Emergency & Home
Best flashlights for home use
For a house, the right answer is several adequate lights in the right places rather than one excellent light in the wrong one.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Output | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No image Energizer Auto-On Rechargeable FlashlightTop pickIt lives in a wall socket, charges continuously, and switches itself on the instant the power fails. | The light that finds you, rather than the other way round | not published | Check price#ad |
| 2 | No image Streamlight Siege540 lumens of 360-degree area lighting, IPX7, on replaceable cells. A lantern beats a flashlight indoors and this is the one to own. | Area light in a power cut | 540 lm | Check price#ad |
| 3 | No image Petzl Tikka350 lumens, three AAA cells, a red mode, 94 grams. The unglamorous answer that covers most of what people actually do after dark. | A first headlamp, and the glovebox | 350 lm | Check price#ad |
| 4 | No image Streamlight PolyTac600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck. | A polymer duty light you will not worry about | 600 lm | Check price#ad |
| 5 | No image Petzl e+LITE30 lumens, and that is the point. An emergency lamp you store for years and hope never to switch on. | The one that lives in the first-aid kit | 30 lm | Check price#ad |
| 6 | No image ThruNite TC15 V32,403 lumens and 223 m of stated reach with USB-C charging, at a price well under the duty brands. | A lot of output per dollar for a home kit | 2,403 lm | Check price#ad |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

The household flashlight question is usually asked as if there were one answer. There is not, because a house has several different lighting problems and one light solves at most two of them.
How we picked
We ranked on how well each light covers a specific household role, then on shelf life, then on beam shape. Every figure is sourced and the gaps are named. See our methodology.
The four household roles
| Role | Where it lives | Beam | Power source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instant light when the power fails | Wall socket | Any | Mains-charged, auto-on |
| Living in a room | Living room, kitchen | 360-degree area | Replaceable cells |
| Hands-free work | Utility cupboard, bedside | Directional flood | Replaceable cells |
| Going outside or checking something | Hall, by the door | Directional with reach | Lithium primaries |
Four roles, four lights, and none of them expensive. That is a better household plan than one excellent flashlight, and it costs less than most people spend on a single good one.
Start with a socket light
A light that lives in a wall socket, charges continuously and switches itself on when mains power fails removes the hardest part of the problem: crossing a dark room to find the light.
The Energizer Auto-On publishes no output figure at all, which on any other page would rule it out. Here it leads, because being switched on and in a known place at the moment the power fails matters more than any number.
Then a lantern for the main room
A flashlight lights a circle. A lantern lights a room. Once you have used a 500-lumen lantern during an outage you will not go back to pointing a torch at the ceiling, which is the improvised version of the same idea.
The Streamlight Siege publishes IPX7 and takes replaceable cells, which is exactly the right combination for something that sits in a cupboard between uses.
A headlamp is more useful at home than people expect
The tasks an outage actually generates — finding the consumer unit, resetting a breaker, locating the water stop-tap, getting down unfamiliar stairs — all want both hands and a light pointing where you look.
A cheap AAA headlamp beside the bed is the most useful five minutes of preparation most households can do. Camping headlamps covers the same lamps in a different context.
One handheld with real reach
The one role a lantern and a headlamp cannot cover is looking at something outside at distance — a meter, a fence line, a noise in the garden. That wants a directional beam with some reach.
The Streamlight PolyTac's published 214 meters on two CR123A cells is the right combination for a hall light: enough reach, and it will still work in five years without being touched.
Where to keep them
- Socket light — hall and landing, so the stairs are lit.
- Lantern — the room you would actually sit in, not a cupboard upstairs.
- Headlamp — bedside drawer, one per adult.
- Handheld — by the front or back door, where you would pick it up on the way out.
- Spare cells — with the lantern, in a sealed bag, with the purchase date written on it.
What we would not buy
One expensive rechargeable light as the whole plan. It will be flat, and one directional light in a dark house is a much worse outcome than four cheap lights in the right places.
We would also avoid leaving alkaline cells inside stored lights. They leak over a period of years and take the light with them. Lithium primaries or cells stored separately.
The picks, in full
image
Top pick · The light that finds you, rather than the other way round
Energizer Auto-On Rechargeable Flashlight
It lives in a wall socket, charges continuously, and switches itself on the instant the power fails.
This is the only product on the site we recommend without a single performance figure, and the reason is that its performance is not the point. Being switched on and in a known place at the moment the lights go out is the point.
Every household emergency plan fails the same way: the torch is in a drawer in the dark room you cannot cross safely. A socket light removes that step entirely.
Energizer publishes no output figure we could find, and we are not going to invent one. Buy it for the behavior, not for the beam.
What works
- Switches itself on when mains power fails
- Always charged, because it lives in the socket
- Doubles as a night light
What does not
- No published output figure at all
- Nothing else about it is documented either
- Only useful in the room it is plugged into, so you need several
Skip this ifyou want one good light rather than several adequate ones. This is a coverage product, not a performance one.
Published specification
- Output
- not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- Rechargeable, charges in the wall socketEnergizer Auto-On rechargeable flashlight — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
image
Pick 2 · Area light in a power cut
Streamlight Siege
540 lumens of 360-degree area lighting, IPX7, on replaceable cells. A lantern beats a flashlight indoors and this is the one to own.
A flashlight in a dark kitchen produces one bright circle and a room full of hard shadow. A 360-degree lantern at a quarter of the output makes the room usable. That is the whole argument for owning one.
IPX7 on an outage light matters because outages and weather arrive together.
Replaceable cells rather than a sealed pack is the correct choice for something that sits in a cupboard for two years between uses.
What works
- 360-degree area lighting, which is the right beam shape indoors
- IPX7
- Replaceable cells, so storage does not kill it
What does not
- No published runtime in the source we could reach
- 540 lumens is modest if you want to light a whole floor
- No sourced weight
Skip this ifyou need to walk outside with it. A lantern spreads light everywhere, which is exactly wrong on a dark path.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published(Not applicable to a 360-degree lantern)
- Runtime
- not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
- Battery
- Replaceable cellsStreamlight Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
image
Pick 3 · A first headlamp, and the glovebox
Petzl Tikka
350 lumens, three AAA cells, a red mode, 94 grams. The unglamorous answer that covers most of what people actually do after dark.
Three alkaline AAA cells hold roughly 3.9 Wh between them at a modest draw. That is comparable to the Swift LT's entire battery, for a couple of dollars, available in any gas station in the country.
The red mode is the feature people end up using most. It preserves night adaptation and does not wake a tent.
350 lumens looks modest next to a 3,000-lumen listing. On a footpath at walking pace it is more light than you need, and it will still be running when the 3,000-lumen light has stepped down twice.
What works
- AAA cells: replaceable anywhere, storable for years, no charge cycle to manage
- A red mode you can reach without a mode-cycling ordeal
- Cheap enough to own two
What does not
- No rechargeable pack in the box
- 70 m throw identifies nothing at distance
- IPX4
Skip this ifyou want one lamp for everything including work. There is no real flood mode and no high-CRI option.
Published specification
- Output
- 350 lmANSI/PLATO FL 1Petzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 70 mOn three AAA cells; 75 m on the CORE rechargeable accessoryPetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- Visible at 700 m for 400 hReserve visibility figurePetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 3 x AAA (included), or the CORE rechargeable packPetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 4 · A polymer duty light you will not worry about
Streamlight PolyTac
600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck.
2.75 hours at 600 lumens from two CR123A cells is a very efficient result — that is roughly 6 watt-hours doing real work rather than being thrown away as heat.
3 m of impact resistance is the highest figure in this roundup. Polymer absorbs a drop that would dent an aluminum body.
119 g with cells installed makes this the lightest full-size duty light here.
What works
- Full per-mode table published, all three modes
- 3 m impact resistance and IPX7
- 119 g, with a ten-year shelf life on its cells
What does not
- 600 lumens is modest against the rechargeable competition
- CR123A running costs add up
- We could not pin a current ASIN for it, so the buy link is a tagged Amazon search
Skip this ifyou use a light daily. CR123A primaries are the wrong economics for frequent use; buy a rechargeable instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Medium 260 lm, low 35 lm.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Listed per mode; no value on the page we read)
- Beam distance
- 214 mHigh. 140 m medium, 52 m low.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 2.75 h high / 5.5 h medium / 34 h lowStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithium (included)Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 119 g (4.2 oz) with batteriesStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IPX7Waterproof to 1 m for 30 minutes; 3 m impact resistance testedStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 5 · The one that lives in the first-aid kit
Petzl e+LITE
30 lumens, and that is the point. An emergency lamp you store for years and hope never to switch on.
This is the only light on the site we recommend on a basis other than performance. It is the one that still works after five years in a pack lid.
30 lumens will let you find a zip, read a map, change a tire and walk slowly. It will not let you do anything else, and it is not meant to.
We could not reach a manufacturer spec page for it from this build, so the only figure we assert is the 30-lumen output on Petzl's own listing. Everything else is marked unpublished rather than guessed.
What works
- Stores for years with no maintenance
- Small enough that there is no excuse not to carry it
- Costs less than one night of not having a light
What does not
- 30 lumens is 30 lumens
- We could not source a full ANSI table for it
- Coin cells are awkward to replace in the field
Skip this ifit would be your only light. It is a backup, and treating it as a primary is how people end up walking out in the dark.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published
- Battery
- not published(Lithium coin cells; capacity not stated in the listing we read)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
image
Pick 6 · A lot of output per dollar for a home kit
ThruNite TC15 V3
2,403 lumens and 223 m of stated reach with USB-C charging, at a price well under the duty brands.
223 m from 2,403 lumens implies about 12,400 candela — a wide, bright beam rather than a thrower. For finding a breaker box or checking a garden that is the right shape.
2,403 is an oddly precise headline. Precision in a marketing number is not the same as accuracy, and without a published runtime table there is no way to check it.
USB-C at this price with this output is the reason it earns a place in the emergency kit rather than in the tactical roundup.
What works
- The most published lumens per dollar on the site
- 223 m of stated reach with a usable wide beam
- USB-C
What does not
- No sourced runtime, candela or IP rating
- A very precise headline figure with nothing to verify it against
- Rechargeable cell, so it self-discharges in a drawer
Skip this ifthe light will sit unused for a year at a time. Buy something that runs on primaries instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 2,403 lmThruNite TC15 V3 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 223 mListed as a 732-foot beam; converted to metersThruNite TC15 V3 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- USB-C rechargeableThruNite TC15 V3 — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
Questions people actually ask
What flashlight should every home have?
Four lights rather than one: a socket light that switches itself on, a lantern for the main room, a headlamp per adult, and one handheld on lithium primaries by the door. Together they cost less than one good flashlight and cover far more.
Where should I keep emergency flashlights?
Where you would be when you need them, not in one central place. Hall and landing sockets, a lantern in the room you actually sit in, headlamps by the bed, and a handheld by the door you would leave through.
How many lumens does a home flashlight need?
Around 500 lumens of area light makes a room usable, and 100 to 200 lumens of directional light finds anything indoors. The limiting factor at home is coverage and shelf life, not output.
Should I use rechargeable batteries in household emergency lights?
Only in the ones you use regularly. Lithium-ion self-discharges, so a light kept for emergencies should run on lithium primaries or be a mains-charged socket light that is always full.
Is a plug-in emergency light worth it?
It is the single best thing you can buy for an outage. It charges continuously, it switches itself on when the power fails, and it removes the need to cross a dark room to find a light.
Can I just use my phone torch?
For a minute or two, yes. Beyond that you are draining the device you most need working, and a phone gives a hard directional beam with no area coverage — the worst beam shape for being in a dark room.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
Read next

Best flashlights for power outages
Outage lighting ranked on shelf life, area coverage and findability rather than on output.

What to keep in a power outage lighting kit
A practical outage lighting kit, with battery storage rules and a check schedule that takes ten minutes a year.

Flashlight vs lantern
Directional versus area light, with the illuminance arithmetic for choosing between them.

Best headlamps for camping
Camping headlamps ranked on red-mode access, replaceable cells and honest runtime figures.

Flashlights for kids
Children's flashlights ranked on findability and durability rather than on any performance figure.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.