Emergency & Home
Best flashlights for camping
A campsite needs area light more than it needs a beam, and cells you can replace more than it needs a big number.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
| # | Product | Best for | Output | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No image Streamlight SiegeTop pick540 lumens of 360-degree area lighting, IPX7, on replaceable cells. A lantern beats a flashlight indoors and this is the one to own. | Area light in a power cut | 540 lm | Check price#ad |
| 2 | No image Petzl Tikka350 lumens, three AAA cells, a red mode, 94 grams. The unglamorous answer that covers most of what people actually do after dark. | A first headlamp, and the glovebox | 350 lm | Check price#ad |
| 3 | No image Streamlight Super Siege1,100 lumens of area light, USB rechargeable, and it will put charge back into a phone during an outage. | A lantern that also charges a phone | 1,100 lm | Check price#ad |
| 4 | No image Princeton Tec Vizz550 lumens on three AAA cells with an IPX7 rating — immersion, not just rain. The only AAA lamp here rated for a dunking. | Getting wet | 550 lm | Check price#ad |
| 5 | No image Streamlight PolyTac600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck. | A polymer duty light you will not worry about | 600 lm | Check price#ad |
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order they appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

Almost everything you do at a campsite happens within three meters and needs both hands. That points at a lantern and a headlamp, and it points away from the bright handheld most people pack.
How we picked
Beam shape for the environment first, then power source, then published water rating. Everything is sourced to the maker. See our methodology.
What a campsite actually needs
| Task | Best light | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Cooking, eating, cards | Lantern | Area light, no hard shadows, nobody blinded across the table |
| Inside the tent | Lantern, or a headlamp on low | A directional beam makes a bright oval on fabric and shadow everywhere else |
| Walking to the toilet block | Headlamp | Hands free, points where you look |
| Finding something in the car at midnight | Handheld | Directional, and you can put it down aimed |
| Checking a noise at the treeline | Handheld with reach | The only camp task that wants candela |
That table is why a lantern leads a page called best flashlights for camping. The honest answer to the question is often a different kind of light.
Replaceable cells, and why they matter more here
A campsite is the environment least likely to have a socket and most likely to be cold, which is exactly where a lithium-ion cell is at its weakest. Cold reduces available capacity and most lights refuse to charge below freezing anyway.
Lithium AA and AAA primaries barely notice the cold, weigh less than alkalines, and store for a decade. For a trip in genuinely cold weather they are worth the price difference.
Water ratings that matter outdoors
A camping light gets rained on, sits on wet grass and gets knocked into a stream. IPX4 covers the rain and nothing else; IPX7 covers immersion to a meter.
The Streamlight Siege publishes IPX7, and the Princeton Tec Vizz publishes IPX7 on AAA cells, which makes both of them safer choices than the IPX4 lamps that dominate this market. Camping headlamps covers the head-mounted side.
How bright a lantern needs to be
Do not blind the campsite
The most common camping light mistake is bringing a 2,000-lumen handheld and using it. At a campsite, everything you need to see is close and everybody else's night vision is a shared resource.
A red mode is the courteous answer for moving around after dark, and it costs almost nothing in battery. What a red mode is for explains the physiology.
What we would not buy for camping
A high-output thrower. There is no camping task that needs 1,000 meters of reach, and the beam is the wrong shape for everything a campsite actually involves.
We would also avoid a single sealed rechargeable light as the only light on a trip. Cold, no socket, and no fallback is a combination that ends badly, and a set of AAA cells weighs nothing.
The picks, in full
image
Top pick · Area light in a power cut
Streamlight Siege
540 lumens of 360-degree area lighting, IPX7, on replaceable cells. A lantern beats a flashlight indoors and this is the one to own.
A flashlight in a dark kitchen produces one bright circle and a room full of hard shadow. A 360-degree lantern at a quarter of the output makes the room usable. That is the whole argument for owning one.
IPX7 on an outage light matters because outages and weather arrive together.
Replaceable cells rather than a sealed pack is the correct choice for something that sits in a cupboard for two years between uses.
What works
- 360-degree area lighting, which is the right beam shape indoors
- IPX7
- Replaceable cells, so storage does not kill it
What does not
- No published runtime in the source we could reach
- 540 lumens is modest if you want to light a whole floor
- No sourced weight
Skip this ifyou need to walk outside with it. A lantern spreads light everywhere, which is exactly wrong on a dark path.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published(Not applicable to a 360-degree lantern)
- Runtime
- not published(Not stated in the listing we read)
- Battery
- Replaceable cellsStreamlight Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
image
Pick 2 · A first headlamp, and the glovebox
Petzl Tikka
350 lumens, three AAA cells, a red mode, 94 grams. The unglamorous answer that covers most of what people actually do after dark.
Three alkaline AAA cells hold roughly 3.9 Wh between them at a modest draw. That is comparable to the Swift LT's entire battery, for a couple of dollars, available in any gas station in the country.
The red mode is the feature people end up using most. It preserves night adaptation and does not wake a tent.
350 lumens looks modest next to a 3,000-lumen listing. On a footpath at walking pace it is more light than you need, and it will still be running when the 3,000-lumen light has stepped down twice.
What works
- AAA cells: replaceable anywhere, storable for years, no charge cycle to manage
- A red mode you can reach without a mode-cycling ordeal
- Cheap enough to own two
What does not
- No rechargeable pack in the box
- 70 m throw identifies nothing at distance
- IPX4
Skip this ifyou want one lamp for everything including work. There is no real flood mode and no high-CRI option.
Published specification
- Output
- 350 lmANSI/PLATO FL 1Petzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- 70 mOn three AAA cells; 75 m on the CORE rechargeable accessoryPetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- Visible at 700 m for 400 hReserve visibility figurePetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 3 x AAA (included), or the CORE rechargeable packPetzl Tikka — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 3 · A lantern that also charges a phone
Streamlight Super Siege
1,100 lumens of area light, USB rechargeable, and it will put charge back into a phone during an outage.
1,100 lumens is enough to light a whole room to a level where you can read and cook, which is the difference between coping with an outage and enduring one.
The USB output is the second reason to own it. In a multi-day outage, the phone is the thing that matters.
Rechargeable rather than replaceable cells is a real trade-off for emergency kit: better in a planned outage, worse if it has been in a cupboard for eighteen months.
What works
- 1,100 lumens of 360-degree light
- Charges a phone over USB
- Streamlight build quality
What does not
- No sourced runtime, weight or IP rating
- Rechargeable cell self-discharges in storage
- Bulkier and heavier than the standard Siege
Skip this ifit will sit untouched for years. For pure standby, replaceable cells beat a rechargeable pack every time.
Published specification
- Output
- 1,100 lmStreamlight Super Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published(Not applicable to a 360-degree lantern)
- Runtime
- not published
- Battery
- USB rechargeableStreamlight Super Siege — the brand's own listing on Amazon.com (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published
- Ingress
- not published
image
Pick 4 · Getting wet
Princeton Tec Vizz
550 lumens on three AAA cells with an IPX7 rating — immersion, not just rain. The only AAA lamp here rated for a dunking.
IPX7 on AAA cells is the specification that makes this interesting. Almost everything else in the AAA class is IPX4, which means rain and nothing more.
Three lithium AAA cells hold roughly 4.5 Wh and shrug off cold in a way alkalines do not. On this lamp that combination is worth more than another 500 lumens.
Princeton Tec publishes a full runtime spread rather than a single flattering maximum, which is the behavior we want to reward.
What works
- IPX7 immersion rating on replaceable cells
- A published runtime spread across modes and chemistries
- Digital lockout, so it does not drain itself in a pack
What does not
- No published beam distance or weight on the page we read
- Bulkier than the modern rechargeable lamps
- No rechargeable option
Skip this ifweight is your constraint. The AAA carriage that makes it robust also makes it bigger than the Li-ion competition.
Published specification
- Peak intensity
- not published
- Beam distance
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
- Runtime
- Up to 90 hLowest mode. Princeton Tec publishes 12 h, 20 h, 32 h, 60.5 h, 75 h and 100 h figures across modes and battery types.Princeton Tec Vizz — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 3 x AAA alkaline or lithiumPrinceton Tec Vizz — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- not published(Not stated on the page we read)
- Ingress
- IPX7Withstands immersion to one meterPrinceton Tec Vizz — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
image
Pick 5 · A polymer duty light you will not worry about
Streamlight PolyTac
600 lumens, 214 m, 2.75 hours, IPX7 and 3 m impact resistance in a nylon polymer body. The one you leave in a truck.
2.75 hours at 600 lumens from two CR123A cells is a very efficient result — that is roughly 6 watt-hours doing real work rather than being thrown away as heat.
3 m of impact resistance is the highest figure in this roundup. Polymer absorbs a drop that would dent an aluminum body.
119 g with cells installed makes this the lightest full-size duty light here.
What works
- Full per-mode table published, all three modes
- 3 m impact resistance and IPX7
- 119 g, with a ten-year shelf life on its cells
What does not
- 600 lumens is modest against the rechargeable competition
- CR123A running costs add up
- We could not pin a current ASIN for it, so the buy link is a tagged Amazon search
Skip this ifyou use a light daily. CR123A primaries are the wrong economics for frequent use; buy a rechargeable instead.
Published specification
- Output
- 600 lmHigh. Medium 260 lm, low 35 lm.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Peak intensity
- not published(Listed per mode; no value on the page we read)
- Beam distance
- 214 mHigh. 140 m medium, 52 m low.Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Runtime
- 2.75 h high / 5.5 h medium / 34 h lowStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Battery
- 2 x CR123A lithium (included)Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Weight
- 119 g (4.2 oz) with batteriesStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Ingress
- IPX7Waterproof to 1 m for 30 minutes; 3 m impact resistance testedStreamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
Questions people actually ask
Is a lantern or a flashlight better for camping?
A lantern for almost everything at the site, because a campsite is a set of close-range tasks and area light suits them. A flashlight for the one task a lantern cannot do, which is looking at something at distance.
How many lumens for a camping lantern?
Around 500 lumens is comfortable table light for cooking and eating. A thousand and up is more than a table needs and is better used for a larger shelter or communal area.
Should camping lights use rechargeable or disposable batteries?
Disposable, usually. A campsite has no socket and is often cold, which is where lithium-ion is weakest — most lights refuse to charge below freezing. Lithium AA and AAA primaries barely notice the cold and store for a decade.
What water rating do I need for a camping light?
IPX4 covers rain. IPX7, which covers immersion to a meter, is what you want for something that sits on wet grass and gets knocked over. The Streamlight Siege and the Princeton Tec Vizz both publish IPX7.
Why does everyone recommend a red mode for camping?
It preserves your dark adaptation and it does not blind everybody else at the site. At a campsite, night vision is a shared resource, and red costs almost nothing in battery.
Do I need a bright flashlight for camping?
Rarely. Almost every camp task happens within three meters. The one exception is checking something at the edge of the site, and a modest 200-meter beam covers that comfortably.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- Princeton Tec Vizz — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Streamlight PolyTac — manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- IEC 60529 — the IP (ingress protection) rating system
- ANSI/PLATO FL 1 flashlight performance standard — definitions of lumens, peak beam intensity, beam distance, runtime, impact and water resistance
Read next

Best flashlights for power outages
Outage lighting ranked on shelf life, area coverage and findability rather than on output.

Best headlamps for camping
Camping headlamps ranked on red-mode access, replaceable cells and honest runtime figures.

Flashlight vs lantern
Directional versus area light, with the illuminance arithmetic for choosing between them.

What a headlamp red light mode is actually for
The physiology behind red headlamp modes, and how to choose a lamp whose red is reachable in one click.

What to keep in a power outage lighting kit
A practical outage lighting kit, with battery storage rules and a check schedule that takes ten minutes a year.
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. Our methodology shows every formula on this page.