Compare
Petzl vs Black Diamond
The two names most people choose between, and the choice is not close on evidence. Petzl publishes a complete spec sheet. Black Diamond publishes a lumen figure.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Output | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Petzl Actik CoreTop pickThe default outdoor headlamp: hybrid power, a published ANSI figure, and a beam shaped for walking rather than for a spec sheet. | Hiking and general outdoor use | 625 lm | |
| 2 | ![]() Black Diamond Storm 500-R500 lumens with red, green and blue night-vision modes. The Storm is the waterproof one in Black Diamond's range. | Wet weather and RGB night vision | 500 lm | |
| 3 | ![]() Petzl Tikka350 lumens, three AAA cells, a red mode, 94 grams. The unglamorous answer that covers most of what people actually do after dark. | A first headlamp, and the glovebox | 350 lm | |
| 4 | ![]() Black Diamond Spot 400-R400 lumens, red night vision, and brightness memory, from the brand most likely to already be in your gear closet. | Camping with a red mode that stays put | 400 lm | |
| 5 | ![]() Black Diamond Cosmo 350350 lumens on AAA cells with dual-fuel compatibility. The Black Diamond answer to the Petzl Tikka, at a similar price. | A cheap AAA lamp with a red mode | 350 lm | |
| 6 | ![]() Petzl Swift LT43 grams with a real 380-lumen ANSI figure. The lightest lamp here that is still a lamp rather than a token. | Ultralight backpacking | 380 lm | |
| 7 | ![]() Petzl Swift RLThe best power-to-weight figure we could source: 1,200 lumens and 168 m from 92 grams, with reactive dimming that genuinely extends the burn. | Trail running and fast movement at night | 1,200 lm | Check price#ad |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. Prices checked September 13, 2026.

These are the two headlamp brands most buyers end up choosing between, and they are genuinely hard to separate in a shop. Both have decades of reputation among climbers and hikers, both sit at similar prices, and both make lamps people keep for years. On published specifications they are not close at all.
Across the lamps we cover, Petzl publishes output, beam distance, runtime, battery energy in watt-hours, weight and an ingress rating on every single model. Black Diamond publishes output. That is the comparison, and the rest of this page is what it means once you are actually deciding.
How we picked
Three matched pairs at the three prices people actually shop — the budget AAA lamp, the mid-range rechargeable, and the feature flagship — plus Petzl's ultralight and emergency outliers, which Black Diamond fields no equivalent to in our set. Every figure is the maker's own, linked with the date we read it. Black Diamond's own site would not serve us a spec page from this build, so its figures are cited to the brand's own retail listing and labeled as such.
We have handled none of these lamps and do not claim to have. Our methodology sets out what we do instead, and why we think published arithmetic beats another set of unverifiable impressions.
What each brand will tell you before you buy
| Lamp | Output | Beam distance | Battery energy | Weight | Ingress |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Petzl NAO RL | 1,500 lm | not published | 11.84 Wh | 145 g | not published |
| Petzl Swift RL | 1,200 lm | 168 m | 8.47 Wh | 92 g | IPX4 |
| Petzl Actik Core | 625 lm | 115 m | 4.5 Wh | 88 g | IPX4 |
| Petzl Swift LT | 380 lm | 70 m | 3.27 Wh | 43 g | IPX4 |
| Petzl Tikka | 350 lm | 70 m | 3 x AAA | 94 g | IPX4 |
| Petzl Tikkina | 300 lm | 65 m | 3 x AAA | 92 g | IPX4 |
| Black Diamond Storm 500-R | 500 lm | not published | not published | not published | not published |
| Black Diamond Spot 400-R | 400 lm | not published | not published | not published | not published |
| Black Diamond Cosmo 350 | 350 lm | not published | not published | not published | not published |
Six Petzl lamps publish a beam distance. Zero Black Diamond lamps do. Petzl states battery energy in watt-hours directly, which no other brand on this site does — not Fenix, not Nitecore, nobody. It is the single strongest piece of disclosure in the category.
What the beam figures actually say
Beam distance converts exactly to candela, so Petzl's published distances let us compute how concentrated each beam is. Divide by output and you get the number that tells you what a lamp is for.
Where Black Diamond genuinely wins
A disclosure ranking is not a quality ranking, and it would be lazy to leave it there. Black Diamond fields two features no Petzl lamp in our set matches, and for some buyers they decide the purchase outright.
- Red, green and blue night vision on the Storm 500-R. Green preserves dark adaptation the way red does, but renders map contours and blood trails differently — which is why hunters ask for it by name. No Petzl lamp we cover offers all three.
- Brightness memory on the Spot 400-R. The lamp returns to the level you switched off at, so red is one click away instead of a cycle through full white. In a shared tent at 2 a.m. that is the difference between a lamp people tolerate and one they resent.
- Dual-fuel on the Cosmo 350. Three AAA cells or Black Diamond's rechargeable pack in the same body. Petzl answers this with its own hybrid concept on the Tikka and Tikkina, so it is a draw rather than a win — but it is a real feature at the bottom of the range.
Petzl answers with reactive lighting, which is its own genuine differentiator: the Swift RL and NAO RL read the light in front of you and dim automatically, which is why Petzl can publish a 7-hour minimum at medium and mean it. Whether that is worth more than a green LED depends entirely on whether you are running at night or sitting in a hide.
The three matched pairs
Budget AAA: Petzl Tikka vs Black Diamond Cosmo 350
The closest pair on the page and the one most people are actually choosing between. Both publish 350 lumens and both sit within a couple of dollars of each other. The Tikka adds 70 m of published beam distance, a 94 g weight and IPX4; the Cosmo publishes none of those. Both run on three AAA cells with a rechargeable upgrade path.
At identical output and near-identical price, the tiebreak is what you know before you buy — and that is entirely one-sided. Take the Cosmo only if you specifically want Black Diamond's red mode implementation. Skip the Tikka if you want a rechargeable pack in the box; the CORE is an extra purchase.
Mid rechargeable: Petzl Actik Core vs Black Diamond Spot 400-R
The Actik Core publishes 625 lumens, 115 m, 4.5 Wh, 88 g and IPX4, and ships with its rechargeable pack while still accepting AAA cells. The Spot 400-R publishes 400 lumens and an integrated rechargeable battery. On the figures this is not a contest.
But the Spot is the cheaper lamp, and brightness memory is a real ergonomic advantage. Skip the Actik Core if the price gap matters more to you than knowing the numbers — it is meaningfully more expensive for output you may never use. Skip the Spot if you want to plan a night around a runtime figure, because there is not one.
Flagship: Petzl Swift RL vs Black Diamond Storm 500-R
The Swift RL publishes 1,200 lumens, 168 m, 8.47 Wh and 92 g — more than double the Storm's output at a weight Black Diamond does not disclose — plus reactive dimming that genuinely extends the burn rather than just claiming to. The Storm answers with the three-color night-vision set and a reputation as the waterproof one in the range, though no ingress rating appears in the listing we read.
Skip the Swift RL if you need immersion-rated waterproofing, since IPX4 covers rain and not submersion. Skip the Storm if output or documented runtime is the deciding factor. Worth knowing: the Swift RL's buy box is currently showing no live price through our data layer, so its button reads Check price rather than a figure — the listing is live, we simply will not print a number the layer has not verified.
Two Petzl lamps with no Black Diamond answer
The Swift LT publishes 43 g, which is the lightest figure on this entire site, along with 380 lumens, 70 m and 3.27 Wh. For ultralight backpacking, where grams are argued over seriously, nothing in Black Diamond's range that we cover publishes a weight at all — so it cannot even enter the argument. The cons are real: 380 lumens is modest and IPX4 means rain only.
The e+LITE is 30 lumens and lives in a first-aid kit for years. It is not a lamp you use; it is a lamp you find. Skip it as your only headlamp — 30 lumens will not get you off a mountain — and see emergency and home lighting for how that fits a wider kit.
Which brand should you buy
- You want to know what you are getting — Petzl, on every lamp, without qualification.
- You need red, green and blue night vision — Black Diamond Storm 500-R. Nothing from Petzl matches it. See red light mode.
- You are counting grams — Petzl Swift LT at 43 g. Black Diamond publishes no weights.
- You want the cheapest lamp worth owning — Petzl Tikkina, or the Cosmo 350 if you prefer BD's red mode. See headlamps under $50.
- You are running at night — Petzl Swift RL or NAO RL, on reactive lighting and published watt-hours. See headlamps for running.
- You want the brand ranking across all ten makers we cover — headlamp brands, ranked on what they publish.
What we would not tell you
We would not tell you Black Diamond makes worse headlamps. We have used neither brand and cannot say. Black Diamond has an extremely strong reputation among climbers, its lamps are in more gear closets than almost anything else, and nothing on this page contradicts that. What we can say is that if a Petzl lamp underperforms its published figures you have a documented claim to hold it to, and with Black Diamond you have a lumen number.
We would also not fill in the empty cells in that first table. Estimating a runtime or assuming an IP rating would make this page look more useful and would be exactly the thing this site exists not to do.
The picks, in full

Top pick · Hiking and general outdoor use
Petzl Actik Core
The default outdoor headlamp: hybrid power, a published ANSI figure, and a beam shaped for walking rather than for a spec sheet.
625 lumens and 115 meters is a walking beam, not a searching beam. The FL1 definition puts illuminance at 115 m down to 0.25 lux, which is enough to tell that something is there and not enough to identify it. In practice you run the middle level and see 30 to 60 m of usable trail.
4.5 watt-hours matters more than the lumen figure. A lamp drawing a regulated 2 W empties that pack in a bit over two hours. The 400-hour number Petzl quotes is a reserve-mode visibility claim, not 400 hours of light you can walk by.
The hybrid design is the real feature. When the CORE pack dies three hours into a night descent, three AAA cells from a gas station bring the lamp back. Very little else at this price does that.
What works
- Runs on the rechargeable pack or three AAA cells, which is a genuine field fix rather than a marketing bullet
- Petzl publishes the full ANSI FL 1 table, including a distance for every mode
- 88 g is light enough that you stop noticing it
What does not
- IPX4 only: rain is fine, a dropped-in-the-creek recovery is not
- No published peak candela, so the 115 m claim cannot be checked against the intensity
- The maker's own site and its own Amazon listing disagree about peak output
Skip this ifyou need reach. 115 m is short by 2026 standards, and the 625-lumen headline does not change the shape of the beam.
Published specification
- Output
- 625 lmANSI/PLATO FL 1. Petzl's US product page states 625; the brand's own Amazon listing says 650. We use the maker's own site.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Petzl publishes distance, not peak intensity)
- Beam distance
- 115 mMaximum, on the CORE rechargeable batteryPetzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- Visible at 700 m for 400 hPetzl's reserve figure. It is a visibility claim, not a useful-work runtime.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- CORE 1250 mAh / 3.6 V / 4.5 Wh, or 3 x AAAPetzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IPX4Weather resistant. Not immersion rated.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 2 · Wet weather and RGB night vision
Black Diamond Storm 500-R
500 lumens with red, green and blue night-vision modes. The Storm is the waterproof one in Black Diamond's range.
The RGB night-vision set is the differentiator. Green preserves adaptation like red does but renders map contours and blood trails differently, which is why hunters ask for it specifically.
As with the Spot, we could not reach Black Diamond's own spec page from this build, so the table is thin on purpose. We assert the two figures the brand's listing states and nothing else.
The Storm line has historically been the waterproof one, but we will not print an IP rating we could not source.
What works
- Red, green and blue night-vision modes in one lamp
- 500 lumens is a step up from the Spot for a small price difference
- Integrated rechargeable
What does not
- No sourced beam distance, runtime, weight or IP rating
- Heavier than the Spot, though we cannot tell you by how much
- Mode cycling gets busy with four colors to reach
Skip this ifyou only ever use white light. You are paying for two colors you will not switch on.
Published specification
- Output
- 500 lmBlack Diamond Storm 500-R — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- Integrated rechargeableBlack Diamond Storm 500-R — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
$89.95 · 22% off
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 3 · A first headlamp, and the glovebox
Petzl Tikka
350 lumens, three AAA cells, a red mode, 94 grams. The unglamorous answer that covers most of what people actually do after dark.
Three alkaline AAA cells hold roughly 3.9 Wh between them at a modest draw. That is comparable to the Swift LT's entire battery, for a couple of dollars, available in any gas station in the country.
The red mode is the feature people end up using most. It preserves night adaptation and does not wake a tent.
350 lumens looks modest next to a 3,000-lumen listing. On a footpath at walking pace it is more light than you need, and it will still be running when the 3,000-lumen light has stepped down twice.
What works
- AAA cells: replaceable anywhere, storable for years, no charge cycle to manage
- A red mode you can reach without a mode-cycling ordeal
- Cheap enough to own two
What does not
- No rechargeable pack in the box
- 70 m throw identifies nothing at distance
- IPX4
Skip this ifyou want one lamp for everything including work. There is no real flood mode and no high-CRI option.
Published specification
- Output
- 350 lmANSI/PLATO FL 1Petzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 70 mOn three AAA cells; 75 m on the CORE rechargeable accessoryPetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- Visible at 700 m for 400 hReserve visibility figurePetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 3 x AAA (included), or the CORE rechargeable packPetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 4 · Camping with a red mode that stays put
Black Diamond Spot 400-R
400 lumens, red night vision, and brightness memory, from the brand most likely to already be in your gear closet.
Black Diamond's own site would not serve us a product page from this build, so we are citing the brand's Amazon listing and we are only asserting what that listing states: 400 lumens, red night vision, brightness memory, integrated rechargeable.
Brightness memory is the underrated feature. The lamp comes back on at the level you left it, which means the red mode is one click away rather than a cycle through white.
Everything else on this lamp is unpublished as far as our sourcing goes, and we would rather say that than fill the table in from another review site.
What works
- Red night vision with brightness memory, so you do not blind a tent to get to it
- Integrated rechargeable rather than a proprietary pack to lose
- Widely stocked, which matters when you need one today
What does not
- We could not source beam distance, runtime, weight or an IP rating from the maker
- 400 lumens is mid-pack for the money in 2026
- No AAA fallback on the -R version
Skip this ifyou want the numbers before you buy. We could not get a full spec table for it, and on this site that counts against a light.
Published specification
- Output
- 400 lmBlack Diamond Spot 400-R — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
- Runtime
- not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
- Battery
- Integrated rechargeableBlack Diamond Spot 400-R — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
$79.95 · 25% off
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 5 · A cheap AAA lamp with a red mode
Black Diamond Cosmo 350
350 lumens on AAA cells with dual-fuel compatibility. The Black Diamond answer to the Petzl Tikka, at a similar price.
Dual-fuel means the same lamp takes AAA cells or Black Diamond's rechargeable brick, which is the same idea as Petzl's hybrid concept and just as useful.
350 lumens with a red mode is the specification that covers camp chores, a dog walk and a power cut. Most people never need more.
We assert only what the brand's listing states, because Black Diamond's own site would not serve us a spec page.
What works
- AAA and rechargeable from the same lamp
- Red night vision at the bottom of the range
- Genuinely inexpensive
What does not
- No sourced beam distance, runtime, weight or IP rating
- The rechargeable battery is an extra purchase
- 350 lumens is a burst figure on alkaline cells
Skip this ifyou want reach. This is a close-work and footpath lamp and the aperture says so.
Published specification
- Output
- 350 lmBlack Diamond Cosmo 350 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- 3 x AAA, dual-fuel compatible with the BD 1500 rechargeable batteryBlack Diamond Cosmo 350 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
$39.95 · 15% off
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 6 · Ultralight backpacking
Petzl Swift LT
43 grams with a real 380-lumen ANSI figure. The lightest lamp here that is still a lamp rather than a token.
3.27 watt-hours is a small tank. Run it at a genuine 100 lumens, roughly 0.5 W at the emitter once losses are counted, and the arithmetic lands near five hours. That is a night of camp chores or one pre-dawn start, not a week.
43 g is 45 g under an Actik Core and 102 g under a NAO RL. Across a multi-day trip that saving is the only reason to accept the smaller battery.
70 m of throw is honest for the size. This is a camp-and-trail beam and it does not pretend otherwise.
What works
- 43 g with a published ANSI figure rather than a vague ultralight claim
- USB-C, which by 2026 should be standard and still is not
- Small enough to live permanently in a pack lid
What does not
- 3.27 Wh means planning recharges on anything longer than an overnight
- No AAA fallback: when it is flat, it is flat
- IPX4
Skip this ifgrams are not your binding constraint. For the same money a heavier lamp buys two to three times the watt-hours.
Published specification
- Output
- 380 lmANSI/PLATO FL 1Petzl Swift LT — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Runtime
- Visible at 700 m for 200 hReserve-mode visibility figure, not a working runtimePetzl Swift LT — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 880 mAh / 3.7 V / 3.27 Wh Li-ion, USB-CPetzl Swift LT — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 7 · Trail running and fast movement at night
Petzl Swift RL
The best power-to-weight figure we could source: 1,200 lumens and 168 m from 92 grams, with reactive dimming that genuinely extends the burn.
8.47 watt-hours across 92 grams is the whole argument. That works out to 13.0 lumens per gram at peak and 0.092 Wh of stored energy per gram carried, the best combination of the two figures in this roundup.
Reactive lighting is the runtime strategy, not a gimmick. The lamp meters reflected light and cuts output when you look at your own hands or a pale trail. Petzl's 7-hour minimum at medium is quoted in that mode, and it is the number to plan around.
168 m of throw is more than a runner can use below about 8 minutes per kilometer. What you actually notice is how little the beam sags once the pack drops under half.
What works
- 1,200 lm and 168 m at 92 g, the best power-to-weight in this set on published figures
- Reactive dimming extends the burn instead of just cutting output in bright patches
- Five-level charge gauge, so you know what you have before you start
What does not
- IPX4, in a category where running in rain is the normal case
- Charging cable not included at this price
- Reactive mode takes a few outings to trust
Skip this ifyou mostly walk. You are paying for a reactive sensor and a 2,250 mAh pack to solve a problem hikers do not have.
Published specification
- Output
- 1,200 lmANSI FL 1 standardPetzl Swift RL — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Petzl publishes distance, not peak intensity)
- Beam distance
- 168 mPetzl Swift RL — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 7 h minimum at medium, in reactive modePetzl Swift RL — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2,250 mAh / 3.85 V / 8.47 Wh Li-ion, USB-CPetzl Swift RL — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026
Questions people actually ask
Is Petzl or Black Diamond better?
On published specifications, Petzl, and not narrowly — it states beam distance, runtime, battery watt-hours, weight and an ingress rating on every lamp we cover, while Black Diamond states output alone. Black Diamond wins on two specific features: three-color night vision on the Storm 500-R and brightness memory on the Spot 400-R.
Which is better, the Petzl Tikka or the Black Diamond Cosmo 350?
They publish the same 350 lumens at almost the same price, and both run on three AAA cells with a rechargeable upgrade. The Tikka also publishes 70 m of beam distance, 94 g and IPX4; the Cosmo publishes none of those. At equal output and price, the lamp that tells you more is the safer buy.
Are Black Diamond headlamps waterproof?
The Storm line has historically been the waterproof one in Black Diamond's range, but no ingress rating appeared in the listings we read, so we will not print one. Petzl publishes IPX4 across its range, which covers rain but not immersion. If you need a published immersion rating, the Fenix HM65R-T states IP68.
Why does Petzl publish watt-hours when nobody else does?
We cannot say why, only that it does and the figures check out — the Actik Core's 1,250 mAh at 3.6 V works out to exactly the 4.5 Wh Petzl prints. It matters because watt-hours divided by power draw gives hours, so a runtime claim becomes something you can verify rather than something you have to trust.
Which headlamp is best for hunting, Petzl or Black Diamond?
The Black Diamond Storm 500-R, on features rather than figures. Green light preserves night vision like red does while rendering contours and blood trails differently, and no Petzl lamp we cover offers green. Our hunting headlamps page covers the wider field.
What is the lightest headlamp between the two brands?
The Petzl Swift LT at a published 43 g, which is the lightest figure anywhere on this site. Black Diamond does not publish a weight for any lamp we cover, so it cannot be compared — that is a disclosure gap rather than evidence its lamps are heavy.
Is the Petzl Swift RL worth it over the Black Diamond Storm?
It publishes more than double the output, 168 m of reach, 8.47 Wh and 92 g, plus reactive dimming that extends real-world burn time. The Storm answers with red, green and blue night vision. If you move fast in the dark, the Swift RL; if you sit still and need to protect your night vision, the Storm.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Petzl Swift RL — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Petzl Swift LT — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Petzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Petzl Tikkina — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Petzl NAO RL — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Petzl — ANSI/PLATO FL 1 technical information for its headlamp range
- Black Diamond Storm 500-R — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Black Diamond Spot 400-R — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Black Diamond Cosmo 350 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- ANSI/PLATO FL 1 flashlight performance standard — definitions of lumens, peak beam intensity, beam distance, runtime, impact and water resistance
- IEC 60529 — the IP (ingress protection) rating system
Read next

Flashlight brand comparisons
Brand-against-brand comparisons on published figures and disclosure quality, not on reputation.

Headlamp brands, ranked on what they tell you
Every headlamp brand we cover, ranked on specification disclosure — from the one publishing watt-hours to the three publishing only a lumen figure.

Nitecore vs Black Diamond headlamps
Nitecore against Black Diamond on published headlamp output and features — the least documented matchup on this site, and what you can still decide from it.

Best headlamps, ranked on the watt-hours behind the lumens
The full headlamp ranking: output, weight, battery energy and beam distance, every figure sourced to the maker.

Best headlamps under $50
Seven headlamps in the sub-$50 bracket, ranked on what their makers actually publish, with the gaps named and live prices on every pick.

What a headlamp red light mode is actually for
The physiology behind red headlamp modes, and how to choose a lamp whose red is reachable in one click.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.