Tactical Flashlights
Best flashlights for police and law enforcement
A duty light is judged on whether it lasts a shift and survives being dropped on concrete. Peak output is not the constraint.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Reach | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No image Streamlight Stinger 2020Top pick2,000 lumens, 315 m, two hours on high, and a charger in the box. Built for a shift, not for a pocket. | A patrol light that lives in a charging cradle | 315 m | Check price#ad |
| 2 | No image Streamlight ProTac HL-X1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, 374 m, 1.5 hours, IP68, on either a rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells. Every figure published per mode. | Duty use, and the best-documented light on this site | 374 m | Check price#ad |
| 3 | No image SureFire G2X Pro600 lumens, 8,700 candela, 1.5 hours, and two modes. The specification is modest; the point is that nothing on it can go wrong. | A simple two-mode light that will outlive you | 8,700 cd | Check price#ad |
| 4 | No image Streamlight PolyTac600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck. | A polymer duty light you will not worry about | 214 m | Check price#ad |
| 5 | No image Fenix PD36R Pro2,800 lumens from a 21700 cell holding 18 watt-hours, at 169 grams. The biggest energy store in the tactical set. | The most output and energy in a tactical body | 380 m | Check price#ad |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

Duty use is the one category where the specifications people usually ignore are the ones that decide the purchase. Sustained runtime over a shift, impact resistance, how it charges, and whether the interface can be configured so the strobe is not one click from the mode you need.
How we picked
Published sustained runtime first, then impact and ingress ratings, then charging strategy, then candela. Everything is sourced to the maker. We have used none of these lights and none of this is advice about how to do the job — it is a comparison of published specifications. See our methodology.
Runtime that covers a shift
| Light | High output | Runtime at high | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Streamlight Stinger 2020 | 2,000 lm | 2 h | 350 g |
| Streamlight ProTac HL-X | 1,300 lm | 1.5 h | 162-176 g |
| Streamlight PolyTac | 600 lm | 2.75 h | 119 g |
| SureFire G2X Pro | 600 lm | 1.5 h | not published |
| Fenix PD36R Pro | 2,800 lm | not published per mode | 169 g |
Two hours at a genuine 2,000 lumens is the standout figure here, and it is why the Stinger 2020 leads despite being the heaviest light on the page by a wide margin. Weight on a duty belt matters far less than weight in a pocket.
Impact and ingress
A duty light gets dropped on concrete, not on carpet. ANSI FL 1 specifies an impact-resistance test and the figure is quoted in meters, which makes it directly comparable between makers who publish it.
| Light | Impact | Ingress | Body |
|---|---|---|---|
| Streamlight ProTac HL-X | 2 m | IP68 | Aluminum |
| Streamlight Stinger 2020 | 2 m | IPX7 | Aluminum |
| Streamlight PolyTac | 3 m | IPX7 | Nylon polymer |
| SureFire G2X Pro | not published | not published | Polymer |
| Fenix PD36R Pro | not published | not published | Aluminum |
The polymer PolyTac's 3-meter rating is the highest here, which is not an accident: polymer absorbs impact energy that aluminum transmits to the internals. The trade is thermal — an aluminum body sheds emitter heat far better, which is why the high-output lights are all metal.
Charging strategy
Three approaches, and the right one depends on the vehicle rather than the light.
- Cradle. The Stinger 2020 ships with a charger designed to live in a vehicle. The light goes back in the cradle at the end of every use and is always full. This is the correct answer if you have a vehicle.
- USB-C on the light. The Fenix PD36R Pro. Simple, no cradle, but it needs somebody to remember.
- Primaries. SureFire's CR123A approach. No charging routine at all, at a real running cost, and a decade of shelf life on the spares.
- Both. The ProTac HL-X takes its rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells, which removes the failure mode entirely.
Interface: strobe placement matters
A light that lands on strobe when you wanted high is a genuine problem. Streamlight's Ten-Tap programming lets you select between high-strobe-low, high only, or low-high, which means the strobe can be removed from the sequence entirely.
SureFire's answer is the opposite and equally valid: two modes, low then high, no programming, nothing to misconfigure. Which you prefer is a genuine preference rather than a specification difference.
What we would not buy
A light with no published impact rating for duty use. It is the specification most directly connected to whether the light survives the job, ANSI FL 1 defines a test for it, and a maker who has run the test publishes the number.
We would also avoid a sealed-cell light in this role. A duty light gets cycled hard, and a cell you cannot replace turns a five-year tool into a two-year one.
The picks, in full
image
Top pick · A patrol light that lives in a charging cradle
Streamlight Stinger 2020
2,000 lumens, 315 m, two hours on high, and a charger in the box. Built for a shift, not for a pocket.
Two hours at 2,000 lumens is the standout number: that is a whole traffic stop at full output rather than the ninety-second burst most 2,000-lumen lights give you.
350 grams is heavy in the hand and irrelevant on a belt. This light is designed around a duty rig and a vehicle charger, and the mass buys the runtime.
315 m from 2,000 lumens implies about 24,800 candela — a broader beam than the ProTac's, which is the right call for searching a room rather than a treeline.
What works
- Two hours at full 2,000 lumens, which almost nothing else here can claim
- Full per-mode runtime and distance table published
- Ships with a charger designed for a vehicle cradle
What does not
- 350 g, so pocket carry is out
- IPX7 rather than the ProTac's IP68
- Proprietary battery pack
Skip this ifyou do not have somewhere to dock it. A cradle light without a cradle is a heavy flashlight with a proprietary cell.
Published specification
- Output
- 2,000 lmHigh. Medium 850 lm, low 100 lm.Streamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Streamlight lists candela per mode; no value on the page we read)
- Beam distance
- 315 mHigh. 200 m medium, 70 m low.Streamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 2 h high / 4 h medium / 24 h lowStreamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- SL-B26 rechargeable Li-ion packStreamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 350 g (12.3 oz)Streamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IPX7Waterproof; 2 m impact resistance testedStreamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 2 · Duty use, and the best-documented light on this site
Streamlight ProTac HL-X
1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, 374 m, 1.5 hours, IP68, on either a rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells. Every figure published per mode.
35,000 candela and 374 m reconcile exactly: the square root of 35,000 divided by 0.25 is 374.2 m. Streamlight's numbers are internally consistent across all three modes, which is the strongest signal of a maker publishing real measurements rather than marketing figures.
1.5 hours at 1,300 lumens implies roughly 6 to 7 watt-hours of usable energy — consistent with a single 18650-class pack and with the CR123A alternative.
IP68 with 2 m impact resistance is the toughest rating in this roundup, and the reason this light shows up on so many duty belts.
What works
- Full ANSI FL1 table published per mode, and it reconciles
- Runs on a rechargeable pack or on shelf-stable CR123A lithium cells
- IP68 and 2 m impact rating
What does not
- The programming interface takes reading the manual to understand
- 162 to 176 g is heavy for pocket carry
- CR123A cells are expensive if you use it hard
Skip this ifyou want a pocket light. It is a duty-belt tool and the weight and length are built for a holster.
Published specification
- Output
- 1,300 lmHigh. Medium 420 lm, low 70 lm.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- 35,000 cdHigh. 11,000 cd medium, 1,800 cd low.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Beam distance
- 374 mHigh. 210 m medium, 85 m low.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 1.5 h high / 3.75 h medium / 25 h lowOn the SL-B26 pack. On CR123A: 1.25 h / 3 h / 20 h.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- SL-B26 rechargeable Li-ion pack, or 2 x CR123A lithiumStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 162 g with CR123A, 176 g with the packStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IP68Dust tight, waterproof to 2 m; 2 m impact resistance testedStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 3 · A simple two-mode light that will outlive you
SureFire G2X Pro
600 lumens, 8,700 candela, 1.5 hours, and two modes. The specification is modest; the point is that nothing on it can go wrong.
8,700 candela works out to a 186 m FL1 beam distance, which SureFire does not print. That is well short of the ProTac's 374 m on similar output, because SureFire deliberately builds a wider beam with more usable spill.
Two modes, low then high, with no strobe and no programming. On a light you might need in a hurry, that is a feature.
CR123A primaries hold their charge for a decade on a shelf. For a light that lives in a drawer against the worst night of your life, that matters more than rechargeability.
What works
- Two modes, no menu, nothing to misconfigure
- CR123A lithium cells with a ten-year shelf life
- The most durable reputation in the category, earned over decades
What does not
- 600 lumens and 8,700 candela are modest for the price in 2026
- No published weight or ingress rating on the page we read
- CR123A cells cost real money to run
Skip this ifyou buy on specification. Almost everything here beats it on paper; you are paying for reliability and simplicity instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Low is 15 lm.SureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- 8,700 cdSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Beam distance
- not published(SureFire publishes candela, not distance)
- Runtime
- 1.5 h on highSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithiumSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
- Ingress
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
image
Pick 4 · A polymer duty light you will not worry about
Streamlight PolyTac
600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck.
2.75 hours at 600 lumens from two CR123A cells is a very efficient result — that is roughly 6 watt-hours doing real work rather than being thrown away as heat.
3 m of impact resistance is the highest figure in this roundup. Polymer absorbs a drop that would dent an aluminum body.
119 g with cells installed makes this the lightest full-size duty light here.
What works
- Full per-mode table published, all three modes
- 3 m impact resistance and IPX7
- 119 g, with a ten-year shelf life on its cells
What does not
- 600 lumens is modest against the rechargeable competition
- CR123A running costs add up
- We could not pin a current ASIN for it, so the buy link is a tagged Amazon search
Skip this ifyou use a light daily. CR123A primaries are the wrong economics for frequent use; buy a rechargeable instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Medium 260 lm, low 35 lm.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Listed per mode; no value on the page we read)
- Beam distance
- 214 mHigh. 140 m medium, 52 m low.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 2.75 h high / 5.5 h medium / 34 h lowStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithium (included)Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 119 g (4.2 oz) with batteriesStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IPX7Waterproof to 1 m for 30 minutes; 3 m impact resistance testedStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 5 · The most output and energy in a tactical body
Fenix PD36R Pro
2,800 lumens from a 21700 cell holding 18 watt-hours, at 169 grams. The biggest energy store in the tactical set.
A 5,000 mAh 21700 at 3.6 V is 18.0 watt-hours — nearly three times what the ProTac HL-X carries. That is the case for the 21700 format in one number.
380 m of reach on 2,800 lumens works back to about 36,100 candela, almost identical to the ProTac's 35,000 from 1,300 lumens. The Fenix is spending its extra output on spill, not on distance.
169 g including the cell is only 7 g more than a ProTac on CR123A, for nearly triple the energy. That is what four years of cell development buys.
What works
- 18 Wh of stored energy, the most in the tactical set
- 2,800 lumens with 380 m of published reach
- Standard 21700 cell, USB-C on the light
What does not
- No published IP rating on the page we read
- No published candela, so the throw figure cannot be cross-checked
- 2,800 lumens will step down quickly in a body this size
Skip this ifyou need a shelf-stable light. A rechargeable cell self-discharges; for a drawer light, CR123A primaries are the right answer.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 380 mListed as a 416-yard beam; converted to metersFenix PD36R Pro (416-yard beam) — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 42 h maximumLowest mode; Fenix publishes the full per-mode tableFenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 5,000 mAh 21700 Li-ion (included), USB-CFenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 169 g (5.96 oz)Including batteryFenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
Questions people actually ask
How many lumens does a police flashlight need?
1,000 to 2,000 at high is the working range, and the more important figure is how long it holds it. The Streamlight Stinger 2020's published two hours at 2,000 lumens is the standout number in this set.
What is the best duty flashlight?
On published specifications, the Streamlight Stinger 2020 for anyone with a vehicle cradle, and the ProTac HL-X for anyone without — it runs on a rechargeable pack or two CR123A primaries and is IP68 with a 2 m impact rating.
Should a duty light be rechargeable or take CR123A cells?
Rechargeable if there is a cradle in the vehicle. Primaries if there is not, because a light that needs remembering will eventually be flat. A light accepting both, like the ProTac HL-X, removes the choice.
How impact resistant should a duty flashlight be?
Look for a published ANSI FL 1 impact figure in meters. Two meters is common on aluminum bodies and three meters appears on polymer ones, because polymer absorbs energy that aluminum transmits to the internals.
Is a strobe mode useful on duty?
The claims exceed the evidence. What matters more practically is that the strobe is reachable when wanted and not reachable by accident. Streamlight's programmable interface lets you remove it from the mode sequence entirely.
Aluminum or polymer body for a duty light?
Polymer takes drops better — the Streamlight PolyTac publishes a 3 m impact rating against 2 m for the aluminum lights. Aluminum sheds emitter heat far better, which is why every high-output light here is metal.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- Streamlight Stinger 2020 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- SureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- ANSI/PLATO FL 1 flashlight performance standard — definitions of lumens, peak beam intensity, beam distance, runtime, impact and water resistance
- IEC 60529 — the IP (ingress protection) rating system
Read next

Best tactical flashlights, ranked on candela rather than lumens
The tactical ranking: published candela, beam distance, sustained runtime and ingress rating, all sourced.

Best tactical flashlights for self defense
Self-defense flashlight picks, ranked on instant access and reliability rather than on marketing claims.

Best tactical flashlights under $100
Sub-$100 tactical picks, and an honest account of which specifications survive the price band.

The ANSI FL 1 standard, explained
What the ANSI/PLATO FL 1 standard specifies, measurement by measurement, and the self-reporting problem at its center.

Best work lights, ranked on beam shape rather than brightness
The work-light ranking: beam shape, color rendering, mounting and runtime, with every published figure sourced.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.