magnetic charging with no port to flood
- 2,600 lumens alongside the reach, so it is not a narrow-beam-only light
What does not
- No sourced runtime, candela, weight or IP rating
- Very tight hotspot with limited spill
- Proprietary charger
Skip this ifyou work indoors. The beam is built for distance and it is the wrong tool inside a building.
Published specification
- Output
- 2,600 lmOlight Warrior X 4 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 630 mOlight Warrior X 4 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- Rechargeable, magnetic chargingOlight Warrior X 4 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
image
Pick 4 · A polymer duty light you will not worry about
Streamlight PolyTac
600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck.
2.75 hours at 600 lumens from two CR123A cells is a very efficient result — that is roughly 6 watt-hours doing real work rather than being thrown away as heat.
3 m of impact resistance is the highest figure in this roundup. Polymer absorbs a drop that would dent an aluminum body.
119 g with cells installed makes this the lightest full-size duty light here.
What works
- Full per-mode table published, all three modes
- 3 m impact resistance and IPX7
- 119 g, with a ten-year shelf life on its cells
What does not
- 600 lumens is modest against the rechargeable competition
- CR123A running costs add up
- We could not pin a current ASIN for it, so the buy link is a tagged Amazon search
Skip this ifyou use a light daily. CR123A primaries are the wrong economics for frequent use; buy a rechargeable instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Medium 260 lm, low 35 lm.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Listed per mode; no value on the page we read)
- Beam distance
- 214 mHigh. 140 m medium, 52 m low.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 2.75 h high / 5.5 h medium / 34 h lowStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithium (included)Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 119 g (4.2 oz) with batteriesStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IPX7Waterproof to 1 m for 30 minutes; 3 m impact resistance testedStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 5 · The middle of the tactical range
Fenix PD35 V3.0
1,700 lumens in the size that made the PD35 the default mid-size tactical light for a decade.
The PD35 is the size most people actually want in a tactical light: long enough for a cigar grip, short enough for a pocket.
18650 rather than 21700 keeps the diameter down at the cost of about a third of the energy a PD36R Pro carries.
Fenix's own site did not carry a page for this version when we looked, so the table is limited to what the brand's listing states.
What works
- The size that has been the category default for a decade
- 18650, replaceable and standard
- 1,700 lumens is competitive for the class
What does not
- No sourced runtime, candela, beam distance or IP rating
- Less energy than the 21700 alternatives
- Nothing here is new
Skip this ifyou want the full spec table before buying. The PD36R Pro is better documented and carries more energy.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- 18650 Li-ion, rechargeableFenix PD35 V3.0 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
Questions people actually ask
How many lumens do you need for a self-defense flashlight?
Less than the marketing suggests. What matters is intensity at close range, and 8,700 candela — the SureFire G2X Pro's published figure — already puts around 970 lux on a surface at three meters, which is comparable to a brightly lit office delivered instantly to a dark-adapted eye.
Is a strobe mode better than a steady beam?
The claims exceed the evidence. A bright light at close range makes it hard to see past whether it strobes or not. The clear downside is a light landing on strobe when you wanted steady output, which is why a configurable or two-mode interface is worth more.
Should a self-defense flashlight use rechargeable or CR123A batteries?
For a light kept for infrequent use, CR123A lithium primaries, because they hold their charge for around a decade. A rechargeable light needs a routine, and a routine is exactly what fails on a light you rarely touch.
Is a strike bezel useful?
It is a design detail, not a substantiated capability. We would not choose a light on that basis and we do not rank on it.
Do I want the highest candela I can get?
No. At close range a very tight beam shows you a bright circle and nothing around it. Generous spill matters more, which is why the SureFire G2X Pro and the Streamlight PolyTac rank well here and a dedicated thrower does not.
What is the simplest reliable option?
A two-mode light on lithium primaries with a tail switch — the SureFire G2X Pro is exactly that. It loses on every specification comparison on this site and wins on having nothing to go wrong and nothing to remember.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- SureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- ANSI/PLATO FL 1 flashlight performance standard — definitions of lumens, peak beam intensity, beam distance, runtime, impact and water resistance
Read next

Best tactical flashlights, ranked on candela rather than lumens
The tactical ranking: published candela, beam distance, sustained runtime and ingress rating, all sourced.

Best flashlights for police and law enforcement
Duty lights ranked on shift-length sustained runtime, impact rating and charging strategy.

Lumens vs candela
The distinction that decides reach, with the conversion formula and a table of real published figures.

Throw vs flood
How reflector geometry produces throw or flood, what each suits, and where the middle ground lives.

Best EDC flashlights, ranked on what they actually hold
The full EDC ranking: cell format, stored energy, color rendering and beam shape, every figure sourced.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.