Tactical Flashlights
Best tactical flashlights under $100
Under a hundred dollars you can buy a light with a complete, checkable specification. You just cannot buy the biggest numbers as well.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Reach | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No image Streamlight ProTac HL-XTop pick1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, 374 m, 1.5 hours, IP68, on either a rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells. Every figure published per mode. | Duty use, and the best-documented light on this site | 374 m | Check price#ad |
| 2 | No image Streamlight PolyTac600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck. | A polymer duty light you will not worry about | 214 m | Check price#ad |
| 3 | No image SureFire G2X Pro600 lumens, 8,700 candela, 1.5 hours, and two modes. The specification is modest; the point is that nothing on it can go wrong. | A simple two-mode light that will outlive you | 8,700 cd | Check price#ad |
| 4 | No image Fenix PD35 V3.01,700 lumens in the size that made the PD35 the default mid-size tactical light for a decade. | The middle of the tactical range | 1,700 lm | Check price#ad |
| 5 | No image Nitecore P20iX4,000 lumens and 221 m of stated reach with USB-C charging, at a price well under the duty brands. | The most published output in the tactical set | 221 m | Check price#ad |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

The good news about this price band is that the specification quality does not fall off the way it does in the budget EDC market. Streamlight and SureFire both sell duty-grade lights around this money, and they both publish full ANSI FL 1 tables.
What you give up is peak output and, in some cases, the rechargeable pack.
How we picked
Published specification completeness first, then sustained runtime, then impact and ingress ratings. Prices come from the live layer and are dated on every button — where we have nothing current, the button says so. See our methodology.
What the price band actually gets you
| Light | Candela | Beam | Per-mode runtime | Impact | Ingress |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Streamlight ProTac HL-X | Yes | Yes | Yes | 2 m | IP68 |
| Streamlight PolyTac | Per mode | Yes | Yes | 3 m | IPX7 |
| SureFire G2X Pro | Yes | No | High only | No | No |
| Fenix PD35 V3.0 | No | No | No | No | No |
| Nitecore P20iX | No | No | No | No | No |
The pattern is the story. The two American duty brands publish nearly everything; the two high-output brands publish an output figure. Both approaches sell, and only one of them lets you check what you are buying.
Output against documentation
The Nitecore P20iX publishes 4,000 lumens, more than three times the ProTac HL-X. It publishes nothing else we could source. So the honest comparison is: one light where you know the beam intensity, the beam distance, the runtime at three levels, the impact rating and the ingress rating, and one where you know a peak number.
For a light you might depend on, we take the documented one. For a light you want to be impressive in a garden, the other is fine. Being clear about which you are buying is the point.
Primaries are cheaper to buy and dearer to run
Polymer or aluminum at this price
The Streamlight PolyTac publishes a 3-meter impact rating, the highest in our whole set, and weighs 119 grams with cells installed — lighter than any aluminum light here. What it gives up is thermal mass: a polymer body sheds emitter heat far worse, which caps sustained output.
At 600 lumens that does not matter. Above about 1,000 lumens it does, which is why every high-output light in this roundup is metal.
What we would not buy under $100
A four-figure-lumen light from a brand publishing nothing else. At this price you have genuine alternatives that publish complete tables, so there is no reason to accept an unverifiable claim.
We would also avoid anything with a micro-USB port at this money. USB-C has been standard for years and a micro-USB port on a 2026 light is a cost decision that will cost you a light.
The picks, in full
image
Top pick · Duty use, and the best-documented light on this site
Streamlight ProTac HL-X
1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, 374 m, 1.5 hours, IP68, on either a rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells. Every figure published per mode.
35,000 candela and 374 m reconcile exactly: the square root of 35,000 divided by 0.25 is 374.2 m. Streamlight's numbers are internally consistent across all three modes, which is the strongest signal of a maker publishing real measurements rather than marketing figures.
1.5 hours at 1,300 lumens implies roughly 6 to 7 watt-hours of usable energy — consistent with a single 18650-class pack and with the CR123A alternative.
IP68 with 2 m impact resistance is the toughest rating in this roundup, and the reason this light shows up on so many duty belts.
What works
- Full ANSI FL1 table published per mode, and it reconciles
- Runs on a rechargeable pack or on shelf-stable CR123A lithium cells
- IP68 and 2 m impact rating
What does not
- The programming interface takes reading the manual to understand
- 162 to 176 g is heavy for pocket carry
- CR123A cells are expensive if you use it hard
Skip this ifyou want a pocket light. It is a duty-belt tool and the weight and length are built for a holster.
Published specification
- Output
- 1,300 lmHigh. Medium 420 lm, low 70 lm.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- 35,000 cdHigh. 11,000 cd medium, 1,800 cd low.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Beam distance
- 374 mHigh. 210 m medium, 85 m low.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 1.5 h high / 3.75 h medium / 25 h lowOn the SL-B26 pack. On CR123A: 1.25 h / 3 h / 20 h.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- SL-B26 rechargeable Li-ion pack, or 2 x CR123A lithiumStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 162 g with CR123A, 176 g with the packStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IP68Dust tight, waterproof to 2 m; 2 m impact resistance testedStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 2 · A polymer duty light you will not worry about
Streamlight PolyTac
600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck.
2.75 hours at 600 lumens from two CR123A cells is a very efficient result — that is roughly 6 watt-hours doing real work rather than being thrown away as heat.
3 m of impact resistance is the highest figure in this roundup. Polymer absorbs a drop that would dent an aluminum body.
119 g with cells installed makes this the lightest full-size duty light here.
What works
- Full per-mode table published, all three modes
- 3 m impact resistance and IPX7
- 119 g, with a ten-year shelf life on its cells
What does not
- 600 lumens is modest against the rechargeable competition
- CR123A running costs add up
- We could not pin a current ASIN for it, so the buy link is a tagged Amazon search
Skip this ifyou use a light daily. CR123A primaries are the wrong economics for frequent use; buy a rechargeable instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Medium 260 lm, low 35 lm.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Listed per mode; no value on the page we read)
- Beam distance
- 214 mHigh. 140 m medium, 52 m low.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 2.75 h high / 5.5 h medium / 34 h lowStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithium (included)Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 119 g (4.2 oz) with batteriesStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IPX7Waterproof to 1 m for 30 minutes; 3 m impact resistance testedStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 3 · A simple two-mode light that will outlive you
SureFire G2X Pro
600 lumens, 8,700 candela, 1.5 hours, and two modes. The specification is modest; the point is that nothing on it can go wrong.
8,700 candela works out to a 186 m FL1 beam distance, which SureFire does not print. That is well short of the ProTac's 374 m on similar output, because SureFire deliberately builds a wider beam with more usable spill.
Two modes, low then high, with no strobe and no programming. On a light you might need in a hurry, that is a feature.
CR123A primaries hold their charge for a decade on a shelf. For a light that lives in a drawer against the worst night of your life, that matters more than rechargeability.
What works
- Two modes, no menu, nothing to misconfigure
- CR123A lithium cells with a ten-year shelf life
- The most durable reputation in the category, earned over decades
What does not
- 600 lumens and 8,700 candela are modest for the price in 2026
- No published weight or ingress rating on the page we read
- CR123A cells cost real money to run
Skip this ifyou buy on specification. Almost everything here beats it on paper; you are paying for reliability and simplicity instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Low is 15 lm.SureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- 8,700 cdSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Beam distance
- not published(SureFire publishes candela, not distance)
- Runtime
- 1.5 h on highSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithiumSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
- Ingress
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
image
Pick 4 · The middle of the tactical range
Fenix PD35 V3.0
1,700 lumens in the size that made the PD35 the default mid-size tactical light for a decade.
The PD35 is the size most people actually want in a tactical light: long enough for a cigar grip, short enough for a pocket.
18650 rather than 21700 keeps the diameter down at the cost of about a third of the energy a PD36R Pro carries.
Fenix's own site did not carry a page for this version when we looked, so the table is limited to what the brand's listing states.
What works
- The size that has been the category default for a decade
- 18650, replaceable and standard
- 1,700 lumens is competitive for the class
What does not
- No sourced runtime, candela, beam distance or IP rating
- Less energy than the 21700 alternatives
- Nothing here is new
Skip this ifyou want the full spec table before buying. The PD36R Pro is better documented and carries more energy.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- 18650 Li-ion, rechargeableFenix PD35 V3.0 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
image
Pick 5 · The most published output in the tactical set
Nitecore P20iX
4,000 lumens and 221 m of stated reach with USB-C charging, at a price well under the duty brands.
221 m from 4,000 lumens works back to about 12,200 candela. That is a wide, bright beam rather than a thrower — the Streamlight ProTac HL-X puts nearly three times the intensity into its hotspot on a third of the output.
It is the clearest illustration on the site of why lumens do not decide reach. Four thousand lumens is a genuinely large number and this light still reaches barely half as far as a 1,300-lumen one.
4,000 lumens in a 21700 tube is a thermal burst. Without a published runtime table there is no way to know where it settles, which is what keeps it below the documented lights on our ranking.
What works
- The highest published output in the tactical set
- Standard 21700 cell with USB-C on the light
- Instant strobe on a dedicated tactical switch
What does not
- No sourced runtime, candela, weight or IP rating
- 221 m of reach from 4,000 lumens is a wide beam sold on a big number
- The turbo figure cannot be sustained and nothing published says for how long it holds
Skip this ifyou need reach or a runtime you can plan around. On both counts a documented 1,300-lumen light beats it.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 221 mListed as a 242-yard beam; converted to metersNitecore P20iX (242-yard beam) — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- 21700, USB-C rechargeableNitecore P20iX — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
Questions people actually ask
Can you get a good tactical flashlight under $100?
Yes, and better than in most categories. Streamlight and SureFire both sell duty-grade lights around this money with complete published ANSI FL 1 tables. What you give up is peak output, not specification quality.
Is a 4,000-lumen budget light better than a 1,300-lumen Streamlight?
It publishes a bigger number. The Streamlight publishes candela, beam distance, runtime at three levels, an impact rating and an ingress rating, and the figures reconcile. For a light you might depend on, the documented one is the better purchase.
Are CR123A batteries expensive to run?
Yes, if you use the light regularly — roughly two cells a month at a couple of hours a week, which over five years exceeds the cost of the light. They are still correct for a light that sits unused, because they hold charge for around a decade.
Is a polymer flashlight body worse than aluminum?
For impact, no — the polymer Streamlight PolyTac publishes the highest impact rating in our set at 3 meters. For sustained high output, yes, because polymer sheds emitter heat much worse. That is why every high-output light here is metal.
What should I look for on a listing at this price?
A published candela figure and a per-mode runtime table. If both are there and they reconcile with the beam distance, the maker has measured the light. If only a lumen figure is there, you have nothing to check.
Is USB-C worth insisting on?
Yes. Micro-USB ports are mechanically weak, not reversible, and the most common failure point on a rechargeable light. At this price there is no reason to accept one.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- SureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- ANSI/PLATO FL 1 flashlight performance standard — definitions of lumens, peak beam intensity, beam distance, runtime, impact and water resistance
- IEC 60529 — the IP (ingress protection) rating system
Read next

Best tactical flashlights, ranked on candela rather than lumens
The tactical ranking: published candela, beam distance, sustained runtime and ingress rating, all sourced.

Best flashlights for police and law enforcement
Duty lights ranked on shift-length sustained runtime, impact rating and charging strategy.

Best EDC flashlights under $100
The under-$100 EDC picks, and an honest account of what the price step above budget actually gets you.

The ANSI FL 1 standard, explained
What the ANSI/PLATO FL 1 standard specifies, measurement by measurement, and the self-reporting problem at its center.

Best flashlight throwers
Throwers ranked on computed candela and published beam distance, with the optics explained.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.