Skip to content
Beam & Bezel

Headlamps

Best headlamps for camping

The camping specification is a red mode you can reach in one click and cells you can replace. Output barely enters into it.

By Scooter M. · Published · Updated

Best headlamps for camping — ranked picks, with live prices
#ProductBest forOutput / weightPrice
1
No
image
Petzl TikkaTop pick350 lumens, three AAA cells, a red mode, 94 grams. The unglamorous answer that covers most of what people actually do after dark.
A first headlamp, and the glovebox350 lm / 94 g
2
No
image
Black Diamond Cosmo 350350 lumens on AAA cells with dual-fuel compatibility. The Black Diamond answer to the Petzl Tikka, at a similar price.
A cheap AAA lamp with a red mode350 lm
3
No
image
Petzl Actik CoreThe default outdoor headlamp: hybrid power, a published ANSI figure, and a beam shaped for walking rather than for a spec sheet.
Hiking and general outdoor use625 lm / 88 g
4
No
image
Princeton Tec Vizz550 lumens on three AAA cells with an IPX7 rating — immersion, not just rain. The only AAA lamp here rated for a dunking.
Getting wet550 lm
5
No
image
Petzl Tikkina300 lumens on AAA cells with a published ANSI figure. It does one thing and does not pretend to do more.
The cheapest lamp we would actually recommend300 lm / 92 g

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

A tent glowing from within at night in a forest
Licensed stock photograph, for illustration. It is not a photograph of any product on this page and we have not handled any of them.

Camping is the only headlamp category where we would actively steer you away from the bright end of the range. Around a camp, everything you need to see is within three meters, and a 1,000-lumen beam pointed at a tent at 9 p.m. makes you the least popular person on the site.

How we picked

Red-mode access first, then whether the cells are replaceable, then published runtime, then weight. Every figure is sourced and we have used none of these lamps ourselves — the methodology page explains the whole approach.

Red mode access is the whole specification

Almost every headlamp now has a red channel. What separates them is how you get to it. If red requires cycling through white, you have already blinded yourself and everybody around you before you arrive, which defeats the point entirely.

  • Best: a dedicated red button, or press-and-hold from off to enter red directly.
  • Acceptable: brightness memory, so the lamp comes back on in whatever mode you left it.
  • Bad: a single button that cycles low, medium, high, then red.

The Petzl Tikka and Actik Core both reach red from off without passing through white. The Black Diamond Cosmo 350 uses brightness memory. All three are usable in a shared tent; a cycling lamp is not.

Why AAA cells win at a campsite

Three alkaline AAA cells hold roughly 3.9 watt-hours between them at a low draw. That is more than a Petzl Swift LT's entire sealed battery, and when they run out you open a packet rather than find a socket.

Camping picks: power source and published runtime
LampCellsOutputPublished runtime
Petzl Tikka3 x AAA or CORE pack350 lmVisible at 700 m for 400 h
Black Diamond Cosmo 3503 x AAA or BD 1500350 lmnot published
Petzl Actik CoreCORE pack or 3 x AAA625 lmVisible at 700 m for 400 h
Princeton Tec Vizz3 x AAA550 lmUp to 90 h
Petzl Tikkina3 x AAA or CORE pack300 lmnot published

Princeton Tec is the only maker here publishing a runtime figure that means what a reader thinks it means. Petzl's 400-hour claim is a reserve-mode visibility figure — read the runtime guide before you plan a trip around it.

A lantern is better than a headlamp inside a tent

A headlamp produces a directional beam, which inside a tent means a bright oval on the fabric and hard shadows everywhere else. A small lantern at a fraction of the output makes the whole space usable. If you camp regularly, carrying both is a genuine upgrade — see flashlight versus lantern for the argument in full.

Cold nights and battery chemistry

Alkaline cells lose a substantial part of their usable capacity below freezing. Lithium AAA primaries barely notice it and weigh less, at roughly three times the price. For winter camping that is the right trade; for a summer weekend it is not.

What we would not buy for camping

Anything above about 600 lumens. You will never use it, it costs money and weight, and the cell that supports it is bigger than a campsite needs. We would also avoid sealed rechargeable lamps for camping specifically: a campsite is the environment least likely to have a socket and most likely to be cold, which is exactly where a Li-ion pack is at its weakest.

The picks, in full

No
image

Top pick · A first headlamp, and the glovebox

Petzl Tikka

350 lumens, three AAA cells, a red mode, 94 grams. The unglamorous answer that covers most of what people actually do after dark.

Three alkaline AAA cells hold roughly 3.9 Wh between them at a modest draw. That is comparable to the Swift LT's entire battery, for a couple of dollars, available in any gas station in the country.

The red mode is the feature people end up using most. It preserves night adaptation and does not wake a tent.

350 lumens looks modest next to a 3,000-lumen listing. On a footpath at walking pace it is more light than you need, and it will still be running when the 3,000-lumen light has stepped down twice.

What works

  • AAA cells: replaceable anywhere, storable for years, no charge cycle to manage
  • A red mode you can reach without a mode-cycling ordeal
  • Cheap enough to own two

What does not

  • No rechargeable pack in the box
  • 70 m throw identifies nothing at distance
  • IPX4

Skip this ifyou want one lamp for everything including work. There is no real flood mode and no high-CRI option.

No
image

Pick 2 · A cheap AAA lamp with a red mode

Black Diamond Cosmo 350

350 lumens on AAA cells with dual-fuel compatibility. The Black Diamond answer to the Petzl Tikka, at a similar price.

Dual-fuel means the same lamp takes AAA cells or Black Diamond's rechargeable brick, which is the same idea as Petzl's hybrid concept and just as useful.

350 lumens with a red mode is the specification that covers camp chores, a dog walk and a power cut. Most people never need more.

We assert only what the brand's listing states, because Black Diamond's own site would not serve us a spec page.

What works

  • AAA and rechargeable from the same lamp
  • Red night vision at the bottom of the range
  • Genuinely inexpensive

What does not

  • No sourced beam distance, runtime, weight or IP rating
  • The rechargeable battery is an extra purchase
  • 350 lumens is a burst figure on alkaline cells

Skip this ifyou want reach. This is a close-work and footpath lamp and the aperture says so.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published
Runtime
not published
Battery
3 x AAA, dual-fuel compatible with the BD 1500 rechargeable batteryBlack Diamond Cosmo 350 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Weight
not published
Ingress
not published
No
image

Pick 3 · Hiking and general outdoor use

Petzl Actik Core

The default outdoor headlamp: hybrid power, a published ANSI figure, and a beam shaped for walking rather than for a spec sheet.

625 lumens and 115 meters is a walking beam, not a searching beam. The FL1 definition puts illuminance at 115 m down to 0.25 lux, which is enough to tell that something is there and not enough to identify it. In practice you run the middle level and see 30 to 60 m of usable trail.

4.5 watt-hours matters more than the lumen figure. A lamp drawing a regulated 2 W empties that pack in a bit over two hours. The 400-hour number Petzl quotes is a reserve-mode visibility claim, not 400 hours of light you can walk by.

The hybrid design is the real feature. When the CORE pack dies three hours into a night descent, three AAA cells from a gas station bring the lamp back. Very little else at this price does that.

What works

  • Runs on the rechargeable pack or three AAA cells, which is a genuine field fix rather than a marketing bullet
  • Petzl publishes the full ANSI FL 1 table, including a distance for every mode
  • 88 g is light enough that you stop noticing it

What does not

  • IPX4 only: rain is fine, a dropped-in-the-creek recovery is not
  • No published peak candela, so the 115 m claim cannot be checked against the intensity
  • The maker's own site and its own Amazon listing disagree about peak output

Skip this ifyou need reach. 115 m is short by 2026 standards, and the 625-lumen headline does not change the shape of the beam.

Published specification

Output
625 lmANSI/PLATO FL 1. Petzl's US product page states 625; the brand's own Amazon listing says 650. We use the maker's own site.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Peak intensity
not published(Petzl publishes distance, not peak intensity)
Beam distance
115 mMaximum, on the CORE rechargeable batteryPetzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Runtime
Visible at 700 m for 400 hPetzl's reserve figure. It is a visibility claim, not a useful-work runtime.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Battery
CORE 1250 mAh / 3.6 V / 4.5 Wh, or 3 x AAAPetzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
IPX4Weather resistant. Not immersion rated.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
No
image

Pick 4 · Getting wet

Princeton Tec Vizz

550 lumens on three AAA cells with an IPX7 rating — immersion, not just rain. The only AAA lamp here rated for a dunking.

IPX7 on AAA cells is the specification that makes this interesting. Almost everything else in the AAA class is IPX4, which means rain and nothing more.

Three lithium AAA cells hold roughly 4.5 Wh and shrug off cold in a way alkalines do not. On this lamp that combination is worth more than another 500 lumens.

Princeton Tec publishes a full runtime spread rather than a single flattering maximum, which is the behavior we want to reward.

What works

  • IPX7 immersion rating on replaceable cells
  • A published runtime spread across modes and chemistries
  • Digital lockout, so it does not drain itself in a pack

What does not

  • No published beam distance or weight on the page we read
  • Bulkier than the modern rechargeable lamps
  • No rechargeable option

Skip this ifweight is your constraint. The AAA carriage that makes it robust also makes it bigger than the Li-ion competition.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published(Not stated on the page we read)
Runtime
Up to 90 hLowest mode. Princeton Tec publishes 12 h, 20 h, 32 h, 60.5 h, 75 h and 100 h figures across modes and battery types.Princeton Tec Vizz — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Weight
not published(Not stated on the page we read)
No
image

Pick 5 · The cheapest lamp we would actually recommend

Petzl Tikkina

300 lumens on AAA cells with a published ANSI figure. It does one thing and does not pretend to do more.

No red mode, no reactive sensor, no charge port. Three brightness levels and a battery door.

The 65 m distance and the 300-lumen output are both ANSI FL 1 figures published alongside the rest of Petzl's table, which is more than most lamps at this price manage.

For a kit bag, a car, or a first lamp for someone unsure they will use it, this is the honest recommendation.

What works

  • Published ANSI figures at the bottom of the price range
  • Nothing to break and nothing to charge
  • Takes the same CORE pack as the rest of the Petzl range if you upgrade

What does not

  • No red mode
  • No rechargeable option in the box
  • IPX4

Skip this ifyou are out after dark regularly. The missing red mode gets old fast in a shared tent.

Questions people actually ask

How many lumens do I need for camping?

100 to 200 lumens covers everything a campsite needs, and a red channel at 5 to 15 lumens covers most of what you do after dark. Buying above 600 lumens for camping is buying an output you will not use.

Why does everyone recommend a red mode for camping?

Two reasons. It preserves your own dark adaptation, so you can still see the stars and the ground after using it. And it does not wake people in a shared tent the way a white beam does.

Should I take a headlamp or a lantern camping?

Both, if you can. A headlamp is for moving and for tasks that need your hands; a lantern makes the inside of a tent or the area around a table usable in a way a directional beam cannot.

Do AAA batteries work in cold weather?

Alkalines lose a significant part of their usable capacity below freezing. Lithium AAA primaries do not, weigh less, and store for a decade. For winter camping they are worth the extra cost.

Is a rechargeable headlamp a bad idea for camping?

Not bad, but it puts you one flat battery away from no light, in the environment least likely to have a socket. A hybrid lamp that takes either the pack or AAA cells removes the risk entirely, and every top pick here is one.

What does 'visible at 700 m for 400 hours' mean?

It is Petzl's reserve figure: the lamp remains detectable from 700 meters away for 400 hours. It is a be-seen claim, not a see-by claim, and it is not 400 hours of usable light.

Sources

Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.

A lantern casting even light across a table

Flashlight vs lantern

Directional versus area light, with the illuminance arithmetic for choosing between them.

Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.