Tactical Flashlights
What actually makes a flashlight tactical
The word has no definition and no standard behind it. Here is what it usually describes, and which parts of that are worth paying for.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Reach | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No image Streamlight ProTac HL-XTop pick1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, 374 m, 1.5 hours, IP68, on either a rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells. Every figure published per mode. | Duty use, and the best-documented light on this site | 374 m | Check price#ad |
| 2 | No image SureFire G2X Pro600 lumens, 8,700 candela, 1.5 hours, and two modes. The specification is modest; the point is that nothing on it can go wrong. | A simple two-mode light that will outlive you | 8,700 cd | Check price#ad |
| 3 | No image Streamlight PolyTac600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck. | A polymer duty light you will not worry about | 214 m | Check price#ad |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

There is no standard, no certification and no test behind the word tactical. Nothing stops any manufacturer from putting it on any light, and most of them do. What the word describes in practice is a fairly consistent bundle of design decisions — some genuinely useful, some not.
The bundle, feature by feature
| Feature | What it is | Worth it? |
|---|---|---|
| Tail switch | Momentary on with the thumb, no grip change | Yes — the most genuinely useful item on this list |
| Strobe | Rapid flashing mode | Marginal, and a liability if you cannot avoid it |
| Crenellated bezel | A toothed ring around the lens | No — a design detail sold as a capability |
| Anodized aluminum body | Type III hard-anodized finish | Yes, but for heat dissipation rather than for toughness |
| Programmable modes | User-selectable mode sequence | Yes — the ability to remove strobe is real value |
| High candela | Concentrated beam | Yes, up to a point; past a few thousand lux at close range it stops helping |
| Lockout | Prevents accidental activation | Yes, on any light that lives in a pocket or a bag |
The tail switch is the one that matters
A tail switch lets you turn a light on and off with your thumb without changing your grip, and gives you momentary output from a half-press. That is a genuine ergonomic advantage over a side switch for a light you use in short bursts.
It is also why almost every duty light has one and almost every pocket light does not: a tail switch makes a light impossible to stand on its end and slightly harder to operate one-handed for extended tasks.
Strobe: the honest position
The marketing claims for strobe are much stronger than the published evidence for it. What is not in dispute is that a bright light at close range makes it hard to see past, and that is true whether it strobes or not.
The clear practical downside is a strobe you cannot avoid. A light that lands on strobe while you are looking for a fuse box is worse than one without the mode. Streamlight's programmable interface exists precisely so you can take it out of the sequence, and SureFire's answer — two modes, no strobe — is equally reasonable.
Crenellated bezels
The toothed ring around the lens is usually justified as a striking surface. A flashlight is not a striking implement and nobody has substantiated that claim in a way we would repeat.
It does have one genuine function: a crenellated bezel lets light escape when the light is set face-down, so you can tell it is on. That is a real, small benefit and it is not what it is sold on.
What to judge a light on instead
- Published candela. Beam intensity, which decides reach. See lumens versus candela.
- Per-mode runtime. What the light holds after thermal step-down, not what it peaks at.
- Impact rating in meters. ANSI FL 1 defines the test, and makers who run it publish the number.
- Ingress rating. IPX4 is splash, IPX7 is immersion, IP68 is dust tight plus immersion.
- Power source strategy. Rechargeable, primaries, or both.
- Interface. Whether the mode you want is the mode you get.
Every one of those is measurable, and the makers who take the category seriously publish all six. That is a far better filter than the word on the box. What to look for in a flashlight works through the checklist in general.
Where the word came from
The category is genuinely descended from something specific: small, extremely reliable, high-output incandescent lights built in the 1980s for use alongside a firearm, where a tail switch and instant full output were the design requirements. Those constraints produced a real design language.
What has happened since is that the language outlived the constraints. Most lights sold as tactical today will spend their lives finding fuse boxes and walking dogs, which is fine — just buy them on the specifications rather than on the heritage.
The picks, in full
image
Top pick · Duty use, and the best-documented light on this site
Streamlight ProTac HL-X
1,300 lumens, 35,000 candela, 374 m, 1.5 hours, IP68, on either a rechargeable pack or two CR123A cells. Every figure published per mode.
35,000 candela and 374 m reconcile exactly: the square root of 35,000 divided by 0.25 is 374.2 m. Streamlight's numbers are internally consistent across all three modes, which is the strongest signal of a maker publishing real measurements rather than marketing figures.
1.5 hours at 1,300 lumens implies roughly 6 to 7 watt-hours of usable energy — consistent with a single 18650-class pack and with the CR123A alternative.
IP68 with 2 m impact resistance is the toughest rating in this roundup, and the reason this light shows up on so many duty belts.
What works
- Full ANSI FL1 table published per mode, and it reconciles
- Runs on a rechargeable pack or on shelf-stable CR123A lithium cells
- IP68 and 2 m impact rating
What does not
- The programming interface takes reading the manual to understand
- 162 to 176 g is heavy for pocket carry
- CR123A cells are expensive if you use it hard
Skip this ifyou want a pocket light. It is a duty-belt tool and the weight and length are built for a holster.
Published specification
- Output
- 1,300 lmHigh. Medium 420 lm, low 70 lm.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- 35,000 cdHigh. 11,000 cd medium, 1,800 cd low.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Beam distance
- 374 mHigh. 210 m medium, 85 m low.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 1.5 h high / 3.75 h medium / 25 h lowOn the SL-B26 pack. On CR123A: 1.25 h / 3 h / 20 h.Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- SL-B26 rechargeable Li-ion pack, or 2 x CR123A lithiumStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 162 g with CR123A, 176 g with the packStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IP68Dust tight, waterproof to 2 m; 2 m impact resistance testedStreamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 2 · A simple two-mode light that will outlive you
SureFire G2X Pro
600 lumens, 8,700 candela, 1.5 hours, and two modes. The specification is modest; the point is that nothing on it can go wrong.
8,700 candela works out to a 186 m FL1 beam distance, which SureFire does not print. That is well short of the ProTac's 374 m on similar output, because SureFire deliberately builds a wider beam with more usable spill.
Two modes, low then high, with no strobe and no programming. On a light you might need in a hurry, that is a feature.
CR123A primaries hold their charge for a decade on a shelf. For a light that lives in a drawer against the worst night of your life, that matters more than rechargeability.
What works
- Two modes, no menu, nothing to misconfigure
- CR123A lithium cells with a ten-year shelf life
- The most durable reputation in the category, earned over decades
What does not
- 600 lumens and 8,700 candela are modest for the price in 2026
- No published weight or ingress rating on the page we read
- CR123A cells cost real money to run
Skip this ifyou buy on specification. Almost everything here beats it on paper; you are paying for reliability and simplicity instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Low is 15 lm.SureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- 8,700 cdSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Beam distance
- not published(SureFire publishes candela, not distance)
- Runtime
- 1.5 h on highSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithiumSureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
- Ingress
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
image
Pick 3 · A polymer duty light you will not worry about
Streamlight PolyTac
600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck.
2.75 hours at 600 lumens from two CR123A cells is a very efficient result — that is roughly 6 watt-hours doing real work rather than being thrown away as heat.
3 m of impact resistance is the highest figure in this roundup. Polymer absorbs a drop that would dent an aluminum body.
119 g with cells installed makes this the lightest full-size duty light here.
What works
- Full per-mode table published, all three modes
- 3 m impact resistance and IPX7
- 119 g, with a ten-year shelf life on its cells
What does not
- 600 lumens is modest against the rechargeable competition
- CR123A running costs add up
- We could not pin a current ASIN for it, so the buy link is a tagged Amazon search
Skip this ifyou use a light daily. CR123A primaries are the wrong economics for frequent use; buy a rechargeable instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Medium 260 lm, low 35 lm.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Listed per mode; no value on the page we read)
- Beam distance
- 214 mHigh. 140 m medium, 52 m low.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 2.75 h high / 5.5 h medium / 34 h lowStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithium (included)Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 119 g (4.2 oz) with batteriesStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IPX7Waterproof to 1 m for 30 minutes; 3 m impact resistance testedStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Questions people actually ask
Is there an official definition of a tactical flashlight?
No. There is no standard, no certification and no test behind the word. It describes a bundle of design decisions — tail switch, strobe, crenellated bezel, aluminum body — none of which is a performance specification.
Is a tail switch better than a side switch?
For short bursts, yes: you get momentary output without changing grip. For extended one-handed tasks and for standing the light on its end, a side switch is better. It is a genuine trade rather than an upgrade.
What is a crenellated bezel for?
It is sold as a striking surface, which is not a substantiated capability. Its one genuine function is letting light escape when the light is set face-down, so you can tell it is switched on.
Do I need a strobe mode?
Probably not, and a strobe you cannot avoid is worse than no strobe. If you want one, buy a light where it is deliberately reachable; if you do not, buy one where you can program it out or one that never had it.
What should I judge a tactical flashlight on?
Published candela, per-mode runtime, impact rating in meters, ingress rating, power source strategy and interface. All six are measurable, and the makers who take the category seriously publish every one.
Is an aluminum body better for a tactical light?
For sustained high output, yes, because it sheds emitter heat. For impact resistance, polymer often wins — Streamlight publishes 3 meters for the polymer PolyTac against 2 meters for its aluminum lights.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- Streamlight ProTac HL-X — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- SureFire G2X Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- ANSI/PLATO FL 1 flashlight performance standard — definitions of lumens, peak beam intensity, beam distance, runtime, impact and water resistance
- IEC 60529 — the IP (ingress protection) rating system
Read next

Best tactical flashlights, ranked on candela rather than lumens
The tactical ranking: published candela, beam distance, sustained runtime and ingress rating, all sourced.

What to look for when buying a flashlight
A buyer's checklist in priority order: cell, sustained output, candela, interface, ingress and CRI.

Lumens vs candela
The distinction that decides reach, with the conversion formula and a table of real published figures.

The ANSI FL 1 standard, explained
What the ANSI/PLATO FL 1 standard specifies, measurement by measurement, and the self-reporting problem at its center.

Best tactical flashlights for self defense
Self-defense flashlight picks, ranked on instant access and reliability rather than on marketing claims.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.