Skip to content
Beam & Bezel

Compare

Petzl vs Fenix headlamps

The only two headlamp brands we cover that publish enough to be checked properly. So for once the comparison is decided on trade-offs rather than on disclosure.

By Scooter M. · Published · Updated

Petzl vs Fenix headlamps — ranked picks, with live prices
#ProductBest forOutputPrice
1
Fenix HM65R-T V2.0
Fenix HM65R-T V2.0Top pick1,600 lumens and 170 m from a magnesium body running a standard 18650, at 140 g. The removable cell is what separates it from the sealed-pack lamps.
Long nights where you want reach and a spare cell1,600 lm
2
Petzl Actik Core
Petzl Actik CoreThe default outdoor headlamp: hybrid power, a published ANSI figure, and a beam shaped for walking rather than for a spec sheet.
Hiking and general outdoor use625 lm
3
Petzl Swift LT
Petzl Swift LT43 grams with a real 380-lumen ANSI figure. The lightest lamp here that is still a lamp rather than a token.
Ultralight backpacking380 lm
4
Fenix HM50R V2.0
Fenix HM50R V2.078 grams and 700 lumens from a single 16340. The lightest genuinely bright lamp here, with the shortest battery life to match.
A headlamp that detaches and works as a pocket light700 lm
5
Fenix HL18R-T V2.0
Fenix HL18R-T V2.0103 g, 800 lumens, and an AAA fallback. The cheapest lamp here that is genuinely built for running rather than adapted to it.
Trail running on a budget800 lm
6
Petzl NAO RL
Petzl NAO RL1,500 lumens and 11.84 watt-hours in a rear-battery layout. The most stored energy on this list, and the weight that comes with it.
Ultra distance, where the battery has to last the night1,500 lm
7
Fenix HM75R
Fenix HM75RTwo cells in a rear case feeding a 1,600-lumen head. Heavy at 321 g, and the only lamp here that will genuinely run a full night shift on high-ish output.
All-shift work lighting1,600 lm
8
Petzl Swift RL
Petzl Swift RLThe best power-to-weight figure we could source: 1,200 lumens and 168 m from 92 grams, with reactive dimming that genuinely extends the burn.
Trail running and fast movement at night1,200 lm

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. Prices checked September 13, 2026.

A headlamp resting on outdoor gear at dusk
Licensed stock photograph, for illustration. It is not a photograph of any product on this page and we have not handled any of them.

Most brand comparisons on this site end with one company publishing figures and the other publishing a lumen number. This one does not. Petzl and Fenix finished first and second in our headlamp brand ranking precisely because both state battery capacity, runtime, weight and an ingress rating on every lamp — so for once the argument is about engineering choices rather than about who is hiding what.

And the choices are close to opposite. Petzl builds the lightest lamps in the category and protects them against rain. Fenix builds heavier lamps around bigger, standard, removable cells and protects them against immersion.

How we picked

Four matched pairs by role — the flagship, the mid-range rechargeable, the compact, and the maximum-endurance lamp. Every figure is the maker's own, linked with the date we read it. Petzl's own spec pages were reachable from this build; two Fenix figures come from the brand's own retail listing and are labeled as such. We have handled none of these lamps — our methodology sets out what we do instead.

The complete sheet, both sides

Published figures, with Fenix capacities converted to watt-hours
LampOutputBeam distanceBattery energyWeightIngress
Fenix HM75R1,600 lmnot published30.2 Wh (computed)321 g completenot published
Fenix HM65R-T V2.01,600 lm170 m12.2 Wh (computed)140 gIP68
Petzl NAO RL1,500 lmnot published11.84 Wh (published)145 gnot published
Petzl Swift RL1,200 lm168 m8.47 Wh (published)92 gIPX4
Fenix HL18R-T V2.0800 lmnot published6.8 Wh (computed)103 gIP66
Fenix HM50R V2.0700 lmnot published2.9 Wh (computed)78 gnot published
Petzl Actik Core625 lm115 m4.5 Wh (published)88 gIPX4
Petzl Swift LT380 lm70 m3.27 Wh (published)43 gIPX4

Two patterns fall straight out. Fenix holds more energy at every tier, and Petzl weighs less at every tier. The Fenix HM75R carries two and a half times the watt-hours of Petzl's biggest lamp; the Petzl Swift LT weighs just over half what Fenix's lightest does.

The pair that decides most purchases

The Petzl Swift RL and the Fenix HM65R-T are the flagships, and they land within two meters of each other on reach — 168 m against 170 m. That closeness is worth unpacking, because the lamps get there very differently.

Cells: standard and removable against proprietary and light

This is the other structural difference, and it follows from the weight figures rather than contradicting them.

  • Fenix runs on standard, removable cells. The HM65R-T takes a 3,400 mAh 18650 or two CR123A primaries. The HM50R takes a 16340. The HL18R-T takes its pack or three AAA. You can carry a charged spare and swap it in the dark, and CR123A primaries store for roughly a decade.
  • Petzl runs on its CORE pack or AAA. The Tikka and Tikkina take three AAA or the CORE; the Swift and NAO lamps take a Petzl pack. That is a proprietary part rather than a cell you can buy anywhere, and it is part of why the lamps weigh what they do.
  • The HM50R is the odd one worth flagging. Fenix states that a CR123A works but caps output at 130 lm — so the primary-cell fallback exists and costs you most of the light. That is exactly the kind of caveat most makers leave out, and Fenix printing it is a point in its favor.

How each brand states runtime

Both publish a runtime, which already puts them ahead of most of the category, but the formats differ in a way that matters.

Fenix publishes a single maximum — 300 hours on the HM65R-T, 160 on the HL18R-T, 42 on the HM50R. Those describe the lowest mode, not the 1,600 lumens on the box. Petzl publishes a threshold instead: visible at 700 m for 400 hours. That states the condition the measurement was taken to, which is more information in the same number of words, and it is the better of the two formats.

Petzl's reactive lamps go further again. The Swift RL states 7 hours minimum at medium in reactive mode — a floor rather than a ceiling, on a lamp that dims itself when you look at something close. How runtime is defined covers why a single headline figure is the weakest form of the claim.

The four matched pairs

Flagship: Fenix HM65R-T vs Petzl Swift RL

Fenix: 1,600 lm, 170 m, 12.2 Wh, IP68, a removable 18650 and a CR123A fallback, at 140 g. Petzl: 1,200 lm, 168 m, 8.47 Wh, IPX4, reactive dimming, at 92 g. The Fenix wins on energy, waterproofing and cell flexibility; the Petzl wins on weight by 48 grams and on beam efficiency.

Skip the HM65R-T if you will notice 140 g on your forehead for six hours. Skip the Swift RL if the lamp gets properly wet, or if you want to carry a spare cell rather than a power bank. Note too that the Swift RL's buy box is currently showing no live price through our layer, so its button reads Check price — the listing is live, we just will not print an unverified number.

Mid-range: Petzl Actik Core vs Fenix HL18R-T

The Fenix publishes 800 lumens, 6.8 Wh and IP66 at 103 g. The Petzl publishes 625 lumens, 115 m, 4.5 Wh and IPX4 at 88 g, and takes AAA cells when the CORE is flat. More light and better weather sealing against less weight and a published beam distance.

Skip the Actik Core if you want immersion protection. Skip the HL18R-T if you want to know how far it throws — Fenix publishes no beam distance for it, which on an 800-lumen lamp is the figure you would most want.

Compact: Petzl Swift LT vs Fenix HM50R V2.0

43 g against 78 g, and 380 lumens against 700. The Swift LT is the lightest lamp on this site by a wide margin and publishes 70 m and 3.27 Wh. The HM50R nearly doubles the output from a smaller 2.9 Wh cell and detaches to work as a pocket light, which is a genuinely useful second role.

Skip the Swift LT if 380 lumens is not enough — it is a lamp for seeing your feet, not the far side of a valley. Skip the HM50R if weight is the whole point, or if you need an ingress rating, because Fenix publishes none for it.

Maximum endurance: Fenix HM75R vs Petzl NAO RL

The HM75R carries an 18650 and a 21700 at once — 30.2 watt-hours, the largest energy store anywhere on this site — and publishes 234 hours on floodlight and 365 on red. It weighs 321 g complete. The NAO RL publishes 1,500 lumens, 11.84 Wh and 145 g, with reactive lighting and a pack that doubles as a power bank.

Skip the HM75R for anything you wear for pleasure — 321 g on your head is a work decision, not a hiking one. Skip the NAO RL if you need the absolute longest burn, because 11.84 Wh is not going to answer 30.2. Neither publishes an ingress rating, which on two lamps at this price is disappointing from both.

Which brand should you buy

  • The lamp is going to get soaked — Fenix. IP68 on the HM65R-T against IPX4 on everything Petzl makes.
  • You are counting grams — Petzl. 43 g on the Swift LT, 88 g on the Actik Core, 92 g on the Swift RL.
  • You want to carry a charged spare cell — Fenix. Standard 18650, 21700, 16340 and AAA, plus CR123A fallbacks.
  • You want the longest possible burn — Fenix HM75R at 30.2 Wh, if you can accept 321 g.
  • You move fast in the dark — Petzl, on reactive lighting. See headlamps for running.
  • You want the cheapest lamp worth owning from either — Petzl Tikkina. See headlamps under $50.

What we would not tell you

We would not tell you Petzl's IPX4 means its lamps leak. IPX4 is a tested, published rating that covers rain properly, and Petzl has clearly chosen weight over sealing rather than failed to seal. It is a trade, and the reason to know about it is that the trade is invisible until it rains.

We would also not compare the HM75R's 234-hour floodlight figure to the Swift RL's 7-hour reactive minimum as though they were the same measurement. One is a maximum on a low mode, the other is a floor on a mid mode. Runtime figures are only comparable when the conditions behind them are, which is the single most common way these numbers mislead.

The picks, in full

Fenix HM65R-T V2.0

Top pick · Long nights where you want reach and a spare cell

Fenix HM65R-T V2.0

1,600 lumens and 170 m from a magnesium body running a standard 18650, at 140 g. The removable cell is what separates it from the sealed-pack lamps.

A 3,400 mAh 18650 at a nominal 3.6 V is 12.2 watt-hours. That is more energy than a Petzl NAO RL carries, in a lamp 5 g lighter, because a bare 18650 is a more efficient package than a molded pack.

It is also the only headlamp in this set whose battery you can replace at a checkpoint for three dollars, because 18650 is a standard cell and not a proprietary brick.

IP68 rather than IPX4 is the second real difference. This one survives being dropped in water; most of the running lamps here do not.

What works

  • Standard 18650 cell: swappable, cheap, and available everywhere
  • IP68 and 2 m impact rating, the toughest specification in this roundup
  • Dual emitters, one white and one warm white, so it works for close tasks as well as reach

What does not

  • 140 g is at the heavy end for a running lamp
  • Charging works only with Fenix ARB-L18 series cells, which limits the swap-any-18650 advantage
  • No published candela figure

Skip this ifyou count grams. A Swift LT does the camp job at 43 g; you are carrying 97 g extra for reach and a removable cell.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published(Fenix publishes distance, not peak intensity)
Runtime
300 h maximumLowest mode. The turbo figure is far shorter and Fenix publishes it per-mode.Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Battery
3,400 mAh 18650 Li-ion (included), or 2 x CR123AFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Weight
140 g (4.94 oz)Including battery and headbandFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
IP68Dust tight and immersion rated; 2 m impact resistanceFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
$104.95 - Check price on Amazon

#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Petzl Actik Core

Pick 2 · Hiking and general outdoor use

Petzl Actik Core

The default outdoor headlamp: hybrid power, a published ANSI figure, and a beam shaped for walking rather than for a spec sheet.

625 lumens and 115 meters is a walking beam, not a searching beam. The FL1 definition puts illuminance at 115 m down to 0.25 lux, which is enough to tell that something is there and not enough to identify it. In practice you run the middle level and see 30 to 60 m of usable trail.

4.5 watt-hours matters more than the lumen figure. A lamp drawing a regulated 2 W empties that pack in a bit over two hours. The 400-hour number Petzl quotes is a reserve-mode visibility claim, not 400 hours of light you can walk by.

The hybrid design is the real feature. When the CORE pack dies three hours into a night descent, three AAA cells from a gas station bring the lamp back. Very little else at this price does that.

What works

  • Runs on the rechargeable pack or three AAA cells, which is a genuine field fix rather than a marketing bullet
  • Petzl publishes the full ANSI FL 1 table, including a distance for every mode
  • 88 g is light enough that you stop noticing it

What does not

  • IPX4 only: rain is fine, a dropped-in-the-creek recovery is not
  • No published peak candela, so the 115 m claim cannot be checked against the intensity
  • The maker's own site and its own Amazon listing disagree about peak output

Skip this ifyou need reach. 115 m is short by 2026 standards, and the 625-lumen headline does not change the shape of the beam.

Published specification

Output
625 lmANSI/PLATO FL 1. Petzl's US product page states 625; the brand's own Amazon listing says 650. We use the maker's own site.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Peak intensity
not published(Petzl publishes distance, not peak intensity)
Beam distance
115 mMaximum, on the CORE rechargeable batteryPetzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Runtime
Visible at 700 m for 400 hPetzl's reserve figure. It is a visibility claim, not a useful-work runtime.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Battery
CORE 1250 mAh / 3.6 V / 4.5 Wh, or 3 x AAAPetzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
IPX4Weather resistant. Not immersion rated.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
$85.00 - Check price on Amazon

#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Petzl Swift LT

Pick 3 · Ultralight backpacking

Petzl Swift LT

43 grams with a real 380-lumen ANSI figure. The lightest lamp here that is still a lamp rather than a token.

3.27 watt-hours is a small tank. Run it at a genuine 100 lumens, roughly 0.5 W at the emitter once losses are counted, and the arithmetic lands near five hours. That is a night of camp chores or one pre-dawn start, not a week.

43 g is 45 g under an Actik Core and 102 g under a NAO RL. Across a multi-day trip that saving is the only reason to accept the smaller battery.

70 m of throw is honest for the size. This is a camp-and-trail beam and it does not pretend otherwise.

What works

  • 43 g with a published ANSI figure rather than a vague ultralight claim
  • USB-C, which by 2026 should be standard and still is not
  • Small enough to live permanently in a pack lid

What does not

  • 3.27 Wh means planning recharges on anything longer than an overnight
  • No AAA fallback: when it is flat, it is flat
  • IPX4

Skip this ifgrams are not your binding constraint. For the same money a heavier lamp buys two to three times the watt-hours.

Fenix HM50R V2.0

Pick 4 · A headlamp that detaches and works as a pocket light

Fenix HM50R V2.0

78 grams and 700 lumens from a single 16340. The lightest genuinely bright lamp here, with the shortest battery life to match.

An 800 mAh 16340 at 3.6 V holds 2.9 watt-hours. That is the smallest tank of any rechargeable lamp on this page, and it is why 700 lumens is a burst rather than a setting.

The CR123A caveat is worth reading twice: Fenix states that on a primary lithium cell only the low and medium white modes work, for a maximum of 130 lumens. The fallback exists, but it is not the same lamp.

At 78 g with the head detached it becomes a small flashlight, which is the honest use case: a camp light that also lives in a jacket pocket.

What works

  • 78 g including battery, which is remarkable for a 700-lumen lamp
  • Detaches from the strap and works as a pocket light
  • USB-C on the cell itself

What does not

  • 2.9 Wh is the smallest energy store in this roundup
  • CR123A fallback caps you at 130 lm, which Fenix states plainly and most buyers miss
  • No published beam distance or IP rating on the page we read

Skip this ifyou need more than about two hours of useful light between charges. The battery is the constraint and no setting gets around it.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published(Not stated on the page we read)
Battery
16340 Li-ion, 800 mAh (included). CR123A works but caps output at 130 lm.Fenix HM50R V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Weight
78 g (2.75 oz)Including battery and headbandFenix HM50R V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
not published(Not stated on the page we read)
$59.95 - Check price on Amazon

#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Fenix HL18R-T V2.0

Pick 5 · Trail running on a budget

Fenix HL18R-T V2.0

103 g, 800 lumens, and an AAA fallback. The cheapest lamp here that is genuinely built for running rather than adapted to it.

1,900 mAh at 3.7 V is about 7.0 watt-hours. That is 83 percent of a Swift RL's tank in a lamp 11 g lighter and considerably cheaper.

The AAA fallback is unusual at this weight and it is the reason to pick this over a sealed running lamp: a flat pack at 2 a.m. is a battery change rather than the end of the night.

IP66 is a step up from the IPX4 that most running lamps ship with. It will not survive immersion, but it will survive a downpour.

What works

  • 103 g with three AAA cells as a backup power source
  • IP66, better than most of the running field
  • A warm-white emitter alongside the cool white, which helps in fog and dust

What does not

  • Fenix does not publish a beam distance for it on the pages we read
  • The 800-lumen turbo is a short burst, not a setting you can run in
  • Proprietary ARB-LP1900 pack for the rechargeable option

Skip this ifyou need to identify things at distance. Without a published beam distance we cannot tell you how far it reaches, and the aperture suggests it is not far.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published(Not stated on the pages we read)
Battery
1,900 mAh Li-ion pack (included), or 3 x AAAFenix HL18R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Weight
103 g (3.63 oz)Including battery and headbandFenix HL18R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
IP66Dust tight, withstands heavy rain and splashes; 1 m impact resistanceFenix HL18R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
$55.45 - Check price on Amazon

#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Petzl NAO RL

Pick 6 · Ultra distance, where the battery has to last the night

Petzl NAO RL

1,500 lumens and 11.84 watt-hours in a rear-battery layout. The most stored energy on this list, and the weight that comes with it.

11.84 watt-hours is 3.6 times the Swift LT's tank and 1.4 times the Swift RL's. That is the entire reason to carry 145 g on your head.

The rear battery is not styling. It moves sixty-odd grams off the front of your skull, which is why the NAO does not bounce on a descent the way a front-heavy lamp does.

It charges a phone. On a hundred-miler that is a second reason to carry it.

What works

  • The most stored energy in this roundup, by a wide margin
  • Weight split front and rear, so it stays put on rough ground
  • Swappable spare pack turns a battery change into a 20-second job at an aid station

What does not

  • 145 g is 53 g more than a Swift RL for the same reactive technology
  • No published beam distance or IP rating on the page we read
  • The most expensive headlamp here

Skip this ifyour longest night is under five hours. You would be carrying a battery for a duration you never reach.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published(Not stated on the page we read)
Runtime
5 h minimum in reactive mode at the standard levelPetzl NAO RL — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Battery
3,200 mAh / 3.7 V / 11.84 Wh Li-ion, USB-C, doubles as a power bankPetzl NAO RL — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
not published(Not stated on the page we read)
$149.00 - Check price on Amazon

$199.95 · 25% off

#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Fenix HM75R

Pick 7 · All-shift work lighting

Fenix HM75R

Two cells in a rear case feeding a 1,600-lumen head. Heavy at 321 g, and the only lamp here that will genuinely run a full night shift on high-ish output.

3,400 mAh at 3.6 V plus 5,000 mAh at 3.6 V is 30.2 watt-hours. That is 2.5 times a Petzl NAO RL and roughly ten times a Swift LT, which is the single reason to accept 321 grams.

It also discharges over USB-C, so on a jobsite it is a headlamp and a phone charger. That is a genuine second function rather than a spec-sheet bullet.

The 170 g figure without the rear case matters: you can leave the power bank behind on a short job and carry a normal-weight lamp.

What works

  • 30.2 Wh of stored energy, by far the most on the site
  • Rear case detaches, so the lamp has a light configuration and a long configuration
  • USB-C output charges a phone from the same cells

What does not

  • 321 g complete is heavy enough to notice within an hour
  • No published beam distance or IP rating on the pages we read
  • The two-cell arrangement means two things to keep charged

Skip this ifyou are not working a full shift. For recreation it is 200 g of battery you will never flatten.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published(Not stated on the page we read)
Runtime
234 h floodlight / 365 h redMaximum, lowest modesFenix HM75R — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Battery
One 18650 (3,400 mAh) plus one 21700 (5,000 mAh) in a rear battery caseFenix HM75R — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Weight
321 g (11.32 oz) complete; 170 g without the rear power bankFenix HM75R — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
not published(Not stated on the page we read)
$169.95 - Check price on Amazon

#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Petzl Swift RL

Pick 8 · Trail running and fast movement at night

Petzl Swift RL

The best power-to-weight figure we could source: 1,200 lumens and 168 m from 92 grams, with reactive dimming that genuinely extends the burn.

8.47 watt-hours across 92 grams is the whole argument. That works out to 13.0 lumens per gram at peak and 0.092 Wh of stored energy per gram carried, the best combination of the two figures in this roundup.

Reactive lighting is the runtime strategy, not a gimmick. The lamp meters reflected light and cuts output when you look at your own hands or a pale trail. Petzl's 7-hour minimum at medium is quoted in that mode, and it is the number to plan around.

168 m of throw is more than a runner can use below about 8 minutes per kilometer. What you actually notice is how little the beam sags once the pack drops under half.

What works

  • 1,200 lm and 168 m at 92 g, the best power-to-weight in this set on published figures
  • Reactive dimming extends the burn instead of just cutting output in bright patches
  • Five-level charge gauge, so you know what you have before you start

What does not

  • IPX4, in a category where running in rain is the normal case
  • Charging cable not included at this price
  • Reactive mode takes a few outings to trust

Skip this ifyou mostly walk. You are paying for a reactive sensor and a 2,250 mAh pack to solve a problem hikers do not have.

Questions people actually ask

Is Petzl or Fenix better for headlamps?

They are the two best-documented brands we cover, so it comes down to trade-offs. Fenix holds more energy at every tier, publishes IP68 waterproofing and runs on standard removable cells. Petzl is lighter at every tier, publishes beam distance on more lamps and offers reactive lighting. Wet conditions favor Fenix; weight-conscious use favors Petzl.

Which is more waterproof, Petzl or Fenix?

Fenix, clearly. It publishes IP68 on the HM65R-T, which is dust-tight and rated for continuous immersion, and IP66 on the HL18R-T. Petzl publishes IPX4 across its whole range, which covers splashing and rain but not submersion.

Why does the 1,200-lumen Petzl reach as far as the 1,600-lumen Fenix?

Because reach depends on beam intensity, not output. The Swift RL's 168 m works back to 7,056 candela, or 5.9 candela per lumen; the HM65R-T's 170 m is 7,225 candela, or 4.5 per lumen. The Petzl concentrates more of each lumen, so it matches the reach with a third less light.

Which headlamp has the longest battery life?

The Fenix HM75R, which carries an 18650 and a 21700 at once for a computed 30.2 watt-hours — the largest energy store on this site — and publishes 234 hours on floodlight. The cost is weight: 321 g complete, against 92 g for the Petzl Swift RL.

Can you use regular batteries in these headlamps?

In several. The Fenix HM65R-T takes two CR123A primaries as well as its 18650, and the HL18R-T takes three AAA. The Petzl Tikka and Tikkina take three AAA or the CORE pack. Note that Fenix states a CR123A caps the HM50R at 130 lumens, which is the kind of caveat worth knowing before you rely on it.

What is the lightest headlamp from either brand?

The Petzl Swift LT at a published 43 g, which is the lightest figure anywhere on this site. The lightest Fenix we cover is the HM50R at 78 g, which is nearly double — though it does publish 700 lumens against the Swift LT's 380.

Does Petzl's reactive lighting actually help?

It is why Petzl can publish a 7-hour minimum at medium on the Swift RL rather than a maximum on its lowest setting. The lamp reads reflected light and dims when you look at something close, so it spends full output only when you are looking into the distance. Whether that is worth the price depends on whether you move at night.

Sources

Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.

A headlamp resting on outdoor gear at dusk

Petzl vs Black Diamond

Petzl against Black Diamond on published beam distance, runtime, battery energy and weight, with three matched pairs at the prices people actually shop.

Two lights compared on a dark surface

Nitecore vs Fenix

Nitecore against Fenix: output per dollar against specification completeness, across headlamps and handhelds.

Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.