Compare
Nitecore vs Fenix
The most direct competitors in this set. Nitecore usually publishes the bigger number; Fenix usually publishes more numbers.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Output | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No image Fenix HM65R-T V2.0Top pick1,600 lumens and 170 m from a magnesium body running a standard 18650, at 140 g. The removable cell is what separates it from the sealed-pack lamps. | Long nights where you want reach and a spare cell | 1,600 lm | Check price#ad |
| 2 | No image Nitecore HC65 UHE2,000 lumens in a heavy-duty metal body with white, red and reading lights. Built like a work light, worn like a headlamp. | A metal-bodied headlamp that takes abuse | 2,000 lm | Check price#ad |
| 3 | No image Fenix PD36R Pro2,800 lumens from a 21700 cell holding 18 watt-hours, at 169 grams. The biggest energy store in the tactical set. | The most output and energy in a tactical body | 2,800 lm | Check price#ad |
| 4 | No image Nitecore P30i2,000 lumens and 1,000 m of stated throw. The furthest-reaching light on the site, and a genuinely specialized one. | Maximum distance | 2,000 lm | Check price#ad |
| 5 | No image Nitecore NU431,400 lumens with a spotlight and floodlight pair, USB-C, and a price well under the European brands. | Bright output at low weight for the money | 1,400 lm | Check price#ad |
| 6 | No image Fenix HL18R-T V2.0103 g, 800 lumens, and an AAA fallback. The cheapest lamp here that is genuinely built for running rather than adapted to it. | Trail running on a budget | 800 lm | Check price#ad |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

These two compete more directly than any other pair on this site. Similar prices, similar categories, similar enthusiast reputations. The decision comes down to a preference between more output and more information.
Output, head to head
| Category | Nitecore | Fenix | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|
| Work headlamp | HC75 UHE, 3,000 lm, 192 m | HM75R, 1,600 lm | Nitecore |
| General headlamp | NU43, 1,400 lm | HM65R-T V2.0, 1,600 lm, 170 m | Fenix |
| Metal headlamp | HC65 UHE, 2,000 lm | HM65R-T V2.0, 1,600 lm | Nitecore |
| Tactical handheld | P20iX, 4,000 lm | PD36R Pro, 2,800 lm, 380 m | Nitecore |
| Thrower | P30i, 2,000 lm, 1,000 m | not in our set | Nitecore |
Nitecore wins the output comparison in four of five categories. That is consistent with its market position and it is a real advantage if peak output is what you want.
Disclosure, head to head
| Fenix | Nitecore | |
|---|---|---|
| Peak output | Yes | Yes |
| Battery capacity | Yes — 3,400 mAh, 5,000 mAh, 1,900 mAh, 800 mAh | No |
| Weight | Yes — 140 g, 103 g, 78 g, 169 g | No |
| Beam distance | Sometimes | Sometimes |
| Runtime | Maximum, plus per-mode tables on its own site | No |
| IP rating | Sometimes — IP68, IP66 | No |
This is the reverse of the output table, and it is decisive for how we rank them. Fenix publishing battery capacity means a reader can compute watt-hours and therefore a real runtime. Nitecore not publishing it means nobody can.
Cell strategy
Fenix builds around standard replaceable cells across most of the range. Nitecore uses more built-in cells, particularly on its headlamps, which are lighter and simpler and give the light a finite lifespan.
Nitecore's handhelds do generally take standard 18650 and 21700 cells, so this is more of a headlamp distinction than a brand-wide one.
Which to buy
- A headlamp you rely on — Fenix. The HM65R-T V2.0 publishes IP68, 170 m, 140 g and a standard 18650, which is the most complete headlamp specification in our set.
- Maximum reach — Nitecore. The P30i's published 1,000 meters has no Fenix equivalent here.
- Ultralight backpacking — Nitecore, on reputation, with the caveat that it publishes no weight, which is an odd gap on a light marketed as ultralight.
- Anything where runtime matters — Fenix, because you can compute it.
- Most output per dollar — Nitecore, consistently.
The summary
Nitecore is the better buy if you want the biggest number for the money and are content to take it on trust. Fenix is the better buy if you want to know what you are getting.
On this site the second consideration wins, which is why Fenix products lead more of our roundups. That is a stated bias rather than a hidden one, and it follows directly from what the site is for.
The picks, in full
image
Top pick · Long nights where you want reach and a spare cell
Fenix HM65R-T V2.0
1,600 lumens and 170 m from a magnesium body running a standard 18650, at 140 g. The removable cell is what separates it from the sealed-pack lamps.
A 3,400 mAh 18650 at a nominal 3.6 V is 12.2 watt-hours. That is more energy than a Petzl NAO RL carries, in a lamp 5 g lighter, because a bare 18650 is a more efficient package than a molded pack.
It is also the only headlamp in this set whose battery you can replace at a checkpoint for three dollars, because 18650 is a standard cell and not a proprietary brick.
IP68 rather than IPX4 is the second real difference. This one survives being dropped in water; most of the running lamps here do not.
What works
- Standard 18650 cell: swappable, cheap, and available everywhere
- IP68 and 2 m impact rating, the toughest specification in this roundup
- Dual emitters, one white and one warm white, so it works for close tasks as well as reach
What does not
- 140 g is at the heavy end for a running lamp
- Charging works only with Fenix ARB-L18 series cells, which limits the swap-any-18650 advantage
- No published candela figure
Skip this ifyou count grams. A Swift LT does the camp job at 43 g; you are carrying 97 g extra for reach and a removable cell.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published(Fenix publishes distance, not peak intensity)
- Runtime
- 300 h maximumLowest mode. The turbo figure is far shorter and Fenix publishes it per-mode.Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 3,400 mAh 18650 Li-ion (included), or 2 x CR123AFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 140 g (4.94 oz)Including battery and headbandFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IP68Dust tight and immersion rated; 2 m impact resistanceFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 2 · A metal-bodied headlamp that takes abuse
Nitecore HC65 UHE
2,000 lumens in a heavy-duty metal body with white, red and reading lights. Built like a work light, worn like a headlamp.
A metal body is the reason to buy this rather than the NU43. Plastic headlamps survive drops; metal ones survive being stepped on in a truck bed.
Three emitters — white, red and a dedicated reading light — is more useful than it sounds. The reading light is a low, wide, close-range flood, which is the mode people actually leave on.
As with the rest of the Nitecore range, we could only reach the brand's retail listing, so the spec table stops at the two figures it states.
What works
- Metal construction in a category dominated by polymer
- White, red and reading emitters
- 2,000-lumen headline for a mid-range price
What does not
- Heavier than any polymer lamp here, though we cannot give you the number
- No sourced runtime or beam distance
- Metal conducts heat, so turbo will get warm against your forehead
Skip this ifyou want it for running. The mass that makes it durable is the mass that makes it bounce.
Published specification
- Output
- 2,000 lmMaximumNitecore HC65 UHE — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- USB-C rechargeableNitecore HC65 UHE — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published(Metal body; no figure in the listing we read)
- Ingress
- not published
image
Pick 3 · The most output and energy in a tactical body
Fenix PD36R Pro
2,800 lumens from a 21700 cell holding 18 watt-hours, at 169 grams. The biggest energy store in the tactical set.
A 5,000 mAh 21700 at 3.6 V is 18.0 watt-hours — nearly three times what the ProTac HL-X carries. That is the case for the 21700 format in one number.
380 m of reach on 2,800 lumens works back to about 36,100 candela, almost identical to the ProTac's 35,000 from 1,300 lumens. The Fenix is spending its extra output on spill, not on distance.
169 g including the cell is only 7 g more than a ProTac on CR123A, for nearly triple the energy. That is what four years of cell development buys.
What works
- 18 Wh of stored energy, the most in the tactical set
- 2,800 lumens with 380 m of published reach
- Standard 21700 cell, USB-C on the light
What does not
- No published IP rating on the page we read
- No published candela, so the throw figure cannot be cross-checked
- 2,800 lumens will step down quickly in a body this size
Skip this ifyou need a shelf-stable light. A rechargeable cell self-discharges; for a drawer light, CR123A primaries are the right answer.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 380 mListed as a 416-yard beam; converted to metersFenix PD36R Pro (416-yard beam) — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 42 h maximumLowest mode; Fenix publishes the full per-mode tableFenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 5,000 mAh 21700 Li-ion (included), USB-CFenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 169 g (5.96 oz)Including batteryFenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
image
Pick 4 · Maximum distance
Nitecore P30i
2,000 lumens and 1,000 m of stated throw. The furthest-reaching light on the site, and a genuinely specialized one.
1,000 m implies 250,000 candela. That is seven times the ProTac HL-X's intensity from 1.5 times the lumens, and it is only achievable with a large, deep reflector.
A beam this tight is close to useless for anything within ten meters. It is a search-and-identify tool for open country.
21700 is the right cell for it — a beam this intense needs current, and an 18650 would sag.
What works
- 1,000 m of published throw
- 21700 cell with USB-C
- The specialist tool the category actually needs, rather than another 3,000-lumen flood
What does not
- No sourced runtime, candela or IP rating
- The head diameter that buys the throw makes it awkward to carry
- Almost no usable spill
Skip this ifyou want one light for everything. This one does distance and does nothing else well.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 1,000 mListed as a 1,093-yard beam; converted to metersNitecore P30i — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- 21700, USB-C rechargeableNitecore P30i — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
image
Pick 5 · Bright output at low weight for the money
Nitecore NU43
1,400 lumens with a spotlight and floodlight pair, USB-C, and a price well under the European brands.
1,400 lumens at this price is the whole pitch, and it is a real pitch: nothing from Petzl at the same money publishes a number that high.
A spot and a flood emitter together is the right architecture for a general-purpose lamp. One beam shape never covers both map-reading and trail-finding.
Everything except output and charging is unpublished in the source we could reach, which is why this sits below the Fenix and Petzl picks despite the bigger headline.
What works
- The highest published output per dollar in this roundup
- Separate spot and flood emitters
- USB-C
What does not
- No sourced runtime, weight, beam distance or IP rating
- A 1,400-lumen headline on an unstated battery tells you nothing about how long it holds
- Built-in cell
Skip this ifthe runtime matters more than the peak. Without a published runtime table you cannot plan a night around it, and we will not estimate one for you.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- USB-C rechargeableNitecore NU43 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
image
Pick 6 · Trail running on a budget
Fenix HL18R-T V2.0
103 g, 800 lumens, and an AAA fallback. The cheapest lamp here that is genuinely built for running rather than adapted to it.
1,900 mAh at 3.7 V is about 7.0 watt-hours. That is 83 percent of a Swift RL's tank in a lamp 11 g lighter and considerably cheaper.
The AAA fallback is unusual at this weight and it is the reason to pick this over a sealed running lamp: a flat pack at 2 a.m. is a battery change rather than the end of the night.
IP66 is a step up from the IPX4 that most running lamps ship with. It will not survive immersion, but it will survive a downpour.
What works
- 103 g with three AAA cells as a backup power source
- IP66, better than most of the running field
- A warm-white emitter alongside the cool white, which helps in fog and dust
What does not
- Fenix does not publish a beam distance for it on the pages we read
- The 800-lumen turbo is a short burst, not a setting you can run in
- Proprietary ARB-LP1900 pack for the rechargeable option
Skip this ifyou need to identify things at distance. Without a published beam distance we cannot tell you how far it reaches, and the aperture suggests it is not far.
Published specification
- Output
- 800 lmFenix HL18R-T V2.0 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published(Not stated on the pages we read)
- Runtime
- 160 h maximumLowest modeFenix HL18R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 1,900 mAh Li-ion pack (included), or 3 x AAAFenix HL18R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 103 g (3.63 oz)Including battery and headbandFenix HL18R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IP66Dust tight, withstands heavy rain and splashes; 1 m impact resistanceFenix HL18R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Questions people actually ask
Is Nitecore better than Fenix?
Nitecore usually publishes a higher output figure for the money. Fenix publishes battery capacity, weight and often an IP rating, which lets you compute a real runtime. Which is better depends on whether you want more light or more information.
Which brand has better battery life?
Fenix, in the sense that you can find out. It publishes cell capacities — 3,400 mAh, 5,000 mAh, 1,900 mAh — from which watt-hours and runtime follow. Nitecore does not publish capacity for the lights we cover, so nobody can compute it.
Are Nitecore headlamps replaceable-cell or built-in?
Mostly built-in on the headlamps we cover, which is lighter and simpler and gives the lamp a finite life. Its handhelds generally take standard 18650 and 21700 cells, so this is more a headlamp distinction than a brand-wide one.
Which brand throws further?
Nitecore, in our set: the P30i publishes 1,000 meters, which works back to about 250,000 candela. The Fenix PD36R Pro's 380 meters is a far wider beam despite comparable output.
Is the Nitecore NU25 still worth buying?
It remains a sensible ultralight choice and the multiple-color-temperature version is genuinely useful. The caveat is that Nitecore publishes no weight, runtime or beam distance we could source, which is a real gap on a lamp sold on being ultralight.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Fenix PD36R Pro — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- ANSI/PLATO FL 1 flashlight performance standard — definitions of lumens, peak beam intensity, beam distance, runtime, impact and water resistance
- IEC 60529 — the IP (ingress protection) rating system
Read next

Flashlight brand comparisons
Brand-against-brand comparisons on published figures and disclosure quality, not on reputation.

Olight vs Fenix
Olight against Fenix on disclosure, charging and cell strategy across the lights we cover.

Nitecore vs Olight
Nitecore against Olight on output per dollar, charging ecosystem, and the specifications neither publishes.

Best headlamps, ranked on the watt-hours behind the lumens
The full headlamp ranking: output, weight, battery energy and beam distance, every figure sourced to the maker.

Flashlight runtime, computed
How runtime is defined, why thermal step-down happens, and the arithmetic to compute a real figure yourself.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.