Skip to content
Beam & Bezel

Headlamps

Best headlamps for hiking

For hiking, the specification that matters most is whether the lamp can be brought back to life with cells from a gas station.

By Scooter M. · Published · Updated

Best headlamps for hiking — ranked picks, with live prices
#ProductBest forOutput / weightPrice
1
Petzl Actik Core
Petzl Actik CoreTop pickThe default outdoor headlamp: hybrid power, a published ANSI figure, and a beam shaped for walking rather than for a spec sheet.
Hiking and general outdoor use625 lm / 88 g
2
Fenix HM65R-T V2.0
Fenix HM65R-T V2.01,600 lumens and 170 m from a magnesium body running a standard 18650, at 140 g. The removable cell is what separates it from the sealed-pack lamps.
Long nights where you want reach and a spare cell1,600 lm / 140 g (4.94 oz)
3
Petzl Tikka
Petzl Tikka350 lumens, three AAA cells, a red mode, 94 grams. The unglamorous answer that covers most of what people actually do after dark.
A first headlamp, and the glovebox350 lm / 94 g
4
Princeton Tec Vizz
Princeton Tec Vizz550 lumens on three AAA cells with an IPX7 rating — immersion, not just rain. The only AAA lamp here rated for a dunking.
Getting wet550 lm / 92 g
5
Black Diamond Spot 400-R
Black Diamond Spot 400-R400 lumens, red night vision, and brightness memory, from the brand most likely to already be in your gear closet.
Camping with a red mode that stays put400 lm

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. Prices checked October 15, 2026.

A hiker on a mountain trail at dusk
Licensed stock photograph, for illustration. It is not a photograph of any product on this page and we have not handled any of them.

Hiking is slower than running and longer than camping, which changes what a headlamp needs to be. You are moving at 4 to 6 kilometers an hour, so you need much less reach than a runner. But you may be out for a whole night, so you need much more energy than a camper.

That combination points at one specification above all others: the ability to keep going when the battery is flat. Every top pick here runs on either a rechargeable pack or on cells you can buy anywhere.

How we picked

We ranked on hybrid capability first, then published runtime, then weight, then output. Every figure comes from the maker's own documentation and is linked in the entry. We have not hiked in any of these lamps — see our methodology.

Why hybrid power outranks everything else

A sealed rechargeable lamp gives you exactly one battery. When it is empty you are done, and on a hike that can mean walking out by phone light or waiting for dawn. A hybrid lamp gives you unlimited batteries at the cost of a detour to a shop.

Hybrid capability across the hiking picks
LampPrimary powerFallbackPublished runtime
Petzl Actik CoreCORE 1,250 mAh pack3 x AAA2 h at 625 lm / 7 h at 100 lm / 100 h at 7 lm
Fenix HM65R-T V2.03,400 mAh 186502 x CR123A300 h maximum
Petzl Tikka3 x AAA (included)CORE pack2 h at 350 lm / 12 h at 100 lm / 110 h at 7 lm
Princeton Tec Vizz3 x AAANone (AAA only)Up to 90 h
Black Diamond Spot 400-RIntegrated rechargeableNonenot published

Note what the Petzl runtime figures are actually saying. The 400-hour number is a reserve-mode visibility claim: the lamp remains detectable at 700 meters for 400 hours. It is not 400 hours of light you can walk by, and reading it as if it were is the single most common misreading in this category.

What runtime you actually need

This arithmetic is the reason we rank the Actik Core first on capability rather than on capacity. As a sealed lamp it would be undersized for a long night; as a hybrid it is not, because the fallback is three cells in your pocket.

Beam pattern for walking

Hikers want a wide, even flood at 5 to 20 meters and enough hotspot to pick out a marker at 40. What you do not want is a tight, bright circle: it destroys your peripheral vision and makes rough ground harder to read, not easier.

That is why 115 meters of rated beam distance on the Actik Core is not the weakness it looks like next to a 1,000-meter thrower. Those are different tools. Throw versus flood works through the trade.

Cold weather changes the answer

Alkaline AAA cells lose a large fraction of their usable capacity below freezing. Lithium primaries do not, and Li-ion packs sit in between but suffer badly if you charge them cold. If your hiking is winter hiking, buy lithium AAA cells for a hybrid lamp and keep the pack inside your jacket between uses.

What we would not buy for hiking

A sealed rechargeable lamp with under 8 watt-hours, if you hike after dark for more than a couple of hours. A lamp with no red mode, if you camp at the end of the walk. And anything whose maker publishes no runtime figure at all, because on a hike the runtime is the specification your safety actually depends on.

The picks, in full

Petzl Actik Core

Top pick · Hiking and general outdoor use

Petzl Actik Core

The default outdoor headlamp: hybrid power, a published ANSI figure, and a beam shaped for walking rather than for a spec sheet.

625 lumens and 115 meters is a walking beam, not a searching beam. The FL1 definition puts illuminance at 115 m down to 0.25 lux, which is enough to tell that something is there and not enough to identify it. In practice you run the middle level and see 30 to 60 m of usable trail.

4.5 watt-hours matters more than the lumen figure. A lamp drawing a regulated 2 W empties that pack in a bit over two hours. The 400-hour number Petzl quotes is a reserve-mode visibility claim, not 400 hours of light you can walk by.

The hybrid design is the real feature. When the CORE pack dies three hours into a night descent, three AAA cells from a gas station bring the lamp back. Very little else at this price does that.

What works

  • Runs on the rechargeable pack or three AAA cells, which is a genuine field fix rather than a marketing bullet
  • Petzl publishes the full ANSI FL 1 table, including a distance for every mode
  • 88 g is light enough that you stop noticing it

What does not

  • IPX4 only: rain is fine, a dropped-in-the-creek recovery is not
  • No published peak candela, so the 115 m claim cannot be checked against the intensity
  • The maker's own site and its own Amazon listing disagree about peak output

Skip this ifyou need reach. 115 m is short by 2026 standards, and the 625-lumen headline does not change the shape of the beam.

Published specification

Output
625 lmANSI/PLATO FL 1. Petzl's US product page states 625; the brand's own Amazon listing says 650. We use the maker's own site.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Peak intensity
not published(Petzl publishes distance, not peak intensity)
Beam distance
115 mMaximum, on the CORE rechargeable batteryPetzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Runtime
2 h at 625 lm / 7 h at 100 lm / 100 h at 7 lm, on the CORE packPetzl publishes a full per-mode table for both power sources. On 3 x AAA the same levels run 2 h / 10 h / 100 h, with peak output capped at 450 lm. Its separate strobe figure, visible at 700 m for 400 h, is a be-seen claim and not a working runtime.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 19, 2026)
Battery
CORE 1250 mAh / 3.6 V / 4.5 Wh, or 3 x AAAPetzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
IPX4Weather resistant. Not immersion rated.Petzl Actik Core — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
$82.50 - Check price on Amazon

$87.95 · 6% off

#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 15, 2026

Fenix HM65R-T V2.0

Pick 2 · Long nights where you want reach and a spare cell

Fenix HM65R-T V2.0

1,600 lumens and 170 m from a magnesium body running a standard 18650, at 140 g. The removable cell is what separates it from the sealed-pack lamps.

A 3,400 mAh 18650 at a nominal 3.6 V is 12.2 watt-hours. That is more energy than a Petzl NAO RL carries, in a lamp 5 g lighter, because a bare 18650 is a more efficient package than a molded pack.

It is also the only headlamp in this set whose battery you can replace at a checkpoint for three dollars, because 18650 is a standard cell and not a proprietary brick.

IP68 rather than IPX4 is the second real difference. This one survives being dropped in water; most of the running lamps here do not.

What works

  • Standard 18650 cell: swappable, cheap, and available everywhere
  • IP68 and 2 m impact rating, the toughest specification in this roundup
  • Dual emitters, one white and one warm white, so it works for close tasks as well as reach

What does not

  • 140 g is at the heavy end for a running lamp
  • Charging works only with Fenix ARB-L18 series cells, which limits the swap-any-18650 advantage
  • No published candela figure

Skip this ifyou count grams. A Swift LT does the camp job at 43 g; you are carrying 97 g extra for reach and a removable cell.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published(Fenix publishes distance, not peak intensity)
Runtime
300 h maximumLowest mode. The turbo figure is far shorter and Fenix publishes it per-mode.Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Battery
3,400 mAh 18650 Li-ion (included), or 2 x CR123AFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Weight
140 g (4.94 oz)Including battery and headbandFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Ingress
IP68Dust tight and immersion rated; 2 m impact resistanceFenix HM65R-T V2.0 — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
$104.95 - Check price on Amazon

#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 15, 2026

Petzl Tikka

Pick 3 · A first headlamp, and the glovebox

Petzl Tikka

350 lumens, three AAA cells, a red mode, 94 grams. The unglamorous answer that covers most of what people actually do after dark.

Three alkaline AAA cells hold roughly 3.9 Wh between them at a modest draw. That is comparable to the Swift LT's entire battery, for a couple of dollars, available in any gas station in the country.

The red mode is the feature people end up using most. It preserves night adaptation and does not wake a tent.

350 lumens looks modest next to a 3,000-lumen listing. On a footpath at walking pace it is more light than you need, and it will still be running when the 3,000-lumen light has stepped down twice.

What works

  • AAA cells: replaceable anywhere, storable for years, no charge cycle to manage
  • A red mode you can reach without a mode-cycling ordeal
  • Cheap enough to own two

What does not

  • No rechargeable pack in the box
  • 70 m throw identifies nothing at distance
  • IPX4

Skip this ifyou want one lamp for everything including work. There is no real flood mode and no high-CRI option.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
70 mOn three AAA cells; 75 m on the CORE rechargeable accessoryPetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Runtime
2 h at 350 lm / 12 h at 100 lm / 110 h at 7 lm, on AAAOn the CORE pack the same levels run 2.5 h at 450 lm / 7 h at 100 lm / 110 h at 7 lm. AAA gives less peak output and more mid-level runtime. The 400 h figure Petzl lists is the red strobe, not a working runtime.Petzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 27, 2026)
Battery
3 x AAA (included), or the CORE rechargeable packPetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
$34.95 - Check price on Amazon

#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 15, 2026

Princeton Tec Vizz

Pick 4 · Getting wet

Princeton Tec Vizz

550 lumens on three AAA cells with an IPX7 rating — immersion, not just rain. The only AAA lamp here rated for a dunking.

IPX7 on AAA cells is the specification that makes this interesting. Almost everything else in the AAA class is IPX4, which means rain and nothing more.

Three lithium AAA cells hold roughly 4.5 Wh and shrug off cold in a way alkalines do not. On this lamp that combination is worth more than another 500 lumens.

Princeton Tec publishes an output and a runtime for each of its four modes, plus an 85 m beam distance and a 92 g weight - not a single flattering maximum. The 85 m works back to about 1,806 candela, or 3.3 candela per lumen, which says the 550 lumens buys width rather than reach.

What works

  • IPX7 immersion rating on replaceable cells
  • A published runtime spread across modes and chemistries
  • Digital lockout, so it does not drain itself in a pack

What does not

  • No candela figure, so the 85 m distance cannot be cross-checked
  • Bulkier than the modern rechargeable lamps
  • No rechargeable option

Skip this ifweight is your constraint. The AAA carriage that makes it robust also makes it bigger than the Li-ion competition.

Published specification

Output
550 lmSpot high. Spot low 150 lm, flood high 30 lm, red high 10 lm.Princeton Tec Vizz — manufacturer spec page (retrieved October 15, 2026)
Peak intensity
not published(Princeton Tec publishes distance, not peak intensity)
Runtime
1 h 30 min on spot highFour published pairs: spot 150 lm/40 h, flood 30 lm/90 h, red 10 lm/135 h. The headline 90 h is the flood figure.Princeton Tec Vizz — manufacturer spec page (retrieved October 15, 2026)
$52.99 - Check price on Amazon

#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 15, 2026

Black Diamond Spot 400-R

Pick 5 · Camping with a red mode that stays put

Black Diamond Spot 400-R

400 lumens, red night vision, and brightness memory, from the brand most likely to already be in your gear closet.

Black Diamond's own site would not serve us a product page from this build, so we are citing the brand's Amazon listing and we are only asserting what that listing states: 400 lumens, red night vision, brightness memory, integrated rechargeable.

Brightness memory is the underrated feature. The lamp comes back on at the level you left it, which means the red mode is one click away rather than a cycle through white.

Everything else on this lamp is unpublished as far as our sourcing goes, and we would rather say that than fill the table in from another review site.

What works

  • Red night vision with brightness memory, so you do not blind a tent to get to it
  • Integrated rechargeable rather than a proprietary pack to lose
  • Widely stocked, which matters when you need one today

What does not

  • We could not source beam distance, runtime, weight or an IP rating from the maker
  • 400 lumens is mid-pack for the money in 2026
  • No AAA fallback on the -R version

Skip this ifyou want the numbers before you buy. We could not get a full spec table for it, and on this site that counts against a light.

Published specification

Peak intensity
not published
Beam distance
not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
Runtime
not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
Weight
not published
Ingress
not published
$57.88 - Check price on Amazon

$79.95 · 28% off

#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 15, 2026

Questions people actually ask

How many lumens do I need for hiking?

100 to 250 lumens is genuinely sufficient for walking a trail. Higher settings exist for scanning ahead and for finding a route when you have lost the path, but running the lamp at 600 lumens all night will empty any battery here in about two hours.

Is 400 hours of runtime real?

Not in the sense most people read it. Petzl's 400-hour figure is a reserve-mode visibility claim: the lamp remains detectable from 700 meters for that long. Usable walking light from a 4.5 watt-hour pack is closer to three hours at a modest output.

Should I take spare batteries or a power bank?

For a hybrid lamp, spare cells: they are lighter, they work instantly, and they do not need the lamp to sit still charging. For a sealed rechargeable lamp you have no choice but a power bank, which is one more reason we rank hybrids first.

Do I need a waterproof headlamp for hiking?

IPX4 covers rain and is what most hiking lamps carry. The exception is if you regularly ford streams or hike in sustained downpours, where the Princeton Tec Vizz's IPX7 or the Fenix HM65R-T's IP68 are worth having.

Can I use a running headlamp for hiking?

Yes, and it will be lighter. The trade is battery: running lamps are built around short, intense outings and often carry less energy than a hiking lamp of the same price.

What is the difference between the Petzl Actik and the Actik Core?

The Core ships with Petzl's rechargeable CORE battery and a slightly higher output rating. Both take three AAA cells. If you already own a CORE pack the plain Actik saves money; otherwise the Core version is the simpler purchase.

Sources

Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.

A headlamp resting on wet ground beside a lake at dusk

Princeton Tec Vizz review

A specification-first review of the Princeton Tec Vizz: the per-mode runtimes, the arithmetic that shows which mode to actually use, what 85 meters says about the beam, and the one figure Princeton Tec still will not state.

A hiker wearing a headlamp on a trail at night

Petzl Actik Core review

A specification-first review of the Petzl Actik Core: the full per-mode table, what the AAA fallback actually costs you, and who should buy something else.

A beam of light spreading through fog

Throw vs flood

How reflector geometry produces throw or flood, what each suits, and where the middle ground lives.

A backpacker crossing high ground at night

Petzl Swift LT review

A specification-first review of the Petzl Swift LT: what 43 grams and 3.27 watt-hours actually cover, and the three things that weight costs you.

Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.