Compare
Klein vs Streamlight work lights
Two brands tradespeople already own, aimed at different halves of the same job. One lights the area; the other lights where you point it.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Output | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Klein Tools 56417 Rechargeable Work LightTop pick3,000 lumens with six modes and 360-degree rotation. The area-lighting version of the same idea. | Lighting a whole work area | 3,000 lm | |
| 2 | ![]() Streamlight Siege540 lumens of 360-degree area lighting, IPX7, on replaceable cells. A lantern beats a flashlight indoors and this is the one to own. | Area light in a power cut | 540 lm | |
| 3 | ![]() Klein Tools 56416 Rechargeable Work Light1,000 lumens, three modes, 360-degree rotation and a magnet. Built to be put down and aimed rather than held. | A magnetic work light with a kickstand | 1,000 lm | |
| 4 | ![]() Streamlight Stinger Switchblade800 lumens in the same folding bar format, USB rechargeable, with multiple modes. | A brighter folding work bar | 800 lm | |
| 5 | ![]() Klein Tools 56073 Foldable Handheld Work Light500 lumens in a light that folds flat, pivots 180 degrees and rotates 270, charged over USB-C. | A pocketable folding light for panel work | 500 lm | |
| 6 | ![]() Streamlight Super Siege1,100 lumens of area light, USB rechargeable, and it will put charge back into a phone during an outage. | A lantern that also charges a phone | 1,100 lm | |
| 7 | ![]() Streamlight Strion Switchblade500 lumens of Color-Rite output in a folding bar. The color accuracy is the specification that matters on a wiring loom. | Color-critical work under the hood | 500 lm |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. Prices checked September 21, 2026.

Every brand comparison on this site so far has been flashlights or headlamps. This one is work lights, and it is a different argument entirely, because in this category almost nobody publishes anything. Across both brands you get a lumen figure, a format, and — on exactly one product — an ingress rating.
So the comparison has to be made on what a work light is actually judged by on a job: where the light goes, how it stays where you put it, and how it gets its power. On those, the two brands have made clearly different choices.
How we picked
Seven lights covering the three formats that matter on a job — the area light you set down, the folding bar you hang, and the compact you carry into a panel. Every figure is the maker's own. Neither brand served us a full spec page from this build, so figures come from the brands' own retail listings and are labeled as such. We have used none of these lights; our methodology explains what we do instead.
What each brand publishes
| Light | Format | Output | Power | Ingress |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Klein Tools 56417 | Area, 360-degree rotation | 3,000 lm | Rechargeable | not published |
| Streamlight Super Siege | 360-degree lantern | 1,100 lm | USB rechargeable | not published |
| Klein Tools 56416 | Magnet and kickstand | 1,000 lm | Rechargeable | not published |
| Streamlight Stinger Switchblade | Folding bar | 800 lm | USB rechargeable | not published |
| Streamlight Siege | 360-degree lantern | 540 lm | Replaceable cells | IPX7 |
| Klein Tools 56073 | Folding, pivots and rotates | 500 lm | USB-C rechargeable | not published |
| Streamlight Strion Switchblade | Folding bar | 500 lm | Rechargeable | not published |
One ingress rating across seven lights, and no runtime figure on any of them. In a category sold on toughness and endurance, those are precisely the two specifications neither brand prints. That is worth saying plainly before any recommendation.
The structural difference: area against beam
Klein builds lights to be set down and aimed. The 56417 and 56416 both rotate 360 degrees, the 56416 adds a magnet and a kickstand, and the 56073 folds flat and pivots. The design assumption is that both your hands are busy and the light has to hold a position.
Streamlight splits differently: two 360-degree lanterns that light a whole room with no aiming at all, and two folding bars that throw a long even wash down a bench or an open hood. The lantern shape is the one worth understanding, because it removes shadows rather than casting them — and on a job site a single hard shadow across a walkway is what people trip over.
Neither approach is better. A lantern is wrong for lighting one face of a panel, and a rotating head is wrong for lighting a room you are moving around in. Our work lights hub ranks the wider field on beam shape rather than output for exactly this reason.
Power, and the failure that actually happens
- Streamlight Siege — replaceable cells. The only light here that works with no charging infrastructure at all. On a first-fix site or a weekend, that is decisive.
- Everything else — rechargeable. Convenient, and dependent on somebody remembering. The Super Siege at least gives something back: it will charge a phone, which on a site with no power is worth more than it sounds.
- Klein 56073 — USB-C. Charges from the same cable as everything else in the van, which is a small thing that survives a bad day.
- Neither brand offers a tool-platform battery option in the lights we cover. If your site is standardized on a platform, the DeWalt DCL043 is the light that draws from it — see its full review.
The matched pairs
Area light: Klein 56417 vs Streamlight Super Siege
3,000 lumens with a rotating head against 1,100 lumens in every direction. The Klein makes a work zone out of a dark bay and lets you turn the head as the job moves; the Streamlight fills a room evenly and charges a phone. Nearly three times the output, but aimed rather than ambient.
Skip the 56417 if it lives outdoors — no ingress rating published. Skip the Super Siege if you need to light one face of something; a lantern will not do it, and at 1,100 lumens you are paying for the power-bank function as much as the light.
Portable: Klein 56416 vs Streamlight Stinger Switchblade
1,000 lumens with a magnet and kickstand against 800 lumens in a folding bar. On anything ferrous — a vehicle wing, strut, a site box lid — the Klein's magnet is the fastest way to get light where you need it hands-free. The Streamlight's bar throws a longer, more even wash, which suits a bench or the length of a panel.
Skip the Klein if there is nothing ferrous to hold it. Skip the Stinger Switchblade if you want a spot; the bar shape is deliberately the opposite. Neither publishes a runtime.
Compact: Klein 56073 vs Streamlight Strion Switchblade
500 lumens each, and the choice is the hinge. The Klein folds flat, pivots 180 degrees and rotates 270, charging over USB-C; the Streamlight is a folding bar with multiple modes. Both are close-work tools for panels and enclosures rather than area lights, and both are honest about being that.
Skip either as your only work light. See work lights for electricians for where this format earns its place.
Work lights are the worst-documented category we cover
It is worth putting this comparison in context, because the shortage of figures above is not a Klein problem or a Streamlight problem. It is a work-light problem, and it is much worse here than in any other category on this site.
| Category | Best maker | Figures published |
|---|---|---|
| Headlamps | Petzl | Output, beam distance, per-mode runtime, watt-hours, weight, IPX |
| Flashlights | Streamlight | Output, candela, beam distance, per-mode runtime, weight, IP, impact |
| Handheld work lights | Klein and Streamlight | Output, and a charging method |
Streamlight publishes seven figures for a ProTac HL-X and two for a Stinger Switchblade. The same company, the same catalog, a fraction of the disclosure — which tells you the gap is a decision about the category rather than a capability the firm lacks.
The likely reason is that work lights are sold on form factor. A tradesperson buys a magnetic bar because it sticks inside a panel, or a folding light because it fits a gap, and the lumen number is a tiebreaker rather than the decision. Makers publish what buyers shop on. That is a commercial explanation and not a defense: a missing runtime on a light you use for a full shift is exactly the figure you needed.
What you can still decide without the numbers
Given that, a buyer is not helpless — the decision simply moves to things you can verify yourself rather than things a maker states.
- Form factor, which is knowable. A bar light lights a wall; a lantern lights a room; a folding light fits a gap a bar will not. This is the single biggest determinant of whether a light helps, and no specification is required to judge it.
- Mounting, which is knowable. Magnets, hooks, kickstands and clamps are visible in the product photography. A light that will not stay where you put it is a light you hold, and then it is a flashlight.
- Charging, which is knowable. USB-C on the light means any cable; a proprietary dock means one cable. On a site where things get lost, that is a real distinction.
- Color rendering, where it is stated. Streamlight's Switchblade line is built around color-critical work. Where neither brand states a CRI figure we do not guess one — see CRI for trades for why it matters on a job site.
- Output, treated as a bracket rather than a number. 500 lumens lights a panel, 1,000 lights a bay, 3,000 lights an area. Precision beyond that is not available from either brand.
What you cannot decide is endurance, and that is the honest limit of this page. Neither Klein nor Streamlight publishes a runtime for any light in this comparison, so how long a shift either one covers is something you find out by owning it.
Which brand should you buy
- You need a lit work zone — Klein 56417 at 3,000 lm with 360-degree rotation.
- It will be rained on — Streamlight Siege, the only published IPX7 between them, and accept 540 lumens.
- There is no power on site yet — Streamlight Siege on replaceable cells.
- You want light stuck to steel — Klein 56416. See work lights for mechanics.
- You want a light that also charges a phone — Streamlight Super Siege.
- You are on a budget — see work lights under $100, where six of these seven sit.
What we would not tell you
We would not tell you how long any of these run. Neither brand publishes a runtime for any work light we cover, and that is the specification a buyer most wants. Streamlight publishes a per-mode runtime table on its handheld flashlights, which makes its absence here more conspicuous rather than less.
We would also not tell you six of these seven are weatherproof because they look rugged. Only one carries a published rating, and on a job site an unrated light is an unknown rather than a safe assumption.
The picks, in full

Top pick · Lighting a whole work area
Klein Tools 56417 Rechargeable Work Light
3,000 lumens with six modes and 360-degree rotation. The area-lighting version of the same idea.
3,000 lumens from a portable light is enough to work by without a second source, which is the threshold that matters on a jobsite.
Six modes on a work light usually means three brightness levels plus a spot, a flood and a red. Useful, and worth learning the sequence once.
Runtime is the figure that decides whether a 3,000-lumen portable is a tool or a toy, and it is the figure Klein does not publish.
What works
- 3,000 lumens is genuine area lighting
- Magnetic mount and full rotation
- Six modes cover most jobsite needs
What does not
- No published runtime, which at 3,000 lumens is the number that matters most
- No sourced weight or IP rating
- Bigger and heavier than the 1,000-lumen version
Skip this ifyou mostly work in panels and engine bays. At close range 3,000 lumens is glare, not visibility.
Published specification
- Output
- 3,000 lmKlein Tools 56417 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- RechargeableKlein Tools 56417 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 21, 2026

Pick 2 · Area light in a power cut
Streamlight Siege
540 lumens of 360-degree area lighting, IPX7, on replaceable cells. A lantern beats a flashlight indoors and this is the one to own.
A flashlight in a dark kitchen produces one bright circle and a room full of hard shadow. A 360-degree lantern at a quarter of the output makes the room usable. That is the whole argument for owning one.
IPX7 on an outage light matters because outages and weather arrive together.
Replaceable cells rather than a sealed pack is the correct choice for something that sits in a cupboard for two years between uses.
What works
- 360-degree area lighting, which is the right beam shape indoors
- IPX7
- Replaceable cells, so storage does not kill it
What does not
- No published runtime in the source we could reach
- 540 lumens is modest if you want to light a whole floor
- No sourced weight
Skip this ifyou need to walk outside with it. A lantern spreads light everywhere, which is exactly wrong on a dark path.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published(Not applicable to a 360-degree lantern)
- Runtime
- not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
- Battery
- Replaceable cellsStreamlight Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 21, 2026

Pick 3 · A magnetic work light with a kickstand
Klein Tools 56416 Rechargeable Work Light
1,000 lumens, three modes, 360-degree rotation and a magnet. Built to be put down and aimed rather than held.
The magnet and the kickstand are the product. A work light you have to hold is a work light that is not working.
360-degree rotation means you set the body once and aim the head, which is the difference between a good work light and a torch on its side.
1,000 lumens is the sweet spot for a bay: enough to see, not so much that it glares back off metal.
What works
- Magnet plus kickstand plus rotation, so it goes anywhere
- 1,000 lumens is well matched to close work
- Trade distribution
What does not
- No sourced runtime, weight or IP rating
- No published CRI, on a light that would benefit from one
- Built-in cell
Skip this ifyou need to light a whole room. It is a task light, and a 3,000-lumen area light is a different tool.
Published specification
- Output
- 1,000 lmKlein Tools 56416 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- RechargeableKlein Tools 56416 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
$64.98 · 8% off
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 21, 2026

Pick 4 · A brighter folding work bar
Streamlight Stinger Switchblade
800 lumens in the same folding bar format, USB rechargeable, with multiple modes.
800 lumens spread along a bar is a genuinely different quality of light from 800 lumens in a spot: no hotspot, no harsh shadow edge, no glare bouncing back off a painted panel.
The pivoting head is what makes it work in an engine bay — you set the bar down and aim the light without moving the light.
Streamlight's page for this one did not give us a runtime, which is the figure a work light most needs.
What works
- 800 lumens of bar-shaped flood
- USB rechargeable
- Multi-mode with a pivoting head
What does not
- No published runtime on the page we read
- No sourced weight or IP rating
- Not color-corrected, unlike its Strion sibling
Skip this ifcolor matters more than output. The Strion Switchblade trades 300 lumens for color accuracy and that is usually the better trade.
Published specification
- Output
- 800 lmStreamlight Stinger Switchblade — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
- Battery
- USB rechargeableStreamlight Stinger Switchblade — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 21, 2026

Pick 5 · A pocketable folding light for panel work
Klein Tools 56073 Foldable Handheld Work Light
500 lumens in a light that folds flat, pivots 180 degrees and rotates 270, charged over USB-C.
Five hundred diffused lumens is the right output for a consumer unit. More than that inside a metal enclosure at arm's length bounces back at you and makes the job harder.
The 180-degree pivot plus 270-degree rotation is what lets one small light aim into a back box, along a joist and down into a floor void without moving the body.
Klein publishes output and charging and nothing else, which on a light this cheap is normal and still worth noting.
What works
- Folds flat enough to live in a pouch
- Pivot and rotation cover most awkward angles
- USB-C
What does not
- No sourced runtime, weight or IP rating
- No published CRI on a light aimed at electricians
- 500 lumens is task lighting only
Skip this ifyou need to light an area. It is a close-range panel light and it will not do a room.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- USB-C rechargeableKlein Tools 56073 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 21, 2026

Pick 6 · A lantern that also charges a phone
Streamlight Super Siege
1,100 lumens of area light, USB rechargeable, and it will put charge back into a phone during an outage.
1,100 lumens is enough to light a whole room to a level where you can read and cook, which is the difference between coping with an outage and enduring one.
The USB output is the second reason to own it. In a multi-day outage, the phone is the thing that matters.
Rechargeable rather than replaceable cells is a real trade-off for emergency kit: better in a planned outage, worse if it has been in a cupboard for eighteen months.
What works
- 1,100 lumens of 360-degree light
- Charges a phone over USB
- Streamlight build quality
What does not
- No sourced runtime, weight or IP rating
- Rechargeable cell self-discharges in storage
- Bulkier and heavier than the standard Siege
Skip this ifit will sit untouched for years. For pure standby, replaceable cells beat a rechargeable pack every time.
Published specification
- Output
- 1,100 lmStreamlight Super Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published(Not applicable to a 360-degree lantern)
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- USB rechargeableStreamlight Super Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 21, 2026

Pick 7 · Color-critical work under the hood
Streamlight Strion Switchblade
500 lumens of Color-Rite output in a folding bar. The color accuracy is the specification that matters on a wiring loom.
Color accuracy is the whole reason this exists. Under a cool-white work light, a brown wire and a red wire look the same, and that is not a cosmetic problem.
Streamlight calls it Color-Rite and does not publish a CRI figure, which is frustrating: the claim is exactly right and the number that would prove it is missing.
The folding bar shape puts a wide, even flood along a panel rather than a hotspot in the middle of it.
What works
- Built around color rendering rather than around lumens
- Bar shape floods a panel evenly
- Streamlight's trade distribution makes service easy
What does not
- Color-Rite is a trade name, not a published CRI figure
- No sourced runtime, weight or IP rating
- 500 lumens is modest if you need to light a whole bay
Skip this ifyou need area lighting. It is a close-range color-accurate tool, not a floodlight.
Published specification
- Output
- 500 lmStreamlight Strion Switchblade — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- RechargeableStreamlight Strion Switchblade — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
- CRI
- not published(Streamlight markets Color-Rite color accuracy but does not publish a CRI number)
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 21, 2026
Questions people actually ask
Are Klein or Streamlight work lights better?
They are built for different halves of the job. Klein's lights are made to be set down and aimed - rotating heads, magnets, kickstands - and the 56417 is the brightest here at 3,000 lumens. Streamlight offers 360-degree lanterns that light a room with no aiming, and the only published ingress rating between the two brands.
Which work light is waterproof?
Only the Streamlight Siege, at a published IPX7 - immersion in a meter of water for thirty minutes. Neither brand publishes an ingress rating for any other work light we cover, so we do not claim one for them.
How long do Klein and Streamlight work lights run?
Neither brand publishes a runtime figure for any work light we cover, so we cannot tell you and will not estimate. It is the largest evidence gap in this category, alongside the missing ingress ratings.
Do I need a magnetic work light?
For vehicle and equipment work, yes - a magnet, hook or kickstand is what frees both hands, and it changes how usable a light is far more than a few hundred lumens. The Klein 56416 and 56417 are both built around being put down and aimed.
Is a lantern better than a directional work light?
Indoors and for moving around, usually. A 360-degree lantern removes the hard shadows that a single directional source casts, which is what people trip over. For lighting one face of a panel or an engine bay, a directional light wins. Most vans want one of each.
Which brand works when there is no power on site?
Streamlight, because the Siege runs on replaceable cells. Every other light here from both brands is rechargeable, which is convenient exactly as long as somebody is charging them. That matters most in the first weeks of a build and on weekends.
What is the brightest work light between the two brands?
The Klein Tools 56417 at a published 3,000 lumens, with six modes and 360-degree rotation. Bear in mind that above about 1,000 lumens at arm's length extra output is mostly glare coming back off painted metal, so the brightest light is not automatically the most useful one.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- Klein Tools 56417 Rechargeable Work Light — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Klein Tools 56416 Rechargeable Work Light — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Klein Tools 56073 Foldable Handheld Work Light — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight Super Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight Stinger Switchblade — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight Strion Switchblade — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- ANSI/PLATO FL 1 flashlight performance standard — definitions of lumens, peak beam intensity, beam distance, runtime, impact and water resistance
- IEC 60529 — the IP (ingress protection) rating system
Read next

Flashlight brand comparisons
Brand-against-brand comparisons on published figures and disclosure quality, not on reputation.

Best work lights, ranked on beam shape rather than brightness
The work-light ranking: beam shape, color rendering, mounting and runtime, with every published figure sourced.

Best work lights under $100
Eight work lights under $100, ranked on beam shape, mounting and published figures, with the category's disclosure gaps named.

Best work lights for mechanics
Automotive work lights ranked on access, color rendering and mounting rather than output.

Best work lights for a construction site
Work lights for construction, ranked on published ingress rating, power source and area coverage, with the gaps named.

DeWalt DCL043 review
A specification-first review of the DeWalt DCL043 jobsite spotlight: what 508 yards works out to, what the platform battery actually costs, and the figures DeWalt does not publish.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.