Skip to content
Beam & Bezel

Headlamps

Headlamp brands, ranked on what they tell you

Ten brands, one ranking, and a single criterion: how much of the specification sheet the company is willing to print. The gap between first and last is enormous.

By Scooter M. · Published · Updated

Headlamp brands, ranked on what they tell you — ranked picks, with live prices
#ProductBest forOutput / weightPrice
1
No
image
Petzl Swift RLTop pickThe best power-to-weight figure we could source: 1,200 lumens and 168 m from 92 grams, with reactive dimming that genuinely extends the burn.
Trail running and fast movement at night1,200 lm / 92 g
2
No
image
Fenix HM65R-T V2.01,600 lumens and 170 m from a magnesium body running a standard 18650, at 140 g. The removable cell is what separates it from the sealed-pack lamps.
Long nights where you want reach and a spare cell1,600 lm / 140 g (4.94 oz)
3
No
image
Petzl Actik CoreThe default outdoor headlamp: hybrid power, a published ANSI figure, and a beam shaped for walking rather than for a spec sheet.
Hiking and general outdoor use625 lm / 88 g
4
No
image
BioLite Dash 450450 lumens, 90 m of stated beam and 60 hours of stated runtime in BioLite's flat, no-bounce strap.
Road running, where the strap matters more than the beam450 lm
5
No
image
Princeton Tec Vizz550 lumens on three AAA cells with an IPX7 rating — immersion, not just rain. The only AAA lamp here rated for a dunking.
Getting wet550 lm
6
No
image
Streamlight Bandit Pro180 lumens of deliberately diffused light at 45 grams, running 4.5 hours on high. Modest numbers, and the right ones for the job.
Close work where you want a diffused beam, not a spotlight180 lm / 45.4 g (1.6 oz)
7
No
image
Nitecore HC75 UHE3,000 lumens with a zoomable head, white and red beams, and 192 m of stated reach. The brightest headlamp on the site.
Industrial work where you need to change the beam3,000 lm
8
No
image
Olight Perun 33,000 lumens, 160 m of stated beam, and a body that comes off the strap and works as a right-angle flashlight.
A headlamp that detaches into a proper flashlight3,000 lm
9
No
image
Coast XPH34R2,700 lumens, a twist-focus beam, and dual-power operation on either the rechargeable pack or alkaline cells.
Maximum output with a swappable power source2,700 lm
10
No
image
Black Diamond Storm 500-R500 lumens with red, green and blue night-vision modes. The Storm is the waterproof one in Black Diamond's range.
Wet weather and RGB night vision500 lm

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

A headlamp resting on outdoor gear at dusk
Licensed stock photograph, for illustration. It is not a photograph of any product on this page and we have not handled any of them.

Every headlamp brand publishes a lumen figure. That is where the similarity ends. One of the ten brands below publishes the energy in its battery pack in watt-hours; three publish nothing beyond output at all. This page ranks them on that difference, because on a site that judges lights by what can be checked, disclosure is the specification underneath every other specification.

This is not a ranking of how good the lamps are. It is a ranking of how much you can know before you buy one, which is a different question and the only one we are equipped to answer honestly.

The five things a headlamp maker could tell you

  1. Output in lumens, measured under ANSI/PLATO FL 1. Every brand here publishes this.
  2. Beam distance, which is what actually determines how far you see. Five of ten publish it on at least one lamp.
  3. Runtime, and ideally per mode rather than a single maximum.
  4. Battery energy, either as watt-hours directly or as capacity in milliamp-hours you can convert. This is what makes a runtime claim checkable.
  5. Weight and an ingress rating — the two figures that decide whether you will actually wear it and whether it survives the weather.

We have handled none of these lamps. Every figure is the maker's own, linked with the date we read it, and where a brand's own site would not serve us a spec page we cite the brand's own retail listing and label it as such — see our methodology.

The ranking

What each brand publishes across the headlamps we cover
BrandBeam distanceRuntimeBattery energyWeight and IP
PetzlYes, on every lampYesYes — watt-hours stated directlyYes, both
FenixOn some lampsYes, as a maximumYes — capacity in mAhYes, both
StreamlightNoYes, per modeNoYes, both
Princeton TecNoYes, as a maximumNoIP only
BioLiteYesYes, as a maximumNoIP only
NitecoreOn one lampNoNoNeither
OlightOn one lampNoNoNeither
CoastNoNoNoNeither
Black DiamondNoNoNoNeither
Klein ToolsNoNoNoNeither

Petzl is the only brand on this site, in any category, that publishes the watt-hours in its battery. That single fact is why it sits first, and it is worth understanding what it buys you.

Why watt-hours is the specification that matters

A runtime claim with no battery figure behind it cannot be checked. A runtime claim with a stated watt-hour figure can be tested against arithmetic in about ten seconds, and that changes what the number is worth.

The brands, in order

1. Petzl — the only complete spec sheets in the category

Petzl publishes output, beam distance, runtime, battery energy in watt-hours, weight and an IPX rating on every lamp we cover, and the figures are consistent across a range from a 30-lumen emergency lamp to a 1,500-lumen reactive one. The Swift RL states 1,200 lumens, 168 m, 8.47 Wh and 92 g. The Actik Core states 625 lumens, 115 m, 4.5 Wh and 88 g. The Swift LT weighs 43 g, the lightest figure on this site.

Petzl also publishes runtime in an unusual and more honest form on several lamps: visible at 700 m for 400 hours, rather than a bare hour count. That states the threshold the measurement was taken to, which is exactly the information a single maximum figure hides. Skip Petzl if you want maximum output per dollar — Nitecore and Coast publish far bigger numbers for the money.

2. Fenix — nearly as complete, with the biggest batteries

Fenix publishes capacity in milliamp-hours rather than watt-hours, which takes one multiplication to convert but is otherwise the same information. The HM65R-T states 1,600 lumens, 170 m, 300 hours maximum, a 3,400 mAh 18650, 140 g and IP68 — the strongest ingress rating of any headlamp we cover. The HM75R pairs an 18650 with a 21700 for the largest stored energy in the category.

The gap against Petzl is the runtime format: Fenix publishes a single maximum rather than a per-mode table, so the 300-hour figure on the HM65R-T describes its lowest setting and not the 1,600 lumens on the box. Skip Fenix if weight is the deciding factor — the HM75R is 321 g complete, against 43 g for the lightest Petzl.

3. Streamlight — a per-mode runtime table, on one lamp

Streamlight publishes the best-formatted runtime figures of anyone here — 4.5 hours on high and 21 on low for the Bandit Pro, rather than a single maximum — along with 45.4 g and IPX4. It is a per-mode table, which is what we ask for everywhere and rarely get.

The limitation is range rather than disclosure: the Bandit Pro is the only headlamp Streamlight fields in our set, and at 180 lumens it is a light task lamp rather than a general-purpose one. No beam distance is published. Skip it if you need output; take it if you want a very light lamp whose runtime you can actually plan around.

4. BioLite — publishes distance and runtime, not much else

The Dash 450 states 450 lumens, 90 m, 60 hours maximum and IPX4. Four figures including a beam distance puts BioLite ahead of every brand below it, and the 90 m works back to 2,025 candela — 4.5 candela per lumen, a wide running-oriented beam. No weight or battery capacity is published, which on a running lamp is a real omission since weight on the head is the property you notice most.

5. Princeton Tec — runtime and IPX7, no distance

The Vizz states 550 lumens, up to 90 hours, three AAA cells and IPX7 — the second-strongest ingress rating in the category and the best on any AAA lamp here. Running on replaceable cells with published waterproofing is a genuinely useful combination for anyone who cannot rely on charging. No beam distance or weight is published.

6. Nitecore — the biggest numbers, the thinnest sheets

Nitecore publishes the highest output in the category — 3,000 lumens on the HC75 UHE — and one beam distance across four lamps. No runtime, no weight, no ingress rating on any of them. The 192 m on the HC75 works back to 9,216 candela, or 3.1 candela per lumen, which tells you the 3,000 lumens buys width rather than reach.

On a 3,000-lumen lamp the missing runtime is the figure you most need, because no headlamp sustains that output. Take Nitecore for output per dollar and the unusual zoomable head; skip it if you need to know what happens after the first few minutes.

7. Olight — output and one distance figure

The Perun 3 states 3,000 lumens and 160 m; the Perun 2 Mini states 1,100 lumens and nothing else. Magnetic charging is convenient and proprietary, which is a trade rather than a fault. No runtime, weight or ingress rating published on either.

8, 9 and 10. Coast, Black Diamond and Klein Tools — a lumen figure and nothing else

All three publish output and stop. Coast's XPH34R states 2,700 lumens and dual power — a rechargeable pack or alkaline cells — which is a genuinely valuable feature and the reason it is still a pick. Black Diamond's Storm 500-R states 500 lumens with red, green and blue night-vision modes, which no other brand here matches. Klein's 56048 states 400 lumens.

These are not bad lamps and Black Diamond in particular has a very strong reputation among climbers. But reputation is not a specification, and for these three brands there is nothing beyond the output figure to check. If a published runtime or IP rating is part of your decision, they cannot participate in it. Our Nitecore against Black Diamond comparison works through what that means in practice.

How to buy on this page

  • You want to know exactly what you are getting — Petzl. Complete sheets across the whole range, including watt-hours.
  • You want maximum stored energy and IP68 — Fenix, on the HM65R-T or HM75R.
  • You want a runtime figure per mode — Streamlight Bandit Pro, the only per-mode table in the category.
  • You want the most lumens per dollar — Nitecore or Coast, accepting that little else is published.
  • You want red, green and blue night vision — Black Diamond Storm 500-R, the only lamp here with all three. See red light mode.
  • You want it to run on cells from a shop — Coast XPH34R, Princeton Tec Vizz, or a Petzl hybrid. See rechargeable headlamps.

What we would not tell you

We would not tell you Petzl makes better headlamps than Black Diamond. We have used neither, and a disclosure ranking is not a performance ranking. What we can say is that if a Petzl lamp underperforms its published figures you have a documented claim to hold it against, and with three of these brands you have only a lumen number.

We would also not fill in the empty cells in the table above. It would be easy to publish an estimated runtime for a Nitecore lamp or an assumed IP rating for a Black Diamond, and it would make the page look more useful. It would also be exactly the thing this site exists not to do. For how we choose picks across the whole category, see how to choose a headlamp.

The picks, in full

No
image

Top pick · Trail running and fast movement at night

Petzl Swift RL

The best power-to-weight figure we could source: 1,200 lumens and 168 m from 92 grams, with reactive dimming that genuinely extends the burn.

8.47 watt-hours across 92 grams is the whole argument. That works out to 13.0 lumens per gram at peak and 0.092 Wh of stored energy per gram carried, the best combination of the two figures in this roundup.

Reactive lighting is the runtime strategy, not a gimmick. The lamp meters reflected light and cuts output when you look at your own hands or a pale trail. Petzl's 7-hour minimum at medium is quoted in that mode, and it is the number to plan around.

168 m of throw is more than a runner can use below about 8 minutes per kilometer. What you actually notice is how little the beam sags once the pack drops under half.

What works

  • 1,200 lm and 168 m at 92 g, the best power-to-weight in this set on published figures
  • Reactive dimming extends the burn instead of just cutting output in bright patches
  • Five-level charge gauge, so you know what you have before you start

What does not

  • IPX4, in a category where running in rain is the normal case
  • Charging cable not included at this price
  • Reactive mode takes a few outings to trust

Skip this ifyou mostly walk. You are paying for a reactive sensor and a 2,250 mAh pack to solve a problem hikers do not have.

No
image

Pick 2 · Long nights where you want reach and a spare cell

Fenix HM65R-T V2.0

1,600 lumens and 170 m from a magnesium body running a standard 18650, at 140 g. The removable cell is what separates it from the sealed-pack lamps.

A 3,400 mAh 18650 at a nominal 3.6 V is 12.2 watt-hours. That is more energy than a Petzl NAO RL carries, in a lamp 5 g lighter, because a bare 18650 is a more efficient package than a molded pack.

It is also the only headlamp in this set whose battery you can replace at a checkpoint for three dollars, because 18650 is a standard cell and not a proprietary brick.

IP68 rather than IPX4 is the second real difference. This one survives being dropped in water; most of the running lamps here do not.

What works

  • Standard 18650 cell: swappable, cheap, and available everywhere
  • IP68 and 2 m impact rating, the toughest specification in this roundup
  • Dual emitters, one white and one warm white, so it works for close tasks as well as reach

What does not

  • 140 g is at the heavy end for a running lamp
  • Charging works only with Fenix ARB-L18 series cells, which limits the swap-any-18650 advantage
  • No published candela figure

Skip this ifyou count grams. A Swift LT does the camp job at 43 g; you are carrying 97 g extra for reach and a removable cell.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published(Fenix publishes distance, not peak intensity)
Runtime
300 h maximumLowest mode. The turbo figure is far shorter and Fenix publishes it per-mode.Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Battery
3,400 mAh 18650 Li-ion (included), or 2 x CR123AFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Weight
140 g (4.94 oz)Including battery and headbandFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
IP68Dust tight and immersion rated; 2 m impact resistanceFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
No
image

Pick 3 · Hiking and general outdoor use

Petzl Actik Core

The default outdoor headlamp: hybrid power, a published ANSI figure, and a beam shaped for walking rather than for a spec sheet.

625 lumens and 115 meters is a walking beam, not a searching beam. The FL1 definition puts illuminance at 115 m down to 0.25 lux, which is enough to tell that something is there and not enough to identify it. In practice you run the middle level and see 30 to 60 m of usable trail.

4.5 watt-hours matters more than the lumen figure. A lamp drawing a regulated 2 W empties that pack in a bit over two hours. The 400-hour number Petzl quotes is a reserve-mode visibility claim, not 400 hours of light you can walk by.

The hybrid design is the real feature. When the CORE pack dies three hours into a night descent, three AAA cells from a gas station bring the lamp back. Very little else at this price does that.

What works

  • Runs on the rechargeable pack or three AAA cells, which is a genuine field fix rather than a marketing bullet
  • Petzl publishes the full ANSI FL 1 table, including a distance for every mode
  • 88 g is light enough that you stop noticing it

What does not

  • IPX4 only: rain is fine, a dropped-in-the-creek recovery is not
  • No published peak candela, so the 115 m claim cannot be checked against the intensity
  • The maker's own site and its own Amazon listing disagree about peak output

Skip this ifyou need reach. 115 m is short by 2026 standards, and the 625-lumen headline does not change the shape of the beam.

Published specification

Output
625 lmANSI/PLATO FL 1. Petzl's US product page states 625; the brand's own Amazon listing says 650. We use the maker's own site.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Peak intensity
not published(Petzl publishes distance, not peak intensity)
Beam distance
115 mMaximum, on the CORE rechargeable batteryPetzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Runtime
Visible at 700 m for 400 hPetzl's reserve figure. It is a visibility claim, not a useful-work runtime.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Battery
CORE 1250 mAh / 3.6 V / 4.5 Wh, or 3 x AAAPetzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
IPX4Weather resistant. Not immersion rated.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
No
image

Pick 4 · Road running, where the strap matters more than the beam

BioLite Dash 450

450 lumens, 90 m of stated beam and 60 hours of stated runtime in BioLite's flat, no-bounce strap.

BioLite's listing publishes more than most: output, beam distance, maximum runtime and an IP rating. That is why this one earns a place despite the modest headline.

450 lumens and 90 m is a road-running beam. On tarmac at 5 minutes per kilometer it is enough; on technical singletrack it is not.

The flat front profile is the actual product. A headlamp that does not bounce is worth more to a runner than another 300 lumens that does.

What works

  • One of the few non-European brands here to publish beam distance and IP rating
  • Low-profile strap that stays put at pace
  • 60-hour low mode is a real number, not a reserve-visibility claim

What does not

  • 450 lumens is modest for trail use
  • No published weight
  • IPX4 rather than a proper rain rating

Skip this ifyou run technical trail. 90 m of reach at 450 lumens does not give you time to read the ground at speed.

No
image

Pick 5 · Getting wet

Princeton Tec Vizz

550 lumens on three AAA cells with an IPX7 rating — immersion, not just rain. The only AAA lamp here rated for a dunking.

IPX7 on AAA cells is the specification that makes this interesting. Almost everything else in the AAA class is IPX4, which means rain and nothing more.

Three lithium AAA cells hold roughly 4.5 Wh and shrug off cold in a way alkalines do not. On this lamp that combination is worth more than another 500 lumens.

Princeton Tec publishes a full runtime spread rather than a single flattering maximum, which is the behavior we want to reward.

What works

  • IPX7 immersion rating on replaceable cells
  • A published runtime spread across modes and chemistries
  • Digital lockout, so it does not drain itself in a pack

What does not

  • No published beam distance or weight on the page we read
  • Bulkier than the modern rechargeable lamps
  • No rechargeable option

Skip this ifweight is your constraint. The AAA carriage that makes it robust also makes it bigger than the Li-ion competition.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published(Not stated on the page we read)
Runtime
Up to 90 hLowest mode. Princeton Tec publishes 12 h, 20 h, 32 h, 60.5 h, 75 h and 100 h figures across modes and battery types.Princeton Tec Vizz — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Weight
not published(Not stated on the page we read)
No
image

Pick 6 · Close work where you want a diffused beam, not a spotlight

Streamlight Bandit Pro

180 lumens of deliberately diffused light at 45 grams, running 4.5 hours on high. Modest numbers, and the right ones for the job.

4.5 hours on high and 21 hours on low are published per-mode figures, not a reserve-visibility claim. That is rarer than it should be and it is why this lamp scores well despite the smallest headline here.

180 diffused lumens at arm's length is more comfortable than 1,000 focused ones. Under a dashboard or inside an electrical panel, glare is the enemy and this is built to avoid it.

45 g puts it within 2 g of a Petzl Swift LT while costing a fraction as much.

What works

  • Honest per-mode runtimes published by the maker
  • 45 g, and a hard-hat strap option
  • Diffused beam that does not blind you off close work

What does not

  • 180 lumens will not light a trail
  • No beam distance published, because there is not much to publish
  • IPX4

Skip this ifyou need to see past about ten meters. It is a task light worn on the head, not a trail lamp.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published(Streamlight does not publish one for this diffused lamp)
Battery
USB rechargeable, charges in the light in 3.5 hStreamlight Bandit Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
No
image

Pick 7 · Industrial work where you need to change the beam

Nitecore HC75 UHE

3,000 lumens with a zoomable head, white and red beams, and 192 m of stated reach. The brightest headlamp on the site.

A zoomable head is unusual on a headlamp and it is the point of this one: you can flood a panel at arm's length, then throw the same 3,000 lumens 190 m down a yard.

3,000 lumens is not a setting you run in. It is a burst for identifying something, and any lamp this bright will step down within minutes to protect the emitter and your forehead.

192 m from 3,000 lumens implies a fairly wide hotspot. A dedicated thrower at a third of the output would reach further — which is exactly the lumens-versus-candela confusion this site exists to unpick.

What works

  • Zoom lets one lamp do close work and distance
  • The highest published output of any headlamp here
  • White and red in a work-rated body

What does not

  • No sourced runtime, which on a 3,000-lumen lamp is the number you most need
  • Zoom optics lose light compared with a fixed reflector
  • Heavy enough that a hard hat mount is the sensible way to wear it

Skip this ifyou want reach specifically. 192 m from 3,000 lumens is a flood-biased beam; a thrower gets you further on a quarter of the output.

No
image

Pick 8 · A headlamp that detaches into a proper flashlight

Olight Perun 3

3,000 lumens, 160 m of stated beam, and a body that comes off the strap and works as a right-angle flashlight.

3,000 lumens at 160 m tells you this is a flood-biased beam. For comparison, a Petzl Swift RL reaches 168 m on 1,200 lumens — more distance from 40 percent of the output, because distance comes from intensity, not from lumens.

The two-in-one design is the real selling point. A right-angle light that clips to a pocket and also mounts on a strap replaces two tools.

Marketing copy calling it waterproof without an IP number is exactly the kind of claim we will not repeat as a specification.

What works

  • Detaches into a genuinely useful right-angle flashlight
  • Magnetic charging, which is quick and has no port to flood
  • Published beam distance, which many competitors omit

What does not

  • No sourced runtime, weight, or IP rating
  • 3,000 lumens on 160 m of reach is a wide beam sold on a big number
  • Proprietary magnetic charger to lose

Skip this ifyou want distance. The published figures say flood; a 1,200-lumen Petzl reaches further.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Runtime
not published
Weight
not published
Ingress
not published(Marketed as waterproof; no rating stated in the listing)
No
image

Pick 9 · Maximum output with a swappable power source

Coast XPH34R

2,700 lumens, a twist-focus beam, and dual-power operation on either the rechargeable pack or alkaline cells.

Dual power is the same hybrid idea Petzl and Fenix use, and it is the single most practically valuable feature a headlamp can have.

2,700 lumens is the largest headline on this page. Treat it as a burst; sustained output on any headlamp is limited by what your forehead will tolerate as heat.

The twist focus is Coast's signature. It works, and it costs you some throw efficiency compared with a fixed reflector of the same aperture.

What works

  • Runs on rechargeable or disposable cells
  • The highest published output of any lamp in the headlamp set
  • Twist focus covers flood and spot from one head

What does not

  • No sourced runtime, weight, beam distance or IP rating
  • 2,700 lumens on a head-mounted light is a heat problem before it is a light problem
  • Bulky next to the running lamps

Skip this ifyou plan to wear it for hours. Output this high on a headlamp is a burst tool and the mass reflects it.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published
Runtime
not published
Weight
not published
Ingress
not published
No
image

Pick 10 · Wet weather and RGB night vision

Black Diamond Storm 500-R

500 lumens with red, green and blue night-vision modes. The Storm is the waterproof one in Black Diamond's range.

The RGB night-vision set is the differentiator. Green preserves adaptation like red does but renders map contours and blood trails differently, which is why hunters ask for it specifically.

As with the Spot, we could not reach Black Diamond's own spec page from this build, so the table is thin on purpose. We assert the two figures the brand's listing states and nothing else.

The Storm line has historically been the waterproof one, but we will not print an IP rating we could not source.

What works

  • Red, green and blue night-vision modes in one lamp
  • 500 lumens is a step up from the Spot for a small price difference
  • Integrated rechargeable

What does not

  • No sourced beam distance, runtime, weight or IP rating
  • Heavier than the Spot, though we cannot tell you by how much
  • Mode cycling gets busy with four colors to reach

Skip this ifyou only ever use white light. You are paying for two colors you will not switch on.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
Runtime
not published
Weight
not published
Ingress
not published(Not stated in the listing we read)

Questions people actually ask

Which headlamp brand publishes the best specifications?

Petzl, without much argument. It is the only brand on this site that publishes battery energy in watt-hours, and it states beam distance, runtime, weight and an IPX rating on every lamp we cover. Fenix is a close second and publishes capacity in milliamp-hours, which is the same information one multiplication away.

Is Petzl or Black Diamond better?

On published specifications it is not close — Petzl publishes five categories of figure across its range and Black Diamond publishes output alone. That is a disclosure judgment rather than a claim about how the lamps perform. Black Diamond's Storm 500-R does offer red, green and blue night-vision modes, which no Petzl lamp in our set matches.

Which headlamp brand is brightest?

Nitecore, at 3,000 lumens on the HC75 UHE, with Olight's Perun 3 matching it. Bear in mind the HC75's 192 m of published reach works back to just 3.1 candela per lumen — it is a very wide beam, so the output buys width rather than distance, and neither brand publishes a runtime.

What is the most waterproof headlamp brand?

Fenix, on published figures — the HM65R-T states IP68, which is dust tight and protected against continuous immersion. Princeton Tec's Vizz states IPX7. Petzl publishes IPX4 across its range, which covers rain but not immersion. Five of the ten brands here publish no ingress rating at all.

Why does watt-hours matter on a headlamp?

Because it is what makes a runtime claim checkable. Watt-hours divided by the lamp's draw gives hours. Petzl's Actik Core states 4.5 Wh, which the arithmetic confirms from its 1,250 mAh at 3.6 V. Without a battery figure, a runtime number has to be taken entirely on trust.

Which headlamp brands run on AAA batteries?

Petzl's Tikka and Tikkina take three AAA cells or a rechargeable CORE pack, Black Diamond's Cosmo 350 is dual-fuel with the BD 1500 pack, Princeton Tec's Vizz takes three AAA, and Coast's XPH34R takes alkaline cells or a rechargeable pack. That flexibility matters when charging is not available.

Are more expensive headlamp brands worth it?

We do not quote prices — the buttons on this page read a live figure where our data layer has one and say Check price otherwise. What we can say is that the brands publishing the most tend not to be the ones publishing the biggest lumen numbers, so paying more often buys documentation and weight savings rather than output.

Sources

Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.

A headlamp beam in the dark

How to choose a headlamp

A decision guide built on watt-hours, weight, beam distance, ingress rating and red-mode access.

Two flashlights side by side on a dark surface

Nitecore vs Black Diamond headlamps

Nitecore against Black Diamond on published headlamp output and features — the least documented matchup on this site, and what you can still decide from it.

Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.