Work Lights
Best work lights under $100
A hundred dollars buys a genuinely capable work light. It does not buy a runtime figure, a color rendering figure, or in most cases any waterproofing claim at all.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Output | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Klein Tools 56417 Rechargeable Work LightTop pick3,000 lumens with six modes and 360-degree rotation. The area-lighting version of the same idea. | Lighting a whole work area | 3,000 lm | |
| 2 | ![]() DeWalt DCL043 Jobsite Spotlight1,500 lumens and 464 m of stated reach, running off the same 20V MAX pack as everything else on the truck. | Sites already standardized on 20V MAX batteries | 1,500 lm | |
| 3 | ![]() Klein Tools 56416 Rechargeable Work Light1,000 lumens, three modes, 360-degree rotation and a magnet. Built to be put down and aimed rather than held. | A magnetic work light with a kickstand | 1,000 lm | |
| 4 | ![]() Nebo Slyde King 4KA 4,000-lumen spot and a 1,000-lumen COB work light in one sliding body, USB rechargeable. | The brightest two-in-one here | 4,000 lm spot / 1,000 lm COB work light | |
| 5 | ![]() Streamlight Siege540 lumens of 360-degree area lighting, IPX7, on replaceable cells. A lantern beats a flashlight indoors and this is the one to own. | Area light in a power cut | 540 lm | |
| 6 | ![]() Astro Pneumatic 90SLC Slim Light900 lumens in the same slim body, with a quick-charge pad so it goes back on the bench rather than on a cable. | A slim light that charges on a pad | 900 lm | |
| 7 | ![]() Streamlight Stinger Switchblade800 lumens in the same folding bar format, USB rechargeable, with multiple modes. | A brighter folding work bar | 800 lm | |
| 8 | ![]() Klein Tools 56073 Foldable Handheld Work Light500 lumens in a light that folds flat, pivots 180 degrees and rotates 270, charged over USB-C. | A pocketable folding light for panel work | 500 lm |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. Prices checked September 13, 2026.

This is the bracket where work lights are actually bought, and the good news is that output stopped being the constraint years ago. Every light here publishes at least 500 lumens and the brightest publishes 4,000. The constraint now is information. Across this whole bracket, one light publishes a beam distance, one publishes an ingress rating, and not one publishes a runtime or a color rendering figure.
So this page ranks on what a work light is actually judged by on a job — where the light goes, how it stays where you put it, and how it gets its power — and names the missing figures rather than assuming them.
How we judged these
- Beam shape before brightness. At arm's length inside an engine bay or a panel, 3,000 lumens is not three times as useful as 1,000 — it is glare coming back off painted metal into your eyes. We say whether each light is an area flood, a bar, or a spot.
- How it stays put. Magnets, hooks, kickstands and rotation. Both your hands are busy, so a light you have to hold is a light that is not working.
- How it is powered. A tool-platform battery you already stock beats a proprietary charger. Replaceable cells beat both when there is no power on site.
- Published figures where they exist, and named as absent where they do not. Currently purchasable, verified against the live listing before writing.
We have used none of these lights. Every figure is the maker's own with its source linked — see our methodology. We do not print a fixed dollar figure in the copy either, because a price typed into an article is wrong within a week; the bracket is checked against the live price layer instead.
What the bracket publishes
| Light | Output | Beam distance | Ingress | Power |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nebo Slyde King 4K | 4,000 lm spot / 1,000 lm COB | not published | not published | USB rechargeable |
| Klein Tools 56417 | 3,000 lm | not published | not published | Rechargeable |
| DeWalt DCL043 | 1,500 lm | 464 m | not published | 20V MAX, sold separately |
| Klein Tools 56416 | 1,000 lm | not published | not published | Rechargeable |
| Astro Pneumatic 90SLC | 900 lm | not published | not published | Rechargeable, charge pad |
| Streamlight Stinger Switchblade | 800 lm | not published | not published | USB rechargeable |
| Streamlight Siege | 540 lm | not published | IPX7 | Replaceable cells |
| Klein Tools 56073 | 500 lm | not published | not published | USB-C rechargeable |
One beam distance and one ingress rating across eight lights. That is the state of disclosure in this category, and it is worse than any other category on this site. Work lights are sold on toughness and endurance, and toughness and endurance are the two things nobody prints.
The one light that publishes a distance
One important caveat that a price bracket can hide: the DeWalt's battery is sold separately. The light is comfortably under a hundred dollars; the light plus a 20V MAX pack is not. It only makes sense if those packs are already circulating in your van or on your site.
The picks, and who each one is wrong for
Klein Tools 56417 — the work zone, at the top of the bracket
3,000 lumens, six modes and 360-degree rotation, built to be set down and aimed rather than held. This is the light that turns a dark bay, a floor plate or a parking lot into somewhere you can work. The rotation matters more than the mode count: you place it once and turn the head as the work moves.
Skip it if it will live outdoors — no ingress rating is published. Skip it if you need reach; it is a broad area flood and will not identify anything at the far end of a yard. And no CRI figure, which for anything color-coded is a real gap. See why color accuracy matters on a jobsite.
DeWalt DCL043 — if your tools already run 20V MAX
1,500 lumens and 464 m, running off the same packs as the drill and the impact. Two arguments in one: it is always charged if your tools are, and it is the only light in this bracket that genuinely throws. For checking a structure, a pole or a perimeter at night nothing else here does the job.
Skip it if you are not on the DeWalt platform — buying into a battery system for one light is poor value, and the pack is an extra purchase that takes the real cost past this bracket. Skip it as your area light; a spotlight leaves a work zone's edges dark.
Klein Tools 56416 — the magnetic one
1,000 lumens, three modes, 360-degree rotation, a magnet and a kickstand. On anything ferrous — a vehicle wing, strut, a site box lid, a stepladder — the magnet is the fastest way to get light where you need it with both hands free. 1,000 lumens is also about the right amount for close work without glaring back off painted surfaces.
Skip it as a whole-area light, and skip it if the magnet has nothing to hold. No runtime, ingress rating or beam distance published.
Nebo Slyde King 4K — the most output, and both beam types
A 4,000-lumen spot and a 1,000-lumen COB work light in one sliding body — the highest output in the bracket and a sensible way to carry both beam shapes as one object. For a subcontractor arriving with one bag that combination is worth real money.
Skip the spot mode indoors, where 4,000 lumens off plasterboard is glare rather than light. Nebo publishes no beam distance, so we cannot tell you how far the spot actually reaches — on a light sold partly on its spot, that is the figure you would most want. No runtime or IP rating either.
Streamlight Siege — the one rated for weather
540 lumens of 360-degree area light, IPX7, on replaceable cells. The lowest output here and, for anything that meets rain or has no power nearby, the most defensible purchase in the bracket. Replaceable cells mean it works in the first week of a build before temporary power arrives, and on the weekend after every charger has gone home. A lantern also beats a directional light indoors, where a single hard shadow is what makes people trip.
Skip it if 540 lumens is not enough to work by — it is a presence and safety light more than a task light. Skip it if you want rechargeable convenience.
Astro Pneumatic 90SLC — the slim one that charges on a pad
900 lumens in a body thin enough to slide between an engine and a fender, with a quick-charge pad so it goes back on the bench rather than onto a cable. A drop-on pad is a habit that survives a bad day in a way plugging in a cable does not. The bar format also throws a long even wash, which suits a panel or an open hood.
Skip it if you need to light a whole area — 900 lumens in a narrow bar is a task light. No runtime, ingress rating or beam distance published.
Streamlight Stinger Switchblade — the folding bar
800 lumens in a folding bar with multiple modes, USB rechargeable. The bar shape throws a long even wash rather than a circle, which suits a bench, an open hood or the length of a panel — and it folds flat to travel. Streamlight is the brand that publishes per-mode runtimes on its handhelds, which makes their absence here more conspicuous.
Skip it if you want a spot; the bar shape is deliberately the opposite. No runtime or ingress rating published.
Klein Tools 56073 — the one that folds flat
500 lumens, folds flat, pivots 180 degrees and rotates 270, charged over USB-C. The lowest-priced light in the bracket and the easiest to carry into a customer's building. USB-C means it charges from the same cable as everything else in the van.
Skip it as your only work light — it is a close-work tool for panels and enclosures, genuinely good at that and not intended for anything larger.
How to buy in this bracket
- You need to light a whole work area — Klein Tools 56417 at 3,000 lm with 360-degree rotation.
- It will be rained on — Streamlight Siege, the only published IPX7 here, and accept 540 lumens.
- Your site or van runs DeWalt 20V MAX — DCL043, remembering the pack is sold separately.
- You want both a flood and a spot in one object — Nebo Slyde King 4K.
- You work in narrow gaps — Astro 90SLC, or the Klein 56073 for panels and enclosures.
- You want a light that sticks to steel — Klein Tools 56416. See work lights for mechanics.
What we would not tell you
We would not tell you how long any of these run. Not one manufacturer in this bracket publishes a runtime figure, including for the 4,000-lumen mode on the Nebo, which will draw hard. In a category where the buyer's real question is whether the light lasts the shift, the industry answers with a lumen number.
We would also not tell you seven of these eight lights are weatherproof. Their makers publish no ingress rating and a work light without one is a genuine unknown rather than a safe assumption. It would be easy to write that a rugged-looking jobsite light shrugs off rain; it would not be evidence.
The picks, in full

Top pick · Lighting a whole work area
Klein Tools 56417 Rechargeable Work Light
3,000 lumens with six modes and 360-degree rotation. The area-lighting version of the same idea.
3,000 lumens from a portable light is enough to work by without a second source, which is the threshold that matters on a jobsite.
Six modes on a work light usually means three brightness levels plus a spot, a flood and a red. Useful, and worth learning the sequence once.
Runtime is the figure that decides whether a 3,000-lumen portable is a tool or a toy, and it is the figure Klein does not publish.
What works
- 3,000 lumens is genuine area lighting
- Magnetic mount and full rotation
- Six modes cover most jobsite needs
What does not
- No published runtime, which at 3,000 lumens is the number that matters most
- No sourced weight or IP rating
- Bigger and heavier than the 1,000-lumen version
Skip this ifyou mostly work in panels and engine bays. At close range 3,000 lumens is glare, not visibility.
Published specification
- Output
- 3,000 lmKlein Tools 56417 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- RechargeableKlein Tools 56417 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 2 · Sites already standardized on 20V MAX batteries
DeWalt DCL043 Jobsite Spotlight
1,500 lumens and 464 m of stated reach, running off the same 20V MAX pack as everything else on the truck.
464 m from 1,500 lumens implies about 53,800 candela. That is a proper spotlight, not a work light with a reflector.
The battery platform is the real argument. If your van already carries six 20V MAX packs, a light that shares them has no charging routine at all.
Runtime genuinely cannot be published here, because it depends entirely on which pack you fit. That is one of the few unpublished figures on this site with a legitimate reason.
What works
- Shares the 20V MAX platform, so the battery problem is already solved
- 464 m of published reach
- Pivoting head for aiming from a set-down position
What does not
- Battery not included, and the packs are not cheap on their own
- No sourced weight or IP rating
- Useless if your site runs a different battery platform
Skip this ifyou are not already on DeWalt 20V MAX. Buying into a battery platform for one light is the wrong way round.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 464 mListed as a 508-yard distance; converted to metersDeWalt DCL043 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- not published(Depends on which 20V MAX pack is fitted)
- Battery
- DeWalt 20V MAX (sold separately)DeWalt DCL043 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 3 · A magnetic work light with a kickstand
Klein Tools 56416 Rechargeable Work Light
1,000 lumens, three modes, 360-degree rotation and a magnet. Built to be put down and aimed rather than held.
The magnet and the kickstand are the product. A work light you have to hold is a work light that is not working.
360-degree rotation means you set the body once and aim the head, which is the difference between a good work light and a torch on its side.
1,000 lumens is the sweet spot for a bay: enough to see, not so much that it glares back off metal.
What works
- Magnet plus kickstand plus rotation, so it goes anywhere
- 1,000 lumens is well matched to close work
- Trade distribution
What does not
- No sourced runtime, weight or IP rating
- No published CRI, on a light that would benefit from one
- Built-in cell
Skip this ifyou need to light a whole room. It is a task light, and a 3,000-lumen area light is a different tool.
Published specification
- Output
- 1,000 lmKlein Tools 56416 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- RechargeableKlein Tools 56416 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
$64.98 · 8% off
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 4 · The brightest two-in-one here
Nebo Slyde King 4K
A 4,000-lumen spot and a 1,000-lumen COB work light in one sliding body, USB rechargeable.
A thousand COB lumens is genuine small-area lighting rather than task lighting, which is what separates this from the 2K version.
At 4,000 lumens on the spot side the draw is likely around 40 watts, and without a published capacity there is no way to know whether that is twenty minutes or two hours. That gap is what keeps it off the top of our list.
Magnetic base and a hands-free stance, as every work light should have.
What works
- The highest published output of any light on the work pages
- A 1,000-lumen COB strip is genuine area light
- Magnetic base and 4x zoom on the spot side
What does not
- No sourced runtime, capacity, weight or IP rating
- Two light engines in one body means a shorter run on either
- Zoom optics lose output relative to a fixed reflector
Skip this ifyou need to know how long it runs. At this output the runtime is the specification, and it is not published.
Published specification
- Output
- 4,000 lm spot / 1,000 lm COB work lightNebo Slyde King 4K — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- USB rechargeableNebo Slyde King 4K — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
$79.99 · 20% off
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 5 · Area light in a power cut
Streamlight Siege
540 lumens of 360-degree area lighting, IPX7, on replaceable cells. A lantern beats a flashlight indoors and this is the one to own.
A flashlight in a dark kitchen produces one bright circle and a room full of hard shadow. A 360-degree lantern at a quarter of the output makes the room usable. That is the whole argument for owning one.
IPX7 on an outage light matters because outages and weather arrive together.
Replaceable cells rather than a sealed pack is the correct choice for something that sits in a cupboard for two years between uses.
What works
- 360-degree area lighting, which is the right beam shape indoors
- IPX7
- Replaceable cells, so storage does not kill it
What does not
- No published runtime in the source we could reach
- 540 lumens is modest if you want to light a whole floor
- No sourced weight
Skip this ifyou need to walk outside with it. A lantern spreads light everywhere, which is exactly wrong on a dark path.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published(Not applicable to a 360-degree lantern)
- Runtime
- not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
- Battery
- Replaceable cellsStreamlight Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 6 · A slim light that charges on a pad
Astro Pneumatic 90SLC Slim Light
900 lumens in the same slim body, with a quick-charge pad so it goes back on the bench rather than on a cable.
The charging pad matters more than the extra 250 lumens. A work light that lives on a pad is always charged; a work light with a cable is flat by Thursday.
900 lumens in a slim body is at the top of what the format can dissipate without getting hot to hold.
Same caveat as the rest of the trade-tool brands: nothing beyond output and charging is published.
What works
- Charging pad removes the cable from the routine
- 900 lumens in a slim body
- Top flashlight alongside the main flood
What does not
- No sourced runtime, weight or IP rating
- No published CRI
- Costs meaningfully more than the corded-charge version
Skip this ifyou do not have a fixed bench. The pad is the reason to pay the premium and it needs somewhere to live.
Published specification
- Output
- 900 lmAstro Pneumatic 90SLC — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- Rechargeable, with a quick-charge padAstro Pneumatic 90SLC — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
$91.04 · 7% off
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 7 · A brighter folding work bar
Streamlight Stinger Switchblade
800 lumens in the same folding bar format, USB rechargeable, with multiple modes.
800 lumens spread along a bar is a genuinely different quality of light from 800 lumens in a spot: no hotspot, no harsh shadow edge, no glare bouncing back off a painted panel.
The pivoting head is what makes it work in an engine bay — you set the bar down and aim the light without moving the light.
Streamlight's page for this one did not give us a runtime, which is the figure a work light most needs.
What works
- 800 lumens of bar-shaped flood
- USB rechargeable
- Multi-mode with a pivoting head
What does not
- No published runtime on the page we read
- No sourced weight or IP rating
- Not color-corrected, unlike its Strion sibling
Skip this ifcolor matters more than output. The Strion Switchblade trades 300 lumens for color accuracy and that is usually the better trade.
Published specification
- Output
- 800 lmStreamlight Stinger Switchblade — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
- Battery
- USB rechargeableStreamlight Stinger Switchblade — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026

Pick 8 · A pocketable folding light for panel work
Klein Tools 56073 Foldable Handheld Work Light
500 lumens in a light that folds flat, pivots 180 degrees and rotates 270, charged over USB-C.
Five hundred diffused lumens is the right output for a consumer unit. More than that inside a metal enclosure at arm's length bounces back at you and makes the job harder.
The 180-degree pivot plus 270-degree rotation is what lets one small light aim into a back box, along a joist and down into a floor void without moving the body.
Klein publishes output and charging and nothing else, which on a light this cheap is normal and still worth noting.
What works
- Folds flat enough to live in a pouch
- Pivot and rotation cover most awkward angles
- USB-C
What does not
- No sourced runtime, weight or IP rating
- No published CRI on a light aimed at electricians
- 500 lumens is task lighting only
Skip this ifyou need to light an area. It is a close-range panel light and it will not do a room.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- USB-C rechargeableKlein Tools 56073 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
#ad · how this is funded · price as of September 13, 2026
Questions people actually ask
What is the best work light under $100?
For a lit work area, the Klein Tools 56417 at 3,000 lumens with 360-degree rotation. For weather exposure, the Streamlight Siege is the only light in the bracket that publishes an ingress rating, at IPX7, and it runs on replaceable cells. If your tools already run DeWalt 20V MAX, the DCL043 shares those packs and is the only light here that publishes a beam distance.
How many lumens do I need in a work light?
Around 1,000 lumens is plenty for close work in an engine bay or a panel — beyond that you are adding glare bouncing back off painted metal. For lighting a whole work area, 3,000 lumens is genuinely useful. For finding something across a yard, lumens is the wrong specification and you want beam distance.
Are any work lights under $100 waterproof?
Only one of the eight here publishes an ingress rating: the Streamlight Siege at IPX7, which is immersion in a meter of water for thirty minutes. The other seven publish nothing, so we do not claim they are weatherproof. That is a disclosure gap rather than evidence they leak.
How long do work lights in this price range run?
None of these eight manufacturers publishes a runtime figure, so we cannot tell you and will not estimate. It is the largest evidence gap in the category, alongside the missing ingress ratings and the complete absence of any published CRI figure.
Should a work light use tool batteries or its own charger?
If your van or site is standardized on one platform, tool batteries — the light is charged whenever the tools are and there is no extra charger to forget. The DeWalt DCL043 does this. The trade-off is that the pack is sold separately, so the real cost is higher than the sticker.
Which work light under $100 reaches the furthest?
The DeWalt DCL043, at a published 464 m. That works back to 53,824 candela, or 36 candela per lumen, which makes it a real spotlight despite having less than half the output of the brightest light in the bracket. It is also the only work light here that publishes a beam distance at all.
Do I need a magnetic work light?
For vehicle and equipment work, yes. A magnet, hook or kickstand is what frees both hands, and it changes how usable a light is far more than a few hundred lumens do. The Klein Tools 56416 and 56417 are both built around being put down and aimed.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- Klein Tools 56417 Rechargeable Work Light — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- DeWalt DCL043 Jobsite Spotlight — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Klein Tools 56416 Rechargeable Work Light — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Nebo Slyde King 4K — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Astro Pneumatic 90SLC Slim Light — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight Stinger Switchblade — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Klein Tools 56073 Foldable Handheld Work Light — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- ANSI/PLATO FL 1 flashlight performance standard — definitions of lumens, peak beam intensity, beam distance, runtime, impact and water resistance
- IEC 60529 — the IP (ingress protection) rating system
Read next

Best work lights, ranked on beam shape rather than brightness
The work-light ranking: beam shape, color rendering, mounting and runtime, with every published figure sourced.

Best work lights for mechanics
Automotive work lights ranked on access, color rendering and mounting rather than output.

Best rechargeable work lights
Rechargeable work lights compared on charging strategy, battery platform and published runtime.

Best work lights for a construction site
Work lights for construction, ranked on published ingress rating, power source and area coverage, with the gaps named.

Best work lights for a service truck
Work lights for mobile service work, ranked on power source, beam coverage and mounting — with every published figure sourced.

Why color accuracy matters on a jobsite
What color rendering does to trade work, and how to choose when almost no maker publishes a CRI figure.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.